We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I went a few days at this lovely hotel at the end of our UK holiday, and what a find it was. Beautifully appointed rooms, terrific location and last (but not least) tremendous reception staff.
When we arrived, we had difficulty parking out front. We rushed the bags in and said we would return later. The staff were not at all concerned. When we got back, our bags were already in our room waiting for us.

Furnishings were great, and everything was super clean.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyharpoon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    500
    149
    50
    38
See reviews for
171
923
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

It was our first time to Glasgow and the location of the hotel was ideal. Car parking was no problem. We parked at Queens Street station literally just around the corner. The hotel is right in the middle of the shopping centre and there were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Glasgow Central Station was very close. The service in the hotel was really good and we were impressed with the complimentary mini bar and the decanters of whisky, gin and vodka. Breakfast was served overlooking the rooftops of Glasgow and the food was very good. We will definitely stay here again. We ate at Waxy O'Connors next door and the food was good and piping hot. We were given a voucher for a free drink there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Have stayed here three times now for weekends in Glasgow. Great location for trains and subway as well as a host of restaurants. Staff were ALL great and helpful even after having checked out. Free minibar and free lounge for drinks & nibbles JUST GREAT

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms to rear, the first time I stayed there was a lot of noise from bin men quite earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartantrumpsFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location, the staff are wonderful, it was a surprise that all drinks in the minibar are complimentary, as are the spirits in the three decanters (whisky, gin ans vodka) - never seen such generosity! We were also given two vouchers for a free drink in the bar just can't see how that can be sustainable.
The disappointment was the generally tired dated decor the carpets had a really strong smell and the interior in desperate need of a refurbishment. The restaurant is overpriced and also needs a through clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamTamJ-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, I was pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly- this is one of our top priorities, I'm glad we are getting it right. I am sorry that you didn't like the decor, we have had all our bedrooms refurbished, so I am a bit shocked that you felt the decor was dated. Our restaurant is priced very competitively in the local market, I will certainly take your comments on board.
I do hope you will stay with us again on future trips to Glasgow.

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for our wedding anniversary, the staff and room were fantastic. The only slight downside was the breakfast, it was a bit of a free for all and the food wasn't the warmest, but overall we will certainly be staying again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clobberit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Room was lovely with all drinks in the minibar complimentary, as were the spirits in the three decanters - never experienced that before! We were also given two vouchers for a free drink in the bar. Staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean. Slept well on a huge comfy bed and didn't hear a sound from either outside or inside the hotel. Slightly disappointed though that breakfast wasn't included in the £109 we paid to say overnight. We will definitely stay again next time we're in Glasgow. The location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWellingtonWimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Went to Glasgow for a weekend break with friends. This hotel has the perfect location for shops, bars and restaurants. Our room was a good size & clean. The complementary mini bar was a plus!
Our room was at the back and had a poor view but this didn't bother us. It was possibly a good thing as when we returned to the hotel the alarm on the shop next door had gone off! Our room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was served on the 7th floor. The restaurant was bright and had a great view. There was a selection of Continental food and a good choice of hot food. The staff were all very friendly and so helpful. My husband forgot his cuff links and they managed to ask all the male staff members and one lent us theirs. Definitely be returning to this hotel on our next visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,107 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,853 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing