We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Have stayed here three times now for weekends in Glasgow. Great location for trains and subway as well as a host of restaurants. Staff were ALL great and helpful even after having checked out. Free minibar and free lounge for drinks & nibbles JUST GREAT

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms to rear, the first time I stayed there was a lot of noise from bin men quite earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartantrumpsFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location, the staff are wonderful, it was a surprise that all drinks in the minibar are complimentary, as are the spirits in the three decanters (whisky, gin ans vodka) - never seen such generosity! We were also given two vouchers for a free drink in the bar just can't see how that can be sustainable.
The disappointment was the generally tired dated decor the carpets had a really strong smell and the interior in desperate need of a refurbishment. The restaurant is overpriced and also needs a through clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamTamJ-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, I was pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly- this is one of our top priorities, I'm glad we are getting it right. I am sorry that you didn't like the decor, we have had all our bedrooms refurbished, so I am a bit shocked that you felt the decor was dated. Our restaurant is priced very competitively in the local market, I will certainly take your comments on board.
I do hope you will stay with us again on future trips to Glasgow.

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We recently stayed for our wedding anniversary, the staff and room were fantastic. The only slight downside was the breakfast, it was a bit of a free for all and the food wasn't the warmest, but overall we will certainly be staying again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clobberit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Room was lovely with all drinks in the minibar complimentary, as were the spirits in the three decanters - never experienced that before! We were also given two vouchers for a free drink in the bar. Staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean. Slept well on a huge comfy bed and didn't hear a sound from either outside or inside the hotel. Slightly disappointed though that breakfast wasn't included in the £109 we paid to say overnight. We will definitely stay again next time we're in Glasgow. The location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWellingtonWimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Went to Glasgow for a weekend break with friends. This hotel has the perfect location for shops, bars and restaurants. Our room was a good size & clean. The complementary mini bar was a plus!
Our room was at the back and had a poor view but this didn't bother us. It was possibly a good thing as when we returned to the hotel the alarm on the shop next door had gone off! Our room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was served on the 7th floor. The restaurant was bright and had a great view. There was a selection of Continental food and a good choice of hot food. The staff were all very friendly and so helpful. My husband forgot his cuff links and they managed to ask all the male staff members and one lent us theirs. Definitely be returning to this hotel on our next visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed one night at the Carlton George. The location can't be beat and they were able to accommodate me with an early check-in which is great as a weary traveler. The room was very nice as are the 'free' drinks and availability of in-room included breakfast. I am wavering a little on the score of '4' only because the washroom could have been clearer and the pillows need replacing -two things that make or break the experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coombsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stay in Glasgow often however this was my first and hopefully last visit to the Carlton George

From the alarm call that did not happen, the requested tea at breakfast that did not arrive and the lack of towels in the bathroom, the luxury was clearly in the price rather than the service. Free drinks a nice touch however did not paper over the cracks

Blytheswood , Radisson better alternatives.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your experience was not as positive as it could have been. I can assure you that the service lapses are in no way the norm at the Carlton George. Should you be willing to give us a second chance I am sure you will get a much more typical Carlton welcome.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,132 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing