We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Lovely hotel. We upgraded to an executive room giving us access to the lounge which included tea/coffee in the afternoon & drinks from 5-10.45pm. This was well worth doing as there were 6 of us & gave us somewhere to meet. Had dinner in Windows Restaurant food was lovely only criticisms were the surly waitress & price of the wine. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but a queque did build up even when there were empty tables just needing cleared. Free mini bar & decanters in the rooms were a lovely touch. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. All (other) staff were friendly & helpful. The location of this hotel is great easy to walk to from Central Station and very handy for the shops. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bash41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,548 - 1,554 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Excellent, fantastic position and friendly staff. We did the Renee Mackintosh bit with a visit to the Art College, Tea rooms, and the Tower. Well worth doing, especially the Art College tour which you have to book. The hotels restaurant served excellent food and I would recommend it for a special meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square otherwise you might be overlooking the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlaneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is right in the center of old Glasgow. Walkout the door and you are at Geoge's Square in the restaurant - pub - historical area. Great walking area. Scottish tourist and other stores and shops abound. Very small lobby but well appointed. Excellent and very helpful staff, I took the up-graded club room - best hotel bed in all my travels - quiet, small, well appointed room - bonus mini-bar and a few decantered drinks - free. Access to top foor lounge with a free happy hour. They could make some improvement in the snacks in the lounge. But with so many excellent places just outside the door: use it as a place to collect your friends and be off. The free breakfast that came with my room was what one would expect in a four star hotel - it did the job - served in a pleasent roof-top restaurant with a good view.
Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If the price is right take a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstlast154974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in Glasgow to see Tori Amos, The Carlton George Hotel is fantastic, we had a room a which had recently been refurbished, it was so comfortable, roomy and spotlessly clean with free Wi Fi
Bathrobes, slippers and a free Mini Bar were all included in the Price, plus having chosen an Executive room we had access to a warming and relaxing lounge serving a great range of Complimentary drinks.. Breakfast and Evening meals were taken in the 7th Floor roof top restaurant overlooking Glasgow , the food was excellent and the staff so helpful, especially Jay. I would recommend The Carlton George Glasgow to anyone .

Room Tip: A Refurbished Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIGGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here two nights and really enjoyed my stay, the location is perfect in the centre of town. The rooms are very classic but comfortable, staff very friendly and the breakfast on the sevent floor with a great view on the city was very tastefull. You're in the middle of the free museums and shoppingstreets. Free drinks in the room is a surprise and the internet is free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Have travelled to Glasgow many times with my husband on business trips,this was our first trip for pleasure,we were more than satisfied with our hotel choice,we stayed in a club room,the room was spacious,modern decor,extremely comfortable bed and the decanters/mini bar a great bonus.Breakfast is buffet style,with staff serrving tea/coffee and catering to any other needs you may have,a very good choice of food to choose from,cereal,fruit,cold meats and cheeses and of course the full scottish breakfast!...The hotel is in a great location,everthing in walking distance,Glasgow has great shopping,from high street to designer,global cuisine,(chinese,indian,italian,greek,spanish etc),anything from pub lunch to fine dineing,a vibrant nightlife,Glasgow has it all!.......just a query to duncan(the manager),you offer a very good room service menu,apart from the usual food on offer,you offer a dinner menu and breakfast can be taken in your room,plus no tray charge,but we found the club room doesn't provide an area for two people to sit and enjoy a meal?....Is a portable table provided?...

Room Tip: This is a non smoking hotel,for any smokers out there,rooms are available with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdmakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here for a night whilst away for work. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was large and quite comfy, and well equipped for drying out from a Glasgow monsoon. The free mini bar is a major plus point for this hotel, as is the location. Breakfast was average, but I went towards the end of the serving time so that may have been a bit of bad luck.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,086 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,768 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £84 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing