We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very impressed with the hospitality and the facilities . The mini bar was a special treat though obviously we didnt want to take advantage of too much of it. The staff were friendly and curtious . The room seemed very hot at night even with the air conditioning on. The air conditioning was loud and took a bit of getting used to ,otherwise would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We could not have been happier with our choice of the Carlton George for seeing Glasgow. The location is very central, with both taxi stands and subway stops around the corner for getting around. Buses are of course everywhere. The room where breakfast is served is full of large windows that offer wonderful views of the city. The staff is courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable about the best way to see whatever one wants to see. Our fifth floor corner suite was spacious, attractive, quiet, and very comfortable. Shower and tub were wonderful! Overall we were very satisfied and look forward to staying in the Carlton George on any trip we take to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a great hotel we always use this one when we visit and want a overnight stay,we stayed on saturday 22nd september our room was great as always it was a executive room that gives you use of lounge also, we had room on first floor this time, breakfast was lovely also couldnt fault it great views over glasgow on a nice morning, we will return for sure in future

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A decent option for downtown Glasgow, more of a 3 star over all. Customer Service lacking on check in-2 people at the front desk and neither offered to help a lady carry 2 large suitcases up to the room. Room was lacking on the cleanliness over a 6 day period. There were greasy face marks on the window which were never removed and had to leave a hand written note to change the bedding. Never left enough hand towels(only 1 after a request for 2 and no face cloths after request). Dirty chipped mugs for tea and weird set up for kettle inside cabinet which set the alarm off once boiling. The good: King size bed, A/C, parking 2 minutes away at the station, quiet room facing the alley on the 6th floor, free mini bar, decent sized room over all, close to all downtown attractions.

Room Tip: 6th floor facing alley for quietest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMVP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here on Saturday the 22nd,booked the room ( a superior) through an agency we could have booked through the hotel direct and for only an extra £20 we could have had an executive room which gave you access to there private lounge,so next time will defo book direct.The room itself was amazing,only disapointment was the view NONE the window faced in to a square which was full of extractor fans that were very niosy,tried to get another room but the hotel was fully booked,the receptionist said the fans would be turned of by 10pm which would have been ok as we were out anyway,but we came in after 12 & they were still on, a call to reception and they were off right away,we will be back again,but will request a room on a high floor & 1 that faces out to the street.1 more small niggle our room window did not open at all I suppose this was a safety policy as the room we were in the extractor fans were right outside the window but the room was too hot & the air con was too noisy to keep on all night.

Room Tip: we were in 104 the room was very dark as it faced in to the square & there were 6 floors above s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soon2bmrsb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked this hotel to go to after our wedding which was being held close by. I could rant on about our experience but will cut to the chase with the relevant poor points and let you make your own mind up. We booked one of the balcony rooms, which looked amazing on line but fell well short of expectations in real life. It was really quite small and certainly could not be described as deluxe. The balconies ok, but its not like your going to sit out there with a Pina Colada watching the drunks go by, its noval but that's all really. They had some complimentary drinks which were nice, but dont expect too much, on the website picture the decanters are full, in real life there are 2 measures in each and they are only refilled once a day. The restaurant at the top was something I was looking forward too for our wedding breakfast, but for a hotel of this supposed quality the food for totally overcooked, dry, rock hard potato scones and sausage you couldnt cut, it was so disappointing as it had been one of the reasons we had chosen in. This all coupled with the instances on taking a deposit off us when we arrived at 1am after our wedding, despite them having our credit card details, I think was really unnecessary. We are standing in reception in full wedding gear, holding bags, gifts, bouquets, surely it wasnt necessary that precise evening, but they wouldnt let us check in without it........not good, very disappointing and such a shame as we had such high hopes for it. Sadly wouldnt stay again and wouldnt recommend. We had friends who stayed in an aparthotel around the corner, with a room 4 times the size of ours and said it was fantastic for far less money.

Room Tip: Dont choose the balcony rooms, they are not what you will be expecting. We've stayed in a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitch492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed a total of three nights at this hotel, two nights on arrival and our last night in Glasgow. We arrived at 8 a.m. in the morning after our overnight flight and one of two rooms we had booked was ready for us, which was excellent. We were able to park our luggage in our room and rest for a couple hours. When the second room was ready, Hector, from the front desk, came up and gave us the keys. What service!

ACCOMMODATION - the room we had was large, clean, well-equipped and very comfortable, with a wonderful bed. The window looked out into an enclosed quadrant with no view other than that of other rooms on all sides. However, we did get good light and it was very peaceful and quiet in the room. Also included is a complimentary minibar with beer, wine, soft drinks, water and decanters of scotch (whiskey), gin and vodka. AND crystal glasses in which to enjoy these beverages! Although we did not eat in the restaurant, we had our breakfasts there and the service and food were very good. Eggs cooked to order as well. A wonderful feature is the lounge on the 7th floor with comfortable seating and complimentary bar - a great spot for pre- and apres-dining socializing.

SERVICE - Kudos to Hector and his colleagues at the front desk for such good service. We were made very welcome and our return for our last night felt like 'coming home'.

GOOD TIP - We had planned to take the train from Glasgow to Edinburgh but were informed at the desk that we could order a private car and driver for the trip, which we did. The cost was the same for the hire as it would have been for rail fare for the 4 of us. And this included door-to-door service. We used this service three times in all - including a trip to Glasgow's suburbs where we searched for addresses and stopped for pictures and the return trip to the airport. Extremely reasonable - not metered, but flat-rate.

LOCATION - could not be better. The small lobby exits onto a busy street with shops, pubs and restaurants all close by. The rail station is a couple of minutes away, (as is George Square) and an easy walk with luggage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The value is excellent as is the service and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,416 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,828 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £93 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing