We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed in Carlton George for one week in August 2012.
This is a very good place to stay in Glasgow fro several reasons. First of all it is located in the center of the city AND next door to the Queen street train station. Most of what you want to see within walking distance. King size bed is unusual in Europe at the sub $300 per night price point.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. From the Queen Street Station you can take a train to Edinburgh, its only 50 minutes.
There is free mini-bar in that hotel. The mini bar consists of two parts: one a traditional, small refrigerator and scotch, gin and vodka decanters.
I stayed in "business room" which gives you free Wi Fi and access to the 7th floor lounge where you can have free snacks and drinks. That would be a good place to meet with colleges or friends before taking off for the night or coming back.
The included breakfast was OK: scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, meats and fruits. Oh yes, you can order breakfast to your room, which worked out really nice. Staff was very punctual and my breakfast was delivered on time. I used it a couple of times.
This hotel is an exceptional value for such a good service.

Room Tip: I arrived very early and the only room available was on the 1st floor, which is just above the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

great hotel, good service. dinner was exellent, love it having stayed six or seven times. free drinks from mini bar and decanters in room fabulous. executive lounge usually has more atmospere but not hotels fault

Room Tip: rooms overlooking front are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy-peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Have stayed here quite a few times and enjoyed it every time. Central location, lovely rooms and free mini bar - result! 3 course dinner was the biz, best meal in a while. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying over in Glasgow - well worth it

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleywirley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have been staying in the Carlton George Glasgow every year for the past 6 years. Last month I wrote they needed to DO SOMETHING about the hard flat pillows.
I was told it would be handled very soon. Not handled yet. Yet another sleepless night.

Appart from that, I will continue to stay in my favorite hotel while in Glasgow.

Service is wonderful, especially front desk. Very accommodating with all my needs. EXCEPT A NICE FLUFFY PILLOW.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My flight was delayed and my husband had already checked in at the hotel when I arrived. I explained the situation and Hector on the front desk was very friendly to me and gave me my room key with a minimum of fuss.

Our superior room was nice and colourful. There was the usual tea/coffee making facilities. The window faced the middle of the building but we thought it would prove to be quiet.

We booked a table in the rooftop restaurant for dinner. As we were leaving the room we realised that water was dripping quite steadily from the ceiling. It was raining heavily outside but since we were not on the top floor it appeared to be something to do with the air conditioning unit pipes. We phoned reception and immediately one of the staff members, Jennifer, assessed the situation and decided to move us to another room. She grabbed our clothes complete with hangers, pulled the suitcases and all she could carry and placed us in an upgraded club room on the 3rd floor. We had a view of the street now. The room had two large windows and was very light. This room was also very colourful with tartans throughout even in the bathroom tiles. Lovely room, with a shower and bath. The noise from the street was minimal. We managed to leave the windows open at night as preferred that to the air conditioning. We did have to close them once or twice during the 3 nights we were there because of the noise but this was not a problem.

We had our dinner in the Windows Restaurant on the top floor and it was lovely. The view was out over the city rooftops. The staff were attentive and the food well presented and delicious. Highly recommended.

In the hotel rooms there was a free bar and also a glass cabinet containing decanters of vodka, whiskey and gin. The housekeeping staff kept the tea, coffee and biscuits supplies replenished. There was even a cafetiere and coffee for that. All the bathroom supplies were replenished each day. Large fluffy towels were only replaced when we asked them to be replaced by putting the card by the sink saying we would keep them for another day.

There was a free lounge (executive lounge) where you could relax on the top floor. The hotel provided drinks and sometimes snacks as well as coffee. We used this in the evenings for a pre-dinner and after dinner drink. The lounge consisted of two open rooms. One with a TV and the other without. One evening one of the staff members, Alan, came over and spoke at length to us. He was a source of interesting tales about the other hotels in the city. He was very friendly as were all the staff. It really made our hotel experience memorable.

The breakfast was again served in the top floor restaurant and it was well presented, with the option to order special dishes if you wished. A lovely experience again looking out over the rooftops. One of the staff gave me a souvenir panoramic picture of the view from the roof with explanations on what the buildings were.

One of the nicest things was every time we walked into or out of the hotel Hector and then George on the front desk greeted us or if they were busy caught our eye in greeting.

We would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet chose an inside room, if you do not mind some street noise the front is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We absolutely love this hotel. The room is big and clean. There is air-con in the room so we don't feel the stuffiness and the heat during our visit in summer.

The free minibar is impressive! I've stayed in many 5-star hotels but none of then ever offer any free drinks from the minibar.

The location is definitely one of the best. It is less than 100m from the train station, and there are lots of shops/ restaurants within walking distance.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the busy month of August when lots of events were going on.

Staff:
With a fully booked hotel, the staff were still very friendly, professional, patient, keen on giving all sorts of information. Especially the reception was excellent as they went out of their way to help me as best they could. E.g. as I checked-out both receptionist started to call about help me get a cheaper taxi fare to Edinburgh. Because of their efforts, I eventually paid a private-hired taxi GBP 47 instead of paying a black cab GBP 120. They told me that private-hired taxis are always cheaper than black cabs in Glasgow. The private-hired taxi made the extra trip over from Glasgow all the way over to Edinburgh as a one off.

Internet:
Also, Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel. One gets vouchers with passwords for all devices one might have. I stayed three days and had two devices so reception gave me, when I checked, 6 vouchers so I didn’t always have to go down to reception to collect a new voucher every time the 24-hrs vouchers would become invalid. When one books an executive room one can use free internet at the Executive Lounge, while enjoying a free drink or two.

Rooms:
I booked two executive rooms and they were very clean, tastefully decorated (lots of Scottish tartan) and the beds very nice to sleep on. Great was the fact that with executive rooms, the spirits in nice crystal decanters and mini bar was free. The glasses are also beautiful heavy crystal. Fantastic was the fact that one, with an executive room, also gets access to the very classy, relaxing and comfortable Executive Lounge. It has a fully stocked bar and one can get drinks (tea, coffee, wine, beer, spirits, lemonade) and little nibbly bits for free. Also there are two computers for free use as well, including printer.
Not good was the fact that the windows of our room could not be opened and were actually glued shut. The only “fresh air” was the air-conditioning system which was operational 24 hrs. It made a bit of noise, but not that much that we complained about it.
Unknown to receptions of the reason why, but all windows on the first floor cannot be opened.

Breakfast:
Wonderful was the view one had at the well-known Windows Restaurant where one has breakfast in the morning. One looks out over the roof of Glasgow and on a clear day one can see the hills at the edge of Glasgow. Even though the view was fantastic, the breakfast was a bit less. The quality was good, but I would have liked to have mushrooms with my warm full English breakfast and a bigger variety of cheeses (2 cheddars sliced and some pre-packed little cheese bits) and meats (only 2 different meats). Also the meats and cheeses could be re-added/re-stocked sooner. I always had breakfast around 8 AM and by then the meats and cheese were almost finished and weren’t always added. They did always add new fresh fruits and added to the warm English breakfast.


Good:
Friendly and professional staff
Tastefully decorated rooms (free minibar and spirits for executive rooms + access to executive lounge)
Beautiful view from breakfast room
Very good location
Good Wi-Fi all over the hotel

Bad:
Don’t book a room on the First Floor as the windows cannot be opened.
Meats and cheeses for breakfast should be added sooner so ALL guests can enjoy everything and not having to miss out because nothing is left.

Room Tip: Don’t book a room on the first Floor as ALL windows on that floor cannot be opened!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
4,045 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £87 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing