We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls well earned break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Rainhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Girls well earned break”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second visit to this hotel within couple of months and had a fantastic weekend. I cannot fault anything in this hotel from the friendly excellent service of staff to cleanliness and comfort and location is central to everything. Hector made us so welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent and again service was fantastic.
I highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel for any break to Glasgow and will definitely be returning in the short term. Special thanks to Hector, Jamie and the young lady in the executive lunge (jo if I remember rightly). Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWagwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear janwagwoman,

I do have a great team here at the Carlton George, I will pass on you kind words to them all and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    500
    149
    50
    38
See reviews for
171
923
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh,
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here duriny the Commonwealth Games. I was a guest of Iron Bru and had a fantastic time. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful nothing too much bother. We were shown to our room and was shown around free mini bar and decanters with Whisky Gin and Vodka all free (bonus). The room was small but comfortable and well decorated. We had the use of an executive lounge also free bar. The breakfast was good and plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHeriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear SHeriot,

Thanks for the comments, I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night when at the comm games, cannot fault it...room was spotless and very large with a free mini bar....bed really comfy...room was quite hot but there was air con which helped a bit...buffet breakfast was very nice

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear magFifescotland,

I do hope you enjoyed the Commonwealth Games and hope you will stay with us in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place was a treat - reception was excellent (simple, no fuss) - rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished - free mini bar was unexpected and the executive room on the top floor was a great bonus.

Wi-fi was good and breakfast was a buffet affair which ticked the boxes (but not with quite the same flair as the cut glass decanter mini-bar).

My room was quiet but I can imagine there is the potential to get a bit noisy due to location - it's only just off George Square - 5 mins to Central Station (Queen's street is next door)...but that makes it's location pretty much as central as you could want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear GypsyJax,

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to your liking. Our sound insulation is good, so we don't really get any noise from the streets.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Small reception area, but no big deal.

Room was good size, clean and quiet- was at back of hotel.
Bit warm so had to keep window open.

Bathroom great.

Everything in working order - not a place that feels luxurious due to age of building, but was all great otherwise.

House keeping knocked quickly and stated letting themselves in rather too quickly - had to shout.

Breakfast was a let down. Very small buffet.
Fruit juice was not cooled so was almost warm and not pleasant drink in morning.
The food buffet was dry and not good quality. Either been sitting too long or just not looked after. Bacon was leather, rest was old looking, and not very appealing.
.Shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinUK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear rinuk001,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I was happy to read that you appreciated the room and amenities. I am sorry that breakfast was not up to the standard you rightly expect, I can assure you that all necessary steps have been taken to improve this.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a night at this lovely hotel. Check in was incredibly simple with no fuss which is always a plus point. The rooms have free wifi, and not your usual crappy speed wifi you actually got a connection! Bed were comfortable, room was beautiful the decanters were a lovely touch, neither of us were drinkers so the alcohol remained untouched. The free mini bar was a great touch, it didn't really seem to keep everything that cold, it was just a little cool. I don't know if it's a fault with the mink bar itself or me being fussy.


The bathrooms were lovely, really lord the tartan tile!

The only downside for us was the breakfast. Seriously poor, i went up to the 7th floor for some but didn't even bother lifting a plate. I wouldn't even attempt breakfast at the restaurant again. Maybe room service would be better? I don't know.

That being said I would still book this hotel whenever I'm needing one in Glasgow! I just wouldn't eat here.

If I ever need a hotel in

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ChelseaRochelle,

Thank you for the feedback, I do hope you will stay with us again, I'm sure you will find breakfast to your liking on future visits.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

easy to find small but pleasant .Very warm could do with better air con.The service slow .you could not select your sandwiches has my friend and I don't eat pork or beef .when I asked she replace with cheese and salad I think you should let people select. the scones fresh and warm sandwiches a bit small cakes not very fancy in all ok afternoon tea.had better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea and can assure you that I take your comments on board and will discuss with my team and make necessary improvements.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,107 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,854 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing