We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for visiting Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cambs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent base for visiting Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have just got back from a three night stay at the Carlton George and really cannot fault it. It is a 3 minute walk to Glasgow Queen Street station and is a 10 second walk to Buchanan Street. I walked about 200 yards to the bus stop on George Square each day to catch the hop on and off City Tours bus which was a fantastic way to get around and visit the main attractions. Our room was large and faced the front of the hotel - we were there in a rare Glasgow heatwave and the air conditioning was a godsend! The complimentary mini bar was stocked with soft drinks, wine and beer, and there were 3 decanters with gin, vodka and whiskey, as well as a good selection of teas/coffee and snacks. The bathroom was well stocked with good quality shower gel/shampoo etc. It was nice to have a good size flat screen TV and I really can't think of anything the room didn't have, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a nifty mirror in the bathroom which always has a steam free section in the middle of it after you shower. We had breakfast in the room twice and in the restaurant once, there was a good choice and it was well cooked, but we didn't realise you have to preorder eggs other than scrambled eggs and stood with a plate of food waiting for the chef to appear to cook a fried egg - he didn't seem very happy about it! The Executive Lounge is a lovely place to sit and read and in the evening you can help yourself to a glass of wine, soft drinks or gin, vodka or whiskey - tea and coffee and soft drinks are available all day. The staff were all very helpful and professional. I would recommend a visit to Glasgow to anyone, there was so much to see and there's a great atmosphere about the place. The Carlton George gets good reviews for good reason and I hope to be able to stay again soon.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room which I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warmheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    482
    140
    45
    36
See reviews for
164
862
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

stayed at the Carlton George for one night when on a trip to Glasgow.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly ,The room was very Nice and the location of the hotel was a must .fabulous view from the 7th floor restaurant the whole experience of this hotel made my trip to Glasgow Prefect.

Room Tip: The executive rooms offer that bit more with the addition of the use of the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here on 6th of July for the weekend, was really impressed the room was lovely and the air con was great as it was really warm the both nights. Mini bar and executive lounge were a nice addition:) Will definitely be returning when next in Glasgow

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hi, we just spent a night at the Carlton George Sunday July 7th,
the service was first class, staff are very warm and welcoming
and the breakfast in the Windows restaurant was fantastic,
will certainly be going back in the near future

Robert

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_macgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Carlton George Hotel exceeded all of our expectations, and we HIGHLY recommend this hotel. My husband has a restricted diet, and the hotel worked closely and enthusiastically with him to create and meet his needs with tasty, healthy meals. The front desk was willing to send out a card for me to the U.S. when I couldn't access the post office. They made box lunches for us to take on the train to Oban. The list goes on and on of exceptional, gracious service of this boutique hotel. The central location is fabulous, close to shops, restaurants, galleries, historic buildings and the Train Station. What a find! We loved our dining in the Windows restaurant, with a bird's eye view of all the steeples, clock towers, and cityscapes. Thank you so much, Carlton George and manager, Duncan Johnston. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashlaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Carlton George Hotel. The location of the hotel in Glasgow was just about perfect. Access to almost everything important in the city and/or transportation was at the hotel's doorstep. The staff was genuinely friendly and very helpful. In fact I would say that they collectively made my stay very successful. I could not find anything to complain about! The restaurant served very good food and the breakfasts were particularly good. My room was facing the street and had plenty of light and a slight view of the city and most importantly it very clean. People at the front desk, Paula and Hector were exceptionally helpful, the staff in the restaurant was great and Paula in housecleaning made sure the room was perfect. The complimentary mini bar and complimentary drinks in the executive bar hit the spot and afternoon tea/coffee was great. It was memorable stay. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone searching for great hotel in Glasgow!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitesail70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I went a few days at this lovely hotel at the end of our UK holiday, and what a find it was. Beautifully appointed rooms, terrific location and last (but not least) tremendous reception staff.
When we arrived, we had difficulty parking out front. We rushed the bags in and said we would return later. The staff were not at all concerned. When we got back, our bags were already in our room waiting for us.

Furnishings were great, and everything was super clean.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyharpoon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing