We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, if you get the right deal”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, if you get the right deal”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a cool hotel in a very good location. The decor is unique and the rooms are as far from the standard Holiday Inn as you can get, especially the incredibly high ceilings.

Breakfast was fairly standard, and the public places are small. The main reasons you would stay are for the funky style and the central location.

The main downside was the price. We paid £265, but there was a concert in town that night and hotel rooms seemed to be at a premium. At that price, it was not good value. At somewhere around £120-£150 it would be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazakh_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    343
    228
    101
    56
See reviews for
62
525
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First impressions are good, the waterfall and lift are super nice! Apart from that the rooms aren't all that. I was expecting more for what I paid! Never one to complain about anything really but first time ive encountered staff where some just seem a little rusty on customer service? Got given breakfast in my room but no morning or how are you (just little things like that)... just where do you want it and enjoy your breakfast on the way out. Apart from the girl on reception with the red hair didn't catch her name but she is a credit to your hotel, so lovely. Couldn't do enough for you and nothing was a problem. Even asked if i needed a taxi when i checked out.

Breakfast was nice though.
Location was good for where I needed to be, and not far at all from anything.

The room itself was pretty.... basic. I was expecting more. The bed was comfy and I never sleep in hotels but I got some sleep in a hotel for the first time in years! My room looked out the front onto the gym opposite and the street got a bit noisey at night from people coming and going from bars e.t.c but nothing too bad. It was the weekend after all so couldnt expect it to be dead silence.

The bathroom was like a box, could just about turn in it. But as I was alone that wasn;t much of a problem I was expecting something bigger though. The bath was a short one I think.... again suited me fine cuz i'm short but if you're tall don't think you would be able to 'relax' in it. My cupbaord door was half hanging off, as was my toilet seat 'loose' but didn't bother reporting it because I only stayed for 2 nights and it was something I could live with.

Room was clean, but not spotless. A few hairs in the bath and the bathroom floor needed like it could do with a good clean but the bedroom and bathroom otherwise was spotless.

I might stay again if i booked further in advanced and maybe got a good deal but wouldnt pay almost £200 for 2 nights again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for over 2 months whilst working in Glasgow.
All the staff I met were warm and friendly. It actually felt like home and I was made to feel this way by the staff. There are some fantastic rooms with high ceilings and stain glass windows. A very unique hotel.
Rob Jones , Sheffield.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robjones036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled down from Aberdeen for the Cup final last weekend. The staff were great we arrived early and asked them to store our luggage until check in time. They let us check in at 9am which was brilliant our room was nice and very clean, and lovely fluffy white towels in the bathroom. Comfy bed aswell we had some drinks at the bar reasonable prices. I had sticky toffee pudding on our last night mmmmm would definitely recommend and stay again :-D

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shanedavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a night here with friends. Friendly and pleasant staff. Room clean, nice bathroom. Bed uncomfortable. Far too soft and moved around. In our friends room the curtains where hanging off. The lift is old fashoned type. It is a nice feature but kept breaking down. Thought £110 was a bit expensive for the room with breakfast but close to city centre and a Saturday i suppose.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

we stayed here 25th Feb, we had been looking forward to the stay,
but sadly very disappointed, we booked through booking.com and feel because of this we were given a tiny room at the top, which had not been used for a while, the bathroom shelf was covered in dust, the paint work also covered in dust, the bathroom door was filthy, not seen a clean in a long while. you could not turn atound in the bathroom, the furniture very outdated and all scratched.

we did not get much sleep for the traffic and from the local bars, all night, choose somewhere else if you want peace sleep

The bar did not have any draught lager, si he purchsed 2 small bottles at the charge of £7.00



the hotel eas very quite and I am sure we could have had better room (clean )

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jose6250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is an interesting building with a caged lift which fitted in well with the old building.
The location is quite good as Glasgow is so easy to get around with most places of interest being within walking distance.
The staff are all very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was varied with plenty of choice and fresh juice. The staff on at breakfast were very efficient and polite.
The hotel is advertised as having a celebrity chef restauarant but this no longer operates and it is just a fast food snack outlet. We didn't have anything and so cannot comment on the quality but had intended to eat a special meal in the hotel but did not want the fast food style options available.
The room was quite small but perfectly adequate however there was a lack of storage space with only a small hanging space, no wardrobe and too few hangers. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped, clean and pleasant. The room was high with large windows but no view.
The disadvantage of the room at the back meant that there was a noisy air conditioning or ventilation chimney just outside the window and so if I went again I would avoid a room in this area, (107).
All in all, despite the aforesaid couple of points it was good value, pleasant and conveniently situated.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noisy ventilation chimney at the back or take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,127 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Property: ABode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing