We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly staff, lovely rooms, spotlessly clean, ideal location, food in restaurant delicious and good price for 4*. Executive lounge and free mini bar in room real bonus. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for the review Thomsontrips,

I was delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    492
    143
    48
    36
See reviews for
167
893
62
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I paid a corporate rate here of £95 for b&b in a superior room and access to the lounge of the 7th floor, where there are free drinks and snacks available, but I have no idea what that costs if you book another way.

I have to say that the room was big, but slightly tired in places, the bed was too soft and the shower wasn't hot enough. The rest of the hotel looks a bit knocked about in places and could do with some TLC. Breakfast is okay, but not as extensive as you could get elsewhere - I'd probably suggest going out to one of the many restaurants nearby offering breakfast instead.

It's well located - smack bang in the centre and only 15 minutes from the airport, but there are so many choices in the same area that I will probably try somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear RSP71,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry that you found the bed a little soft, I will certainly have a lie down on it to see if it is in need of replacement!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After staying for four nights in this hotel I couldn't really find something to have bothered me, except maybe its not so modern room decoration. In fact, everything else was almost perfect.It has THE Ideal location just in the heart of Glasgow . Taxis, buses and subway are all just outside its doors . Clean room, good room service, FANTASTIC bed, air conditioning, extra fast Wi-Fi, free coffee and tea, free drinks in the minibar (plus free whisky, gin and vodka in crystal bottles and glasses), a bright breakfast room on the seventh floor over the Glasgow rooftops serving excellent breakfast with a good variety of cold and warm choices. It was really the perfect place to stay and enjoy beautiful and vibrant (but rainy) Glasgow.
Recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nicktrip,

It is always fantastic to read such a positive review, thank you!
We do have the best location in the city. Next time you stay we'll arrange more sunshine!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

1st time at hotel. Took the executive room, free minibar, free drink in bar, breakfast included etc.
Hotel was in an excellent location in centre of town, taxi rank outside front doors, train station, pubs, shops, right next door.
Have stayed in other hotels in Glasgow, out of town, no breakfast included and have paid more.
This hotel was excellent, will def stay here again and have suggested it to friends.
Can't say I agree that hotel is dirty and needing renovated, agreed it's a city centre hotel so doesn't have beautiful views, but it's certainly a very decent place to stay in the middle of Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear egoudie,

Thanks for the review and we look forward to you and all your friends visiting us again!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked another stay at this fabulous hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful and really do make your stay most enjoyable. The hotel is ideally located for all the shops and bars. We decided to eat at the hotel for our evening meal and they had changed the menu since our last stay but again they didn't disappoint us. The quality and presentation of the food is amazing and excellent value for money. Thank you once again to Hector and all the staff team. We will return again very soon !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Hazel,

I will pass on your kind comments to Hector and the rest of the team. Glad you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If only this Hotel was as nice as the Website suggests.

Great location but after that it all went downhill. Room was dark, noisy ( bar ventilation right outside the window) and a little grubby.

Restaurant was again a little tired and food at best average.

This place needs a total refurbishment and needs to hire more cleaners.

Would happily have gone without the free drinks for decent accommodation and cleanliness.

Views from the roof top restaurant rather grim. Afraid I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear epshearer,

I am sorry that our hotel was not to your tastes, we do get some very positive comments regarding our accommodation. Being in the city centre is a real bonus and the views from Windows restaurant are certainly not "grim", there is some fabulous architecture visible.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Sadly only stayed at this fabulous hotel, just off George Square, for 1 night. I could not fault anything from the friendly and efficient concierge to the sumptuous, spotless room to the fabulous breakfast in what is apparently the city's only rooftop restaurant.
My room was on the 5th floor and whilst there was no view everything inside was perfect from the king sized bed to the power shower and free mini bar. A particularly nice touch were the decanters and cut glass tumblers - no plastic rubbish at the Glasgow George!
George the concierge made some excellent recommendations which we followed and consequently enjoyed the local Charcoals curry house (do try!), complementary drinks at the adjoining bar and a wee dram from a fantastic choice at the Pot Still.
After an invigorating shower the following morning's breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order with plenty of alternatives for those like me who dislike the standard fry-up....
This will definitely be my hotel of choice next time I'm in Glasgow!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank angiejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Angiejm,

Thank you so much for the fab review. I am glad my team made you feel welcome and do hope you will be able to stay for more than one night next time!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
609 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,069 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,619 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing