We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around - just as good as before!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Second time around - just as good as before!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just visited the Carlton George again for the second time. Nothing has changed from my last review in August, which itself makes a statement about consistency. At Reception, Hector's dry humour is still going strong. The club lounge was even more welcoming than in summer, with an open fire and warm atmosphere for a cold February night.

First-time visitors to Scotland - go to Edinburgh to sample 'Disneyland Scotland' and stay at the excellent Knights Residence apartment hotel. But take the train to Glasgow Queen Street, after you have had enough haggis and bagpipes, to arrive in Real Scotland. Stay at the Carlton George, shop in nearby Buchanan Street and dine in any of the great neighbourhood restaurants in the Merchant City. This city is full of attractions and is close to lovely highland scenery. Enjoy!

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but some basic rooms have a dark courtyard view. I suggest that you invest a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    503
    153
    50
    41
See reviews for
175
945
67
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Recent Business Trip took me to Glasgow for one night. Carlton George Great location from train station hence why I picked it.

I was upgraded to a balcony room which was nice, although no real time to enjoy it.

Was in room 609. Nice but could do with a little revamp more modern. Clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom basic. Very nosey corridor as I was right next to the stairwell and I think staff forget that people like to sleep when they are in a hotel.

Breakfast was good. Eggs Benedict was very nice and staff friendly

Overall great location and Ideal if a group of you.

Did not enjoy the lounge this time, as had no time to but again if there are agroup of you cost effective.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed for one night in February using the shopping experience package which included afternoon tea, breakfast & access to the executive lounge. We arrived a little early but there were no problems with the hotel taking our bags until we returned a little later.

Our room was spacious with a large & comfortable bed, room included mini bar with wine, mixers & also decanters which where all included in the price. We were looking at an office block from across from us but we weren't bothered we didn't go to look out a window. Went for our afternoon tea however staff neither at check in our on arrival the lounge were very informative to advise where to go for the tea or evening drinks. The tea had a glass of champagne each, cakes & sandwiches. It’s a shame we never got asked what type of sandwiches were required or if any allergies. We were presented with 2 types – chicken or salmon. Unfortunately most of our tea was left and we ended up going elsewhere for some lunch.

We used the executive lounge again in the evening but we stayed for less than an hour due to there being a large group of men also there. To begin with we thought we were entering a private function. All were standing near the bar area and you had to squeeze your way around them to get near to the bar/coffee area.

Breakfast was standard buffet type in windows restaurant. We were shown to our table and told to help ourselves. It wasn’t until after we’d had our breakfast we noticed that for a poached egg, fried egg or any beans you were to ask the staff. It would have been helpful if this was advised to us when being seated rather than us finding out after.

The Carlton George is a nice hotel a lot of the areas are quite dated & could be done with a revamp. With the shoppers package we expected more. We were disappointed with both our tea and the lounge. For future stays in Glasgow I’ll do as I’ve previously done, book the Thistle for around half the price. You’ll receive better customer services & have the facilities of the gym/sauna/steam room. It won’t include the drinks in room or executive lounge but will being in the centre of Glasgow there is plenty nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I'm sorry that the Carlton George was not to your taste. We do have an unrivalled location in the heart of the city centre, and whilst there are cheaper hotels available we offer excellent value and a lot of additional benefits. I will certainly take your comments regarding breakfast on board.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Room 208. Friendly welcome at reception. Bathroom very dated and could do with revamp. Bed very comfy however noisy fans outside. Noisy door slamming in corridor. Disappointed that rubbish still in drinks unit from people the night before and a green fluffy mouldy crisp on top of wardrobe! Had salmon for dinner but had to leave half of it as it was uncooked - said to waiter who said he "would pass that on" however no apology nor alternative offered. Just as well the breakfast was plenty. Will not stay again, especially as no reply received back from management who had asked for feedback. Not worth £150 for DBB, could get better deals in nicer hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for the night and I can't fault the service we received. From welcoming reception staff, beautiful clean rooms, an excellent dinner, complimentary drinks in the executive lounge and a tasty breakfast. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I had a pleasant few days at the Carlton G. last October as I was visiting Glasgow area for business proposes.
I can't fault almost anything. Perhaps the room could have been higher in order to avoid a little noise coming from the back door of the Pub in the alley and the breakfast service could be a bit more aware of the guest's needs-just a little bit more!
Anyway, for a more than reasonable price you get the best location, spacious rooms, free Wi-Fi, complimentary minibar with daily replenish, good TV selection, friendly reception (including native Spanish speaking! Hola estimado amigo de la Argentina!).
Anyway, to sum up! highly recommendable for a city break, business trip, pubbing...
Gracias de un hotelero!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid the bit of noise coming from the alley or from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathdrum, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed in Carlton George August 2012 staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and tidy, perfect central location for shops and sightseeing. Bonus within walking distance of Glasgow Green. Nice restuarant at roof level .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
722 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,905 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,670 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing