We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful!!! A complete disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dreadful!!! A complete disappointment”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had stayed at this hotel previously and thought it was brilliant, so naturally expected it to be similar when we returned - I couldn't have been more wrong. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!! The Staff were rude and uninterested, the rooms were dirty and when we asked to me moved they told us there were no empty rooms and would send somebody up to clean. I don't expect to have to do this in a hotel that I am paying a lot of money for. When we returned to the room there was not much change. They had sprayed some air freshener, but not cleaned he bathroom or the fridge as we asked. I certainly wouldn't have consumed anything from that fridge. They had decanters with spirits in them, but if they didn't clean the bathroom then my reckoning was that they wouldn't have cleaner that either!!!! We had booked for a meal and the view from the restaurant was really good. Unfortunately, that is the only positive I could give this as the quality of the food was shocking. In the bar afterwards everybody was complaining about the pork. I was one of the few that complained to the staff and they cooked me some fish instead, but to be honest this was only slightly better.
There are so many nice hotels in Glasgow that have good locations, so I would advise checking out one of them. The Millenium Hotel just along the road from this one is a completely different class and quite often has good offers. With all the Daily Deals websites with good deals on hotels, I am quite happy never to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion. I was surprised to read your comments, particularly those about the staff, as the majority of rewiewers, including yourself on your last visit, are full of praise for them. I note that you stayed in August- the menu has changed since then and the comments about the food have been good. We don't use daily deals sites, the best deal is always available by booking direct.

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    488
    141
    47
    36
See reviews for
166
879
60
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our trip to Scotland and thought it was a great hotel. The location is fantastic--close to everything, including the train we left on to Edinburgh and a grocery store right next door to grab some snacks and essentials. The rooms were decent sized, clean and bed was comfortable. The free mini-bar was a nice touch as we returned at night often tired and then didn't have to pop out for a drink. The tartan tiles in the bathroom were a nice touch. ;)

Really, no complaints at all other than we had very loud neighbors across the hall that woke us up at night. Not the hotel's fault and nothing earplugs wouldn't fix. The staff were excellent--they even held our luggage while we were out all day on a tour after checking out. We'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend and it didn't disappoint. The reception staff and the restaurant staff were excellent and gave really genuine customer service. I would continue the recommendation and say this is the place to stay in Glasgow. It has a great central location which can mean the downside is the view from the rooms at the rear are not good but the large comfortable rooms with complimentary mini bar more than makes up for this. The rooftop restaurant does however give a great city view.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed 10 days in September 2012 and was very pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and management. It is a credit to the Dutch ownership to be so attuned to client satisfaction. The rooms are comfortable and clean and include thoughtful amenities without addional charges. The executive lounge on the 7th floor opposite its rooftop restaurant is a brilliant addition for the comfort and pleasure of guests and serves as a great meeting place for business and personal meetings. Highly recommended, and I hope to stay there again.

Ron Hughes
Kinnelon, NJ, USA

Room Tip: May have to request face towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very impresses by the location of this hotel, comfort and friendliness of staff. Of course the complimentary mini bar and drinks and snacks in the Executive Lounge were a bonus. Breakfast lovely and buffet style always welcome. Will no doubt be back!

Room Tip: Executive rooms do have more space than superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineT523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very impressed with the hospitality and the facilities . The mini bar was a special treat though obviously we didnt want to take advantage of too much of it. The staff were friendly and curtious . The room seemed very hot at night even with the air conditioning on. The air conditioning was loud and took a bit of getting used to ,otherwise would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We could not have been happier with our choice of the Carlton George for seeing Glasgow. The location is very central, with both taxi stands and subway stops around the corner for getting around. Buses are of course everywhere. The room where breakfast is served is full of large windows that offer wonderful views of the city. The staff is courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable about the best way to see whatever one wants to see. Our fifth floor corner suite was spacious, attractive, quiet, and very comfortable. Shower and tub were wonderful! Overall we were very satisfied and look forward to staying in the Carlton George on any trip we take to Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing