We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our second visit to the Carlton George. This time it was to celebrate my Husband's 65th birthday. We had a Club Balcony room which were absolutely fabulous as did both our Daughters and Husbands are were all delighted with them. The Executive Club has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and the staff there were just brilliant. We had dinner at the Windows Restaurant which was really delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel for location, atmosphere, great food, cleanliness and of course the excellent staff. Location perfect. We will be back to enjoy this again in the future.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the Club Balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Our balcony rooms are well worth the upgrade, all we need now is the weather to go with them!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times on weekend package deal; as always good value for money.

Great location next to Queen Street Railway Station in the heart of the city. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean, mini bar, decanters of gin, whisky, vodka in the room and access to the executive lounge for tea, coffee, soft drinks all day; wine, beer and spirits from 17.00-22.45.

Windows restaurant is lovely great views of the city and very good food.

Access to the executive lounge if you book an executive or club room. It is well worth the extra money; although on this visit we did notice some people completely over doing it, which was a pity as it spoiled the otherwise great atmosphere. Got a bit out of hand at one point, one young lady being carried out and a couple of guys brawling outside the bedrooms when people were returning to their rooms.

Perhaps a senior staff member assisting the lovely young waitress in the lounge would have helped; not in any way her fault just very rude people pushing her aside and helping themselves.

All in all a good hotel in a great location with a few issues needing addressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budletFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear BudletFalkirk,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, the lounge is a great feature and a very popular one! We do now staff it every day to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter and what a pleasant surprise, from being welcomed to leaving, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room on the second floor at the back and were not disturbed by noise throughout our stay. The free mini bar and lounge were a bonus and a lovely room for breakfast with pleasant staff, what more could you ask for. If we stay in Glasgow again this would be our first choice, can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 and although there is no view it was really quiet, which to me is better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for the kind words Kaff_12,

I'm delighted my team looked after you so well. Even though we are located right in the middle of the city, there is rarely a problem with street noise. I hope you will consider coming back to Glasgow for your next break.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have now stayed here several times the latest in March, the staff could not be more friendly and the rooms very comfortable. Free mini bar and use of the executive lounge with complimentary coffee and bar are a real bonus. Breakfast in the restaurant is wonderful looking over the city roof tops.
The hotel is perfectly located and if you get your ticket stamped there is cheap car parking in the Buchanan Galleries just around the corner.
My only fault is I only found out about their loyalty scheme this time having stayed three times before.
Already looking forward to a three night stay at the end of April.

Room Tip: Park in the Buchanan Galleries for discounted parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Simon,

Great to read that you love our hotel. Next time you come we will get your loyalty card stamped for your previous stays. Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from one night in a Club room on bed and breakfast. From arrival to departure everything went with a quiet efficiency seldom found today.
The room was large comfortable and clean as was the bathroom.
The addition of a free mini bar and decanters was a nice touch as was the Executive lounge on the 7th floor with free snacks and drinks. I think these touches are reflected in the price which was only a little more than comparative hotels.
Breakfast was excellent and staff obviously knew their jobs and did them well.
I would not hesitate in recommending and using the Carlton George again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mike M,

I was delighted to read that you had such a positive experience and appreciated the little extras such as the lounge and complimentary drinks.
Thanks for the review!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just spent a night in Carlton George hotel. What a find! Staff were all very nice & helpful & lovely rooms. Couldn't believe mini bar was all free including decanters of spirits, then lounge at top of hotel is available for guests to go & they supply drinks there too. Food in restaurant was lovely. Could not fault this hotel on anything & I will certainly tell other people about this hidden gem. Will definitely be back to stay at Carlton George.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks Rena,

Please tell everyone about us! Glad you liked the lounge and complimentary minibar.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We picked the Carlton George hotel based on other reviews on Tripadvisor and it was a perfect choice! The front desk manager was wonderful when we arrived at 8:00 AM wondering if our room might be available. He had our room ready and we enjoyed breakfast in the rooftop restaurant right away.

The staff were always kind and efficient, and the room was immaculate, quiet and exactly as we expected. We enjoy the nice things in life, and I have a hospitality background, so I am a fairly picky traveler and not easily impressed. I was totally happy and contented with the Carlton and I enjoyed the added touches like the complimentary drinks in the minibar and the executive lounge was a lovely, comfortable respite from the outside world.

You absolutely can't beat the location, being just off the mall and right around the corner from the Queen St station. This hotel was a pleasure to stay at, and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Even the internal or standard rooms are very nice, the only difference being they look into another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coobry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Coobry,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We have a lot of guests that arrive early form the US, we always try to give early check-ins so you can make the most of your time in our wonderful city. It's always especially nice to get such positive feedback form a fellow hospitality professional.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,133 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £80 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing