We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding in Glasgow. The room was lovely but very dark, poor lighting. Bed was very comfortable and the room kept very clean.

Breakfast was excellent - the presentation in the restaurant was not that great but the taste exceptional.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel has a great location in the centre of Glasgow.

Room Tip: the hotel is above a pub so maybe higher is better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

After my previous experience I decided to repeat the trip. As before a MOST enjoyable stay. A comfortable hotel in a central location, with all the expected facilities. Once again I found it well worth paying the extra for a room accessing the Executive Lounge. There were two problems during the stay, one of which I understand was due to another guest but both were sorted out professionally and promptly by hotel staff. Every establishment has problems at times and it is how the hotel deals with it that shows a good or a bad hotel. Excellent food throughout although I personally preferred the previous menu. Once again Paul and his young staff (too many to mention all by name) in the restaurant made every effort to ensure that I enjoyed my stay – and they succeeded – THANKS to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I had stayed in the Carlton George for a couple of nights earlier this year. This time we had 2 rooms as our 17 year old daughter was with us. The consensus all round is that we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms and facilities in them are excellent and staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good but we didn't try dinner there. The executive lounge is a nice place to "chill out" after a hard days shopping. Location couldn't be better for the main shopping areas in Glasgow city centre. It's also around the corner from Queen Street Station which is very handy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel - we had 2 rooms and each one was excellent. Decor, cleanliness were excellent and a very comfortable kingsize bed! Free mini bar in room excellent and a very nice touch!! If you upgrade your room you get access to the lounge where again you can have nibbles and complimentary drinks which is excellent! Location was great and the staff at the desk couldn't have been nicer & very helpful! Restaurant was very good - we didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was very good and piping hot! Would definately recommend this hotel, we will be staying here again on future visits to Glasgow!! (Would also like to recomment an excellent restaurant which isn't too far from the hotel - although we did get a taxi - Grill on the Corner - excellent restaurant food and service were brilliant)!!!

Room Tip: If you so wish to have drinks in the evening it is worth upgrading your room so you can get access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhoragritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed in Carlton George for one week in August 2012.
This is a very good place to stay in Glasgow fro several reasons. First of all it is located in the center of the city AND next door to the Queen street train station. Most of what you want to see within walking distance. King size bed is unusual in Europe at the sub $300 per night price point.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. From the Queen Street Station you can take a train to Edinburgh, its only 50 minutes.
There is free mini-bar in that hotel. The mini bar consists of two parts: one a traditional, small refrigerator and scotch, gin and vodka decanters.
I stayed in "business room" which gives you free Wi Fi and access to the 7th floor lounge where you can have free snacks and drinks. That would be a good place to meet with colleges or friends before taking off for the night or coming back.
The included breakfast was OK: scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, meats and fruits. Oh yes, you can order breakfast to your room, which worked out really nice. Staff was very punctual and my breakfast was delivered on time. I used it a couple of times.
This hotel is an exceptional value for such a good service.

Room Tip: I arrived very early and the only room available was on the 1st floor, which is just above the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

great hotel, good service. dinner was exellent, love it having stayed six or seven times. free drinks from mini bar and decanters in room fabulous. executive lounge usually has more atmospere but not hotels fault

Room Tip: rooms overlooking front are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy-peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Have stayed here quite a few times and enjoyed it every time. Central location, lovely rooms and free mini bar - result! 3 course dinner was the biz, best meal in a while. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying over in Glasgow - well worth it

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleywirley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,984 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,716 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £93 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing