We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

2 couples stayed for a concert at the hydro. This is a gorgeous boutique hotel rather than small or large chain . Good size rooms with everything you need.also with Tea & Coffee facilities. Free Vodka, Whiskey and gin spirits with approximately 4 drinks of each in crystal decanters. Lovely with the crystal glasses! :) also free mini bar with wine, water and soft drinks. Great start to a great stay. Very helpful & friendly staff. Special thanks to Donald who helped us get a taxi and provided a brolly when it was pouring down with rain. Very friendly and great to see a friendly welcome face on our return! You can also choose breakfast in bead for no extra charge. Just added to the luxury treat! a midday checkout- even better! Reception were very friendly and offered to keep our bags as we were going shopping and asked if they could help any further. Right next to Queen St, Railway station. Right in the centre of all designer shops good restaurants etc, Art Galleries, Royal Concert Hall and stations. Thank you! We will return x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear mummyamanda,

I will pass your kind comments on to Donald and the rest of the team.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

My husband had a two night stay 1st&2nd Nov, check in was friendly room was average stayed in better l'm afraid view was looking onto another building. A bit tatty in areas could do with updating, we had a meal booked on our first night oh dear it was very poor we ended up walking out as the food wasn't up to much and the service was a disgrace.. Next morning we went for breakfast that was even worse cheap greasy food disgusting for the class of hotel had better in a premier Inn. We have always wanted to stay here but will not be returning when we checked we we not asked about our stay as you should l am sure he sensed we were unhappy. We stayed in room 602.
Mr&Mrs S..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kbvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear kbvb,

Thank you for taking the time to talk to me on the telephone earlier. I do hope you will come an stay again and experience a more typical Carlton George stay!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

2 mins from Glasgow Queen Street rail station. We arrived prior to the check in time but the helpful and friendly staff stored our luggage so we could go shopping. Check in was ok for me as I used my credit card as a deposit, however one of my friends wanted to use her debit card so she had to pay the whole amount immediately as well as an additional £50 which she was told would not be credited back to her account for about 3-4 days! She chose to pay in cash instead so she could get it back upon departure. Rooms were spacious and clean, however the lighting was poor (have found this in a lot of hotel rooms recently). It's not ideal when you're trying to get ready for a night out! Enjoyed having complimentary pre-dinner drinks in the Executive Lounge. Waxy O'Connors was good for a post-dinner drink. We then headed back to my room to enjoy the complimentary mini bar in my room. Breakfast was self service and a combination of hot and cold buffets. Only disappointment was that as we were a party of 6, we couldn't all sit together - a minor quibble but worth noting. Check out was 12 and once again the hotel agreed to store our luggage until nearer our train time. This hotel was perfect for visiting Glasgow City Centre and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Sapporo Teppanyaki on Ingram Street is great for dinner - very entertaining!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 94Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear 94Gill,

Thank you for the review, I'm glad you liked the hotel.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent first weekend of November here with 8 family members. A warm, welcoming hotel in a great location. Just a pleasant stroll along the excellent shopping street of this vibrant city from the station, the lo cation couldn't be better. Rooms quiet and comfortable, complete with decanter of whisky, gin and vodka! Substantial breakfast in a pleasant rooftop restaurant. Excellent value especially if you get entrance to the executive lounge with free bar! We will happily return when we are next in Glasgow, can't recommend too highly. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vodkadebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Vodka Debbie,

Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your experience and made good use of the executive lounge!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Carlton George last weekend for 2 nights and found the hotel to be a warm friendly place. We had a night out in Royal Exchange Square so the hotel was a short walk away. It's central for shopping and the station. We parked at Buchanan Street Galleries car park which was close by and £10 per day. This was a much reduced rate as it's subsidised by the hotel.

Our room was a decent size and had a really comfy, large bed. Free mini bar is a great addition. Staff were all friendly without exception. We upgraded so had access to the lounge on the top floor. We'd definitely like to return but don't know if we'd bother with the upgrade. The Standard rooms looked a good size and also come with the complimentary mini bar. We felt the lounge didn't have much atmosphere.

We ate breakfast and one dinner in 'Windows' the hotel restaurant. It's on the top floor with views of the city. Food was freshly prepared and hot. Again staff were friendly. Next time we need a stay in Glasgow we'll definitely stay at the Carlton George.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackiee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Jackiee19,


I was delighted to read your lovely review, it is particularly pleasing when I get such positive comments about my fantastic team. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding anniversary. The location is perfect for visiting Glasgow close to the shops and the sights and the train station. While hotel could do with a little bit of an upgrade/refurbishment for the price we paid and the service we received we were very happy. Price included breakfast, free drinks in the room and access to the Executive Lounge. While we did not make too much use of the lounge it was nice to have although for the size of the lounge they could have done a lot more with it. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the review.

I'm glad you were looked after by my team.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Small hotel just off George Sq, Boutique style. Super friendly front of house staff, helpful and engaging with just the right amount of chat whilst still efficient. Room modern and clean with mini bar included in rate, wonderfull. Great to relax in. Breakfast in the roof restaurant with views over the city a bonus, well cooked and fresh buffet style standard mix, the pastries were lovely. Again, very pleasant staff (including the chef), what a treat. Happy to store luggage after checking out which made the Sunday bearable till we got the train.
I'll definitely be back, what a find! Ideal for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pay the premium to get access to the residents bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morso101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks Morso101,

I'm delighted that you liked our hotel, we do work hard to ensure that a welcoming, happy hotel experience is the norm at the Carlton George.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
4,044 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,356 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £87 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing