We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in the City centre”
Review of Abode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Glasgow
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great find in the City centre”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay in the Arthouse, booked at the last minute for a one night getaway. The room wasn't large but it was unusual, double height ceiling due to a large stained glass window, really quirky. There are a number of quirky features in this hotel, the old fashioned cage lift, the golden lion rampant's on the walls, really nice.
Breakfast was very good, service a bit slow but definitely worth the wait.
Staff were very good, would recommend and will go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ochils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    329
    222
    99
    54
See reviews for
58
501
64
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Although this is the first time I have stayed here I have fond memories of a Champagne lunch here a few years ago after collecting a cheque for half million pounds. Sadly the restaurant is now closed, and seems only to be used for breakfast for hotel residents.

The focus of the hotel has to be the beautiful rebuilt cage lift in the centre of the building. My contribution to keeping fit is to walk up stairs rather then take lifts, but I gladly made an exception here: delightful.

The rooms are large with minimalist decor in neutral colours. My only real quibble is a queen sized bed in a very large room: a king would work better.

Staff were friendly and efficient, and breakfast was good. A good choice in this part of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had an enjoyable stay here (14/2-16/2) and was quite happy with the rate that I paid, booked through Hotel Connexions. £80 B&B per night was exactly half the hotel's online rate, so for a 4 star city centre hotel, it was the best deal around, especially as it was Valentine's weekend.
Parking opposite in a multi-story (Q-Park) with 24 hrs coming in at £20. Reception give you a ticket to get 25% off whatever your hourly stay comes in at.
The interior is very quirky, with dark mood lighting throughout. Small reception area, with bar/lounge/breakfast room off to the right. Old fashioned lift to upper floors, with bedrooms off behind doors on each landing.
Our room was just big enough (311) with a pretty small bathroom. Everything worked fine, bed very soft, but surprisingly comfortable. Bathroom was a little tired, but given the room rate paid, no issues with that. The hotel has different level of room size and finish- I guess we were at entry level, but for the money paid, still a bargain.
Staff helpful and very friendly.
Breakfast pretty good, with an excellent choice of menu items.
Full breakfast was plentiful, but the link sausages were really poor quality- processed, and tasted of nothing. Shame, because the haggis, black pudding and bacon were fine.
One thing I didn't enjoy, was the lack of comfortable seating in the bar area. The only seats were basically the table and chairs when the area was used as a dining room. A few comfy sofas with low tables would make a huge difference. There are a couple just outside, opposite the reception, but not very comfy, and a bit too public.
This is a city centre hotel, and with that goes noise at night. Its a busy area, Sauchiehall St is just around the corner, and there is a night club just up from the hotel (Kushion?)
Yes I heard some late night revellers, and some police sirens etc, but I'm quite accepting of that, given the location. I did hear a couple of guest requesting rooms moves, but hey, what do you expect?
Would I stay again? - Yes, definitely.
Would I rush back< Hmm, not so sure....

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up if night nose bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My fiance booked the Arthouse for a two night stay as my birthday present this year. Having only been to Glasgow fleetingly in the past, I thought the hotel was in a good location in relation to the city centre and train station. The facade of the building was impressive, as was the elevator (art deco), and the landings for each floor. The corridors leading to the rooms were all hidden off of the landings, which made it feel quiet and neat. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and polite when we arrived.

Our room was tastefully decorated, spacious and had everything we needed for a two-night stay. There was lots of helpful information in the room, although the instructions on how to get onto the wireless seemed a little out of date? We ordered room service one night, which came promptly and was appetising. The bathroom had been made to fit the shape of the building and the room but apart from the temperature dial not seeming to reflect the actual temperature of the water it was completely adequate.

Breakfast... the staff were very helpful and friendly and took our order quickly. However, on the first morning we ended up leaving after waiting for a long time, and then watching people have their breakfast served who had come in AFTER us. The staff were apologetic when we said we were leaving, but it seemed as though there was little communication between them to identify people who were still waiting. The second morning saw our breakfast being served, but after a considerable wait. When it arrived it was decent, but not sure that it needed so long to prepare...

Would we go again? I would go back because of the location and knowing the rooms are comfortable. I would consider paying for room only and find somewhere else to have breakfast though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has much more character than the run-of-the -mill corporates, and has a personal feel to it.
The entrance, stairs and lift are beautiful, and a credit to the early 1900 architecture.
We stopped in a standard room which was basic, but comfortable (perfect for overnight stay).
The location is ideal for city access.
The only negative was the breakfast. We waited an hour from ordering, and then it was the wrong order. The waiting-on staff were apologetic and polite throughout.
The delay was explained by reception as being due to everyone arriving for breakfast at the same time. A hotel should have the capacity to cope with such an event.
On the whole it did not affect us too much as we were not in any particular rush. It is the only thing they could improve on.
Would stay again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ewoodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night mid-January and overall we would probably not choose to stay here again. Although the entrance to the hotel and imposing lift shaft are impressive, I found the bed uncomfortable to sleep. We had a room on the ground floor, next to the kitchen area. I would agree with one of the previous reviewers that the rooms felt a little tired. For the price, there are many other similar quality hotels in Glasgow which would offer a more pleasant stay. I've rated the hotel 3/5 mainly due to the great shower (which is steamy hot!) and the excellent breakfast menu on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step_hen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed just the one night in January but really liked it :) the hotel has a really nice feel to it and the breakfast was amazing! The wee lift and waterfall down the stairs is a nice touch too.. Would definitely stay again. Great location and the staff were lovely too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellin-Scottish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Glasgow

Property: Abode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
Abode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing