We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel at unbeatable value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Great hotel, centrally based in glasgow. The rooms are excellent and have a free mini bar ! You cant get the same quality of service in the centre of glasgow for the price. Its the only hotel we use in Glasgow and we go back regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel has it all - location, service and excellent rates. We only stayed one night at the end of our trip but it was definitely one of the best.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Club room as our booked room was not ready when we checked in which was hours earlier than the actual check in time. The front desk was extremely helpful in finding us a room and then giving us such a nice upgrade.

The room was lovely - well appointed - complimentary mini bar which included whisky and sherry plus wine and beer etc.

The location is excellent - walk to all the shops, restaurants, indoor shopping mall and the train stations.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zampano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Ive stayed here a handful of times by now, and highly recommend as a great ped a terre in Glasgow.

Pros-
*Great location. Near both train stations (no need for a cab) and next to subway line. Also, right next to Buchanan street, where all the main shopping is.
*Comfortable rooms. A/C. free mini bar, large bathroom, plenty of channels.
*Small hotel
*Cute decor
*Front desk staff very nice, helpful and all that.
*GREAT value for the money.

Cons-
*Rooms are dark. There is little natural light due to the proximity of the next building and the courtyard. No views.

Noteworthy-
*There is very little difference between entry price room, and better room. There are all about the same, so just book the basic one.
*Since its a small hotel, there are only the two people working the front desk. There is no messaging system, or operator. So if they get busy...
*They do not have a full time housekeeping staff. So if you need something related after five oclock, its not going to happen. Same goes for bell boys, or any other staff. There are only two people running the show, so you need to work around this.
*Do not book thorugh their website- any travel site will give you the better option.
*DO not spend more than 150 USD on this hotel, and it will be a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soloisaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We came across Carlton George about 9years ago and never stay anywhere else when in glasgow. The location is excellant, staff nice, good food and free drink what more could you want? Read review about hotel being dirty just cannot believe this, in all the times we have been there we have never had any problems.Just spent last weekend there and the bedroom has had a makeover. Very nice and i tell everybody about this little gem we found all those years ago.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I had a great stay here last week. From the friendly welcome on reception, to the tasty breakfast next morning in the 7th floor restaurant with superb views of the city. In between I also enjoyed the free mini bar in the room, cosy dressing gown and slippers and the 6ft bed with comfortable pillows in the spacious room. No faults as far as I'm concerned, but if I'm really being picky - one niggle is the reception itself, which reminds me more of a b&b than a 4 star hotel but like I say, I'm being picky.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed at the Carlton George on the recommendation of Trip Advisor - and wasn't at all disappointed. While there's no free parking the meters outside end at 6pm and start at 8am so effectively had free parking for the night right outside!

The rooms were really good with the ultimate of nice touches - a free minibar complete with three decantors of brandy, gin and whisky (not that I touched any of it......) The Executive Lounge on the 7th floor was another surprise, as another person has highlighted - you don't expect free drinks and snacks.

All in all an excellent, centrally located Hotel, good service, clean rooms - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Visited Scotland for our honeymoon. Had the pleasure of finishing the trip at the Carlton George in Glasgow. The location cannot be beat, accommodations are first class, and the staff was very helpful and responsive to any inquiries.

Of all the lodgings we stayed at on our trip, this was easily the best.

Pros: Excellent location, all the expected furnishings of a top-notch hotel (flat screen, HD, tea/coffee service, etc), with many extras like complimentary mini-bar and stocked liquor cabinet (whiskey, sherry, and gin), great staff.

Cons: It is an older hotel which comes with it's quirks, some lights took a bit of investigation to turn on, rooms can get a bit warm with the windows closed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNT_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £97 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing