We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here in mid-November on their Weekender package which is very good value and the rooms are a very good size. We had a club room which gives you access to the lounge with free coffee and soft drinks during the day and free wine etc in the evening. The hotel is in an excellent location and ideally situated for the airport bus. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, but elsewhere I felt that this hotel had taken its eye off the ball. The restaurant service was patchy and the room service a complete disaster with no one paying attention to specific instructions given due to my food allergy. Our trip was also marred by the extremely raucous hen party in the room next door - I don't blame the hotel for this, but it is very irritating to have a group of drunks in the room next door who keep trying the connecting door between the rooms. I'll be honest, my disappointment this time is probably coloured by the fact that this hotel usually provides a high quality stay as does its sister hotel in Amsterdam and it is always more annoying to be let down by a company and hotel that you trust - we were probably just unlucky this time around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Ali83,

Please accept my apologies for the lapse in service during your recent stay, I do hope that the lack of attention to your allergies was rectified. I will ensure that on future stays all is perfect and try to allocate you a quieter room. I am glad you found the staff at reception to be friendly and helpful, I do have a great team. Thanks you for the constructive comments.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    501
    152
    50
    41
See reviews for
174
940
66
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I can't imagine that there could be a better-valued stay in downtown Glasgow, and I recommend this place without reservation to anyone wanting a simple, high-quality stay without any frou-frou.

Location: Right downtown, within walking distance of everything. Step out the door and the main shopping street, Buchanan, is right there. If it's the holiday season, the Christmas carnival and Markets are magical and wonderful to stroll through, especially at night. You can walk to a great fitness center (Nuffield Health - you can get a free day pass from their website!) with a huge pool just two miles away on Finnieston Street, and the Kelvingrove museum, an eclectic delight with a scientific or cultural surprise around every corner, is also an easy two mile walk away. The river is just a mile away. An underground station is right around the corner from the hotel, and if you're going to see an event at the O2 theater, it's just a couple underground stops away from the hotel as well. If you need a cab, just ask the desk to call you one or walk a half-block down George street to the train station and grab one yourself. I could go on, but really, the Carlton George is perfectly situated.

Front desk: Provided consistently good, friendly service. When I checked in and learned my room didn't have a city view, I asked for an upgrade, and rather than sell it to me (for an extra ~$45 per night), the guy explained that although he had exterior rooms available, there really weren't any city views to speak of except from the restaurant on the top floor, as all the buildings were the same height. Saved me a bundle - thank you, front desk man! The lobby is a little bit small and slightly kitschy, but not Bad. And the hotel has two elevators, so I never had to wait long to get to my room. Wake up calls always worked as expected.

Room: My room was quiet, clean, and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large, and the tub was deep and delicious. Room temperature controls were good. I never heard anyone in the other rooms. My room looked out over a slightly grim interior light well, but since I was only in the room at night I didn't care. Bonus: being on the interior meant the room didn't get any street noise at all. Room cleaning service was good.

Restaurant: Breakfast in the top-floor restaurant was fantastic. It was a classic European buffet, with lots of fruit, sliced cured meats, cheeses, yogurts, fresh croissants and other sweet breads, plus everything you'd expect for a full English breakfast, including some super-yum bangers, baked beans, and Scottish black pudding (ignore all rumors of ick - this stuff is tasty as hell). You'll enjoy the views out the restaurant windows while you dine - they're gorgeously turn-of-the-century. I also ordered lunch from room service once, and it was excellent, although I will mention that it took about 45 minutes to arrive.

I loved everything about my stay at the Carlton George, and if I return to Glasgow, I won't even shop around for another place to stay - I'll come straight back here. I'm giving it 5 stars for satisfaction and value.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose an interior room even though the light well is a tad grim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drustrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
drustrange,

I really appreciate your kind comments. Our location can't be beaten and Glasgow has so much to offer. I look forward ot welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family group for a couple of nights as a part of my retirement which was being held in Waxy O'Connors bar and forms part of the hotel.

Check in was quick and if a 'bellhop' or on your door valet parking is sooo important go elsewhere.

We had 3 rooms and were give rooms next to each other overlooking the front of the hotel with views up to George Square.

The room was very spacious and comfortable with a complementary and well stocked mini bar.

We have absolutely no complaints about the room which was very clean and well furnished.

The executive lounge is a nice place to relax and provides complimentary tea & coffee throughout the day and a range of complimentary alcoholic drinks in the evening.

Unfortunately there are always some individuals or groups who have no consideration for others and are selfish in their actions and make if their mission to drink everything provided or at least try it.
Yes there was a group of a few couples who sat getting louder and louder and drinking everything available.

Although we stay relatively close to Glasgow with easy travel link we do spend the occasional night(s) staying in the city and the Carlton George will be without a doubt or hotel of choice, it is centrally located with easy access to everything Glasgow has to offer.



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
kiltman,

I do hope you are enjoying your retirement! Lots more opportunities for a stay at the Carlton George!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel on the Christmas shopper package. Before arriving we had made a few changes to times etc and found the staff to be excellent and nothing seemed too much trouble. On arriving we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea. The rooms were a great size with lovely amenities.We ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the meal. The staff in the hotel were excellent and added to our thoroughly enjoyable stay. We took advantage of the exec lounge and had a great relaxing stay. We really look forward to returning and can't speak high enough of the hotel and staff.

Thanks Again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deesimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
deesimba,

The shopper package was really popular this Christmas, glad you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Really don't want to share this. We have been staying here several years. Love it so welcoming very comfortable and fantastic homely service. Seems like a very friendly hotel almost like one big one family they really see to keep their staff. Rooms very comfy. Love the the wee welcoming drink in your room . Would so recommend it. But this time I would say don't stay on the lower Floors due to the street noise. Otherwise best hotel in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Maggie,

Thank you for the kind words, I am very fortunate with the fabulous team we have here, many of them have been here for a long time.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the club balcony this was briiliant. I have stayed here a few times over the years but never booked the balcony so I was pleased with that. Staff were efficient as always. It was a special birthday for my friend and it was perfect. However, I have noticed that there seems to be cutbacks in certain areas - The breakfast for us was a little too lukewarm for me. I did ask for a fried egg and got it very prompt and it was hot. It is mostly self serve and thought the temperature of the food could have been better. This would not prevent me from going there again. It is an observation not a criticism. The executive lounge was very busy so we did not benefit from that. We did get a discount from waxys on our first drink which is very kind. Hector was very helpful and friendly there is a nice ambience within the hotel. I will definitely go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kazzi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Hockk,

The balcony rooms are fantastic. Thank you for the comments regarding breakfast, I will take all necessary action to ensure this is not an issue in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I visit Glasgow fairly often for work, and have tried and tested a few hotels in the city. The Carlton George is the first place that I have been completely happy with - I would struggle to find fault with anything about my stay.

The free minibar and Executive Lounge (not available with all rooms - so it's worth checking if you'd like it) are real bonuses, but there are lots of other little touches which make this one of the easiest, most enjoyable work-trips I've had. Things like breakfast being delivered to your room and reasonably priced room service - both without tray service fee - and the 12pm check-out time make all the difference. Free wifi, which was really reliable was also a boon. When you're travelling for business, it really is small things making life easier that make the real difference.

Location is great - right in the city centre; rooms are spacious and clean with lots of nice little details; the bed was ridiculously comfortable...

I would recommend the Carlton George to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely book an Executive Room or above for all of the perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I was delighted to read that our hotel is the first one in Glasgow that you are 100% happy with. It is always a boost to read such positive comments.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
709 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,896 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing