We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Abode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abode Glasgow
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Good central location with parking across the street,the building has loads of character,the staff were very pleasant and really looked after us. Rooms were clean and a very comfortable bed,would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a room in central Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdory750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    334
    226
    99
    54
See reviews for
59
510
65
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

paid a very low rate for a double room, get what you pay for!!!! very quiet night in the centre of Glasgow, bed was so so soft, not really great, TV was useless poor picture quality, on the plus side the tea tray is one of the best these days, same with the toiletries so my good lady says, room was very small but as it was for one night only it was fine, have to say the staff were really very good

Room Tip: ask for an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here to escape from building work at home - looking for an escape from noise and dust. Abode provided a perfect bolt hole.

The hotel is in a beautiful old building and, although the rooms are nothing special, the staff were outstanding. I can't lavish enough praise on the entire team as we were made to feel looked after in a really personal way. It's really rare to stay at a hotel where you feel that the team actually care.

If you visit Glasgow, I recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I would recommend this little hotel. It's in a great location & parking available in a multistorey over the road which they have reduced rates with.
The bedroom was a decent size, & clean.The only thing that was a negative was that being on the front of the hotel we had a lot of street noise.
I got cheap rates booking via Latreooms.

Room Tip: Maybe paying more for a room at the back would be worth it next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel ideal position to take in the sights and events in and around Glasgow. Rooms large, airy and as for the old style lift just amazing, the only thing missing was the lift porter! Partner booked the hotel to have night out at the theatre. Great atmosphere within hotel couldn't ask more from staff, good recommendations for places to eat. All round value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
296 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was my third experience of an ABode hotel, booked for a business stay by an agency for my firm and yet again, they don't quite deliver. As it was a couple of years since I last stayed in an ABode establishment, I thought, let's let bygones be bygones and see if they have improved. No.
The building had character but I'd say the gated caged lift should have had an attendant -if you are a bit disabled you can't negotiate three floors with luggage if another guest doesn't shut the gate properly and the lift doesn't come. The breakfast room was pleasant (but with ghastly radio music on pretty loudly)and the food reasonable, nothing very imaginative but it was fine, altho' the fresh fruit looked a bit tired. Cooked breakfasts were allegedly cooked to order so I ordered poached egg, I don't think that can be mucked up in advance.Staff were attentive and friendly but for the staggering sum charged per guest per night I would have imagined they could run to more than three free newspapers for all the guests -I was still reading the Times at breakfast when another guest came and asked me for it!!.
However the room was another matter. My firm clearly stipulated a QUIET room, underlined even, and I reiterated this on booking in. So I was given a third floor room on a VERY NOISY street, traffic lights, bus stop, traffic, buses and possibly a street cleaning device and noisy revellers until the small hours then it all started up again, minus the revellers at 6am. No view as compensation -the place overlooks a multi story car park. The room was small -by no stretch of the imagination was it a double room, as requested, that two people would have survived more than one night in. Bathroom clean but minimal toiletries and pretty cramped; shower in the bath -not easy for the less agile to clamber over the side of the bath to have a shower; towels rather thin;bed very soft; no case rack so I had to place a wet dirty case on the bed to unpack; only one chair -in a double room!!; TV very slow to come on;and the wardrobe was not long enough to hang up a full length coat or dress. ABode charges a lot of money but still can't quite get the basics right.

Room Tip: I don't know if any of the rooms are quiet, or big enough or have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

It's not all the hotel's fault, but my colleague and I were both kept awake until the early morning by noisy 'revelers' on Bath Street (on a Thursday night) . The hotel windows, while double glazed, do little to keep out the noise from the street. The bed was too soft and the pillows are a strange shape! Love the building, but the lack of hotel parking and the street noise means I won't be back.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 95 in Glasgow
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Glasgow

Property: Abode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
Abode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing