We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great location. Executive lounge access worth paying extra for as it is very comfortable. Breakfast was good one day and not so the other. Homely and comfortable. Parking was an issue as one way systems are confusing and they suggest parking in a certain multi-story car park, do lots of research before you go if you drive there, it is right next to train station though - I would take the train!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barabrithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear barabrithWales,

I was delighted to read that you loved our hotel, We do try to provide a much more personal service than some of the large corporate chains. With regards to the one way system in Glasgow, it does get rather confusing and seems to change regularly!

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Carlton George in the future.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    482
    140
    45
    36
See reviews for
164
862
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent location in heart of city. Excellent staff. Pity no on-site parking. Enjoyed food and view from penthouse restraunt. Good Exec Lounge let down one evening by no staff and no glasses. Call to reception fixed this but shouldnt have happened. Very good value.

Room Tip: To get the best, book an Exec Floor room. Costs more but worth it for perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear DonJanNZ,

Thank you for the review, I'm pleased that you think we have a great hotel. I ma sorry that the service was a little slow in the lounge, but glad that it was quickly rectified.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely welcome from check in staff. Great room though was looking on to an internal shaft - mind you better than a roadside view as it was quiet. Minibar and decanters of gin, whisky and vodka plus two free drinks vouchers for hotel bars - such a contrast to the rip off minibars you encounter everywhere else. Also full marks for free wi-fi. Had dinner in the rooftop restaurant and it was excellent. Super service and good menu.

Had an executive room and so free access to lounge with more free drink and chocolate eggs and jelly beans.

Room was clean and well appointed. Had a great night's sleep in the comfy bed. Check in staff seemed impressed that I live in a castle but this was far more comfortable - really! First class. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumelarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for the review Dumellara,

Delighted that you enjoyed the chocolate eggs in the lounge!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall this is a good hotel very good location but since our last visit the hotel has gone done hill. The staff especially at breakfast were very inexperienced and done nothing to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front as the back rooms are dark even in good sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Donnie,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was sorry to read that my breakfast team were not as hospitable us usual, I will make sure that the level of hospitality is back up to a high level quickly.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived from USA and Stayed a week for wedding. Perfect location in city center and everything within walking distance. Airport city center bus drops off right in front of this hotel. Room spacious and clean. Staff very helpful. Would stay here again for sure!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sgrantWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I do hope the wedding went well and that you had a pleasant trip home.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

£235 for an executive room for one night . Check staff were dull and very little information was given. Was expecting a bit of luxury. Room was ok but a bit old fashioned. Bed was comfy. We had a complimentary mini bar which we didn't really take advantage of as we were out most of our visit. breakfast had a limited selection. Dining was in the roof top restaurant but the view was really of some weeds growing from the neighbouring buildings. My advice go to the GLasgow Hilton as it's far better !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltire2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Saltire2506,

I am sorry that our hotel wasn't to your tastes, as you can see from our reviews almost 90% of our guests feel that the Carlton George is Very Good or Excellent. We are a very different hotel form the Hilton, with an unbeatable location and a fantastic team.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked early on Hotels.com for a couple of nights the weekend of the 2014 World Piping Championships, and got a great rate, The hotel is in a great location on the block next to Georges Square, nearly adjacent to Queen Street train and subway stations. Room was very clean and neat. Mini-bar with wine, beer, and basic liquors was complimentary ! Excellent bar/restaurant named Waxy O'Connors with fantastic multi-level interior, and live trad music on Sunday afternoons. Offers 50% discount on parking at the nearby Buchanan Galleries shopping garage. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We needed a car for traveling outside Glasgow, but if you are staying in Glasgow no car is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Desami,

Glead you managed to find your way out of Waxy O'Connor's- it is a maze down there!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing