We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed as a result of work. Business centre excellent and friendl, helpful staff. Ate in the restaurant. Colleagues both had fish dishes and clean plates. I had the chorizo and squash veloute. Absolutely gorgeous. All in all a nice stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for the review Clair,

I'm glad you found the restaurant to your liking, I do hope you will be working in Glasgow again soon!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    476
    139
    44
    36
See reviews for
161
848
56
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Another birthday treat for my husband, his family were from Paisley, we live in England so going up to Glasgow is for him going home. We have stayed at the George many times and it never fails to please, the staff, the food, the rooms are all fab. We recommend the hotel to everyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Susan,

Thanks for continuing to recommend us to all your friends.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here October 2013 with our two children. The location is excellent about as central as you can get. Parking is located nearby in the Queen St station car park, this can be busy some days and you may need to park further away especially as the station car park attendant tends to reserve spaces for their staff over hotel guests. There is a drop off point directly outside the hotel.
The executive suites with interconnecting doors for the kids was great, spacious, spotless, free full fridge and bar, with lovely touches such as crisps, chocolate bars and biscuits which pleased the youngsters. There are also iPod docking stations, sky tv and all the bathroom essentials. the beds are very comfortable, no noise from the streets.
The roof terrace dining room where breakfast is served is lovely, bright and clean with a great breakfast selection, and chef willing to cook food to order. Excellent breakfast service .
The lounge on the top floor is very comfortable and great for a late drink after the main bars are closed and again has a fully stocked fridge with complimentary drinks.
This is our second stay, we previously stayed here with friends and would highly recommend this hotel, especially if your shopping, eating at the wide choice of restaurants or exploring Glasgow's great galleries and museums. The underground Station is two minutes away and I would recommend the short trip to Byers Road for its unusual shops and bars.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to the executive suite, lots of space and great extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TygerTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi TygerTyger,

I'm happy that you liked our hotel as much on your second visit as your first.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked here for meetings in Glasgow/Edinburgh, so wanted to be close to the station.

Good value, clean rooms, minibar was an unusual but nice extra, breakfast cooked to order - much better than the usual "left sweat under the hot lamp" buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Paul O,

Delighted that you enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton,Lanakshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Overnight stay with meal included, cant fault the hotel it is really good value. However, the meal was awful and so was the customer service from the manager in the restaurant and the attitude from the duty manager. We were made to feel bad about complaining, offered a free glass of bubbly! who needs that when you have a drinks package included, then offered a sandwich. In the end we accepted a meal for another time but really not looking forward to that. Think they should have refunded us for the meal. Attitude stinks! waitresses were nice though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Yvonne P,

I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy dinner, and that you felt the treatment by my team was not what it should have been. I understand that there was an issue with your starters and this was rectified and all food eaten. My Restaurant Manager did offer you a voucher for a dinner with our compliments in the future as a goodwill gesture. I do hope you will use this and have a much more positive impression of our food and hospitality.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The hotel was lovely - very clean & centrally located. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but that was very good.The staff are very friendly & helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your review Julie,

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Enjoyed our 18th wedding anniversary at the carlton george recently.
Cannot find fault with this hotel. Very well located. Room lovely and clean and amenities very good. Free minibar was a real plus and decanters were a nice touch. We particularly enjoyed the executive lounge and the rooftop restaurant.
We will definately return to the carlton george

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks Jayne,

Happy Anniversary!

We are indeed a top hotel! I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing