We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love quirky...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abode Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I love quirky...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

And I'm sure the owners won't be offended by the comment. Glasgow is steeped in great architecture and this hotel doesn't disappoint. There is a old-world lift running through the centre of the building which acts a focal-point whilst negotiating the stairs (if its broken down) or, riding it, focuses your memory or imagination on a more opulent era.

Our room was quite a surprise. We'd selected the desirable room and were delighted to find lofty ceilings and stained glass. There was no view, unfortunately, perhaps the semi-opaque old glass protected the eye from litter bins and the like. We experienced no real noise to ponder on such things and were happy to spread out and enjoy the space.

This hotel is very central and so, dear visitor, you are perfectly well placed to pop out for breakfast or supper or whatever you might need. Just around the corner, off Bath Street, is the Sarti restaurant which became the central plank of our comestible interests.

Staff were not imposing but accommodating and informative. Just the right mix, methinks. I'll certainly stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    320
    218
    100
    54
See reviews for
57
490
62
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have to say that I travel alot and have been to Glasgow on many occasions, so stay in diff.
hotels frequently.This was probably one of my favorite stays in Glasgow!
The staff, especially night staff was so amazing and accommodating! The room was charming
and I totally loved the old elevator..It is in such a good central location to get about Glasgow!
The staff was really AWESOME!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather.r.pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, General Manager at Abode Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at the hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Claire Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have just returned from one night in Glasgow. We stayed at the Abode for the first time and definitely will return. Great position for shopping and getting around the city. The staff were so friendly and helpful, always a friendly word as you passed by the reception desk and they gave us recommendations for eating and a 20% discount voucher for a great India restaurant Karma Sutra (I can recommend the fish curry). The hotel is clean and comfortable, only downside was the noise from the bus stop outside during the night, but the manager has said that next time he will make sure we get a back room.

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We needed somewhere to stay after a night out in Glasgow, and this was perfect thanks to the great location.

Positives:
- Location.
- Stunning lobby,
- Incredibly comfortable bed, possibly the best I've ever slept in.
- Good strong shower.
- Quiet at night, despite being at the front of the building on a Saturday night.

Negatives:
- Staff could have been a bit friendlier. There was no rudeness, but any exchanges were very business-like, which was surprising.
- We were promised "free WiFi" as part of our deal when booking, but it turned out that all guests get this. Obviously free WiFi is a great thing, but it shouldn't be used as a deal if it is in fact standard!
- The lift was broken for the duration of our visit. Not a problem for us as we are young(ish!) and were only one floor up, but wouldn't have been happy if I was older or had any mobility issues.

Overall a very positive experience and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FMac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is a lovely hotel and very hand for all shops and restaurants. The rooms are a good size but my only complaint is the noise. The windows seem not to keep any noise out and we felt as if our bed was outside in the bus stop. We were awake most of the night on and off between people shouting, cars and buses.

Room Tip: we were in room 121 - avoid if you want a nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnyscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, General Manager at Abode Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
THank you for taking the time to write some feedback after your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. Unfortunately there is very little we can do about the noise due to our location however when you return you could request a room facing Bath Lane or the middle of the hotel which will help.
Regards
Claire Pollock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Ok for the money. Reception and public spaces are fine with good period architecture.
Staff helpful and friendly and breakfast was efficient and good.
Very strong smell in the rooms I was assigned, which was quite overpowering and spoiled my visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, General Manager at Abode Glasgow, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for leaving some comments after your recent stay at Abode Glasgow.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and apologise about the smell, we would have been happy to show you some alternative rooms if you had brought this to the duty managers attention.
Regards
Claire Pollock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed just the one night on business. The hotel is in a good area and it a lovely old building. My room was huge and so was the bathroom. It's was well equipped but just starting to get a little tired. I didn't eat as I was off out with colleagues but it was fine. Parking is in a pay car park opposite which was expensive but the hotel give you a 25% discount code.

It was good... not great but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Godfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, General Manager at Abode Glasgow, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a few comments after your stay. I am glad you enjoyed it however would appreciate your comments on what would have made you stay great.
If you have time please drop me an email gmglasgow@abodehotels.co.uk
Kind regards
Claire Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Glasgow

Property: Abode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Abode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
Abode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing