We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent central hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Carlton George is right in centre of Glasgow. Easy to get to from airport. Bus stops at Buchannan station almost beside hotel. By car they have a £10 deal for 24 hrs in Buchannan car park. Rooms well appointed. Worth upgrade to exec room. Free mini bar and drinks in Exec lounge!! Restaurant lovely view of City. Love to return!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dmillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Glad to read that you plan to return to our hotel.
Book direct for the best deals!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    476
    139
    44
    36
See reviews for
160
847
56
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kilmarnock, scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The location, service, rooms and extras such as the mini bar and executive lounge all made for a fantastic stay!
However this was marred by the most appalling excuse for vegetarian breakfast I have ever experienced- some mushrooms, half a tomato and a potato scone!!!!!! No veggie sausage- not exactly hard to find nor even a hash brown or baked bean! I was quite embarrassed to give this to my friend who was with me after raving on about what an amazing hotel the Carlton George was!
Please Carlton George- sort this out!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crcartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies that the vegetarian breakfast let us down. I have discussed this with my Chef and we will always have a full range of vegetarian options available.
I was pleased that you enjoyed the hotel in general and do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had a 1 night stay at the Carlton George and it was good. The room was clean, the bed was great and the restaurant at the topfloor served a great afternoon tea, diner and breakfast. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobberrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Bobberrr,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the dining experience in Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Right in the center of everything. Very historic. Rooms are older but nice size and equipped. Nice to have some snacks and drinks (adult and soft) available in the room rate. The lounge was well appointed with beers, coffee/tea machine, waters, mixers and juices, and there lots or room to site and chate, but the bussing was very slow. We brought and had lunch up there and it was still not cleared hours later. Also, they were often lacking in spoons and fresh tea cups. We did order a snack there, and the food was very tasty and was a generous portion. Breakfast was nice and had lots of choices, good view. When the club lets out, it can be loud. Next to the train station is helpful too but I think we would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Damian,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
I am sorry that the lounge service was slow during your stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the food on offer and the great location.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great location. Executive lounge access worth paying extra for as it is very comfortable. Breakfast was good one day and not so the other. Homely and comfortable. Parking was an issue as one way systems are confusing and they suggest parking in a certain multi-story car park, do lots of research before you go if you drive there, it is right next to train station though - I would take the train!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barabrithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear barabrithWales,

I was delighted to read that you loved our hotel, We do try to provide a much more personal service than some of the large corporate chains. With regards to the one way system in Glasgow, it does get rather confusing and seems to change regularly!

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Carlton George in the future.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent location in heart of city. Excellent staff. Pity no on-site parking. Enjoyed food and view from penthouse restraunt. Good Exec Lounge let down one evening by no staff and no glasses. Call to reception fixed this but shouldnt have happened. Very good value.

Room Tip: To get the best, book an Exec Floor room. Costs more but worth it for perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear DonJanNZ,

Thank you for the review, I'm pleased that you think we have a great hotel. I ma sorry that the service was a little slow in the lounge, but glad that it was quickly rectified.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely welcome from check in staff. Great room though was looking on to an internal shaft - mind you better than a roadside view as it was quiet. Minibar and decanters of gin, whisky and vodka plus two free drinks vouchers for hotel bars - such a contrast to the rip off minibars you encounter everywhere else. Also full marks for free wi-fi. Had dinner in the rooftop restaurant and it was excellent. Super service and good menu.

Had an executive room and so free access to lounge with more free drink and chocolate eggs and jelly beans.

Room was clean and well appointed. Had a great night's sleep in the comfy bed. Check in staff seemed impressed that I live in a castle but this was far more comfortable - really! First class. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumelarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for the review Dumellara,

Delighted that you enjoyed the chocolate eggs in the lounge!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing