We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

easy to find small but pleasant .Very warm could do with better air con.The service slow .you could not select your sandwiches has my friend and I don't eat pork or beef .when I asked she replace with cheese and salad I think you should let people select. the scones fresh and warm sandwiches a bit small cakes not very fancy in all ok afternoon tea.had better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea and can assure you that I take your comments on board and will discuss with my team and make necessary improvements.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 12 nights as part of the England Boxing Team for the Commonwealth Games. I was very impressed with the rooms, the mini-bar was free, although I couldn't indulge with the alcohol. The Executive Lounge on top floor was a little jewel, to chill out in. The Manager Duncan couldn't of been more helpful!! They made our business trip a very luxury one indeed.
You can even take advantage of being served Breakfast to your room for no extra charge. In a word CLASS!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boxcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Boxcoach,

Glad you enjoyed the hotel and that you also had a very successful Commonwealth Games!


Thanks Again,

Duncan Johnston

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My Family and I stayed here overnight and found it to be fantastic. Staff were very helpful in every way and helping us find the best way to see Glasgow in a day. The rooms were a good size for an inner city hotel and the free minibar was a fantastic addition after a long day. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 210Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jenny,

I'm delighted that my team looked after you so well during your recent stay and hope your trip home went smoothly.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Right in the city centre, two steps away from Buchanan street. Comfortable hotel with beautifully decorated bedroom and excellent service. All the receptionists are ready to help any time of the day or night.

On the downside, breakfast is a bit poor. The fruit is not fresh, but tinned. Beds are too soft.

However, I will not look for another hotel if I find a room available at the Carlton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnjuD621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Anju,

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you will always stay with us when in Glasgow.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

my family and i stay there last night and thought it was a brilliant hotel
brilliant and happy to help staff
rooms small but lovely
great food in the fab restaurant
my family and i would love to go back

Room Tip: free mini bar in room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Gemma,

I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time at the Carlton George. Glasgow is a fabulous place to be at the moment!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Got this on a group on voucher. I left it very last minute to book, but the girl on the phone was very pleasant and accommodating(used voucher on the last day)The windows restaurant is on the 7th floor, the views were fab, the surrounds were great and there was a great buzz in Glasgow itself, with the common wealth games. The high tea was excellent and there was plenty to eat. Staff we're very attentive and pleasant. Would strongly recommend afternoon tea here, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Carcam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Our afternoon teas have been very successful over the last few months, glad you enjoyed the experience.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of nights in this hotel last week. When we arrived, we thought that the air conditioning in our room was not working too well but wanted to give it a chance to cool down. After about an hour, and even though I had already "settled in" and taken a bath, the room was still pretty hot. After a couple of phone calls we were graciously moved to a larger room on a lower floor where the A/C worked perfectly. Although our second room faced the street, we didn't hear a thing from outside, as the double-paned windows are excellent (not always the case when we travel). We loved the free in-room wi-fi and think the service was great. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others. Good location.

Room Tip: We loved room 110.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear AtlantaDoll,

Thanks for your patience with the air conditioning last week. I'm pleased that you liked room 110, even with the city centre location the noise form the street is minimal.
I hope you have a safe trip back to Georgia!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £97 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing