We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and friendly atmosphere”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was booked by friends for a birthday celebration weekend. As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted by staff at reception and check in was a lovely experience. We had booked superior rooms which were lovely but not plush. Very comfortable beds, lovely large bathroom which was very clean and modern. Complimentary toiletries and tea coffee and biscuits. Excellent location right opposite the car park (discount available from hotel) and just round the corner from shops and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent from the continental choice and the hot breakfast choices, all very tasty. Will definitely be back as staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We were in room 204, very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Very strange in design. Thought it was very unique. If you consider yourself alternative this hotel is for you. The beds are very comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful at all times. Location is great, it's around the corner from Buchanan street. The only thing I would say negative about this hotel is that it is a little confusing to get around. Nothing really bad to say at all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank derek_oracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

For £75 this was just about acceptable. UK hotels are some of the most overpriced, underdelivering places to stay in the world, and this was no exception.
At least the toiletries weren't nailed to the wall.
However, no breakfast and £75...
The entrance and central lift is indeed resplendent, but I'm not sleeping in the lobby.
No water in the rooms, but plenty of glasses - the water in the taps was tepid...
The decor was a bit tired, chipped edges to paint, seal round the bath...etc.
I also didn't expect my window to be wide open when I got in - it was a cold night.
I didn't need an alarm to awaken me as the air in the water pipes did that for free. Not good.
Lots of potential, but for an extra £10 I could have stayed at the Malmaison, and probably will next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

In a world where new is considered better by most this hotel just refuses to be bullied. Purpose built hotels around the world all try to be different and only succeed in being the same. This hotel is has kept all it's original features from the old central lift to the hand embossed plaster on the main stairwell. If your coming to Glasgow to take in the city's amazing buildings it would be foolish to book anywhere else.
As with all older buildings, time and people leave they're mark and this building has a real lived in feel to it. The staff were absolutely fantastic and instantly made us feel at home and at ease. My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were made to feel very welcome. The staff went out of they're way to make sure we had an enjoyable night and they even suggested some great places to for and evening meal.
Our room was stunning, beautiful oak paneling, long flowing curtains which all made for a very cozy feeling in the middle of December. The breakfast was outstanding and was the kind of breakfast that you dream about. Black pudding, haggis, square sausages, tasty bacon and eggs anyway you want them.
In truth we could have stayed anywhere, but i am delighted we chose the Art House. If you want to stay somewhere a little different and from another time the this is the place to sleep. If you want the same old box room then stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you can get room 123 make sure you book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Found this an interesting hotel being converted from an old Glasgow Corporation building some years back. Well appointed airy rooms with high ceilings and everything you need for a comfortable stay. No early morning street noise, warm and cosy (mid December) and helpful staff. Few knocks on the door around 9am by room maids keen to get working but otherwise no issue. Would stay again. We did not use the restaurant or bars. Loved the old fashioned lift with its rear waterfall!! Quirky.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

90 a room so I wasn't expecting the ritz. The location is good, the entry area is quiet unusual and the main stairs. The rooms are basic and mine showed a lot of wear in the carpets and bathroom.
Bed was very soft, shower was good. No minibar or water in the room.
Breakfast was quiet good.

For a one night, late arrival early departure it was fine. I wouldn't stay for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your Tripadvisor review.

We value all feedback here at The Arthouse, and I personally would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your stay whilst you where resident with us.

In each bedroom we have an in-room directory which outlines the refreshments we have here at the hotel, and my team and I would have delivered mineral water to you room on request.

Although of no consequence to you we are commencing replacement of bedroom carpets In our bedrooms in the first quarter of 2014.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is the most expensive yet worst hotel I have stayed in all year! When we arrived soaking wet, the room was in chaos with pillows on the floor and bed not made. We were given a drink in the bar and eventually got in. Then it was cold. To be fair, I was cold having been sat in wet clothes in the bar. There is no radiator in the room but we were eventually given a portable heater that worked and eventually the wall aircon/heater got a very noisey slightly warm. The wet room stays very, very wet with a big puddle in front of the sink and toilet that stayed for the whole of our stay. The entrance to the hotel for wheelchair users is not flat and you have to be accompanied by staff every time you want to go in or out of the building. The bed was too low and too soft with a wooden board slotted under the mattress. We had to ask for coffee and shampoo. At £100 per night I expect coffee and shampoo in the room. The room was also very dark.

Room Tip: The disabled room is big and has a wheel-in shower with flip down seat. The carpets are old and ener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheellyFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,556 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
5,534 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £66 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing