We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Abode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abode Glasgow
Ranked #44 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had a small room and even smaller bathroom (the bath wasn't long enough to lie in). It was also very stuffy, but too noisy to keep the window open all night. The bedroom furniture was cheap and shabby. The paint in the bathroom was yellowing and chipped, and the door stuck. Also, the light above the mirror in the bathroom didn't work.

I'd been seduced by the photos into thinking it was a stylish boutique hotel. But the room was desperately in need of upgrading, and I was very disappointed. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sevyerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    327
    221
    100
    54
See reviews for
58
499
64
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have stayed in glasgow on many occasions and this was my 3 rd return visit to the arthouse. . By far the best visit yet . We arrived with 2 other couples to a lovely welcome and a fantastic surprise . Free upgrade to the master suite . The room was huge.. Would always choose the arthouse now over any other and have stayed in all the top name hotels in the city. If you are visiting for a weekend break this is a great location in the heart of the city . Breakfast was amazing as always . Thanks again for the great weekend . Have ticked Execellent fitness please note that I don't think there are fitness facilities but didn't want to tick terrible as I'm. Not 100% sure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveholidays025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff was very helpful and smiling. The cleannes of the room vas very good.
Sleept lika a baby in a cosy bed and linings.
I will defenatly stey there a again .
This was my 4 time to stay and Arthouse:)

Room Tip: rooms that have a window to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed Sunday until Thursday for work. Central location on the doorstep of everything you could want on a trip to Glasgow. The hotel is lovely with possibly the comfiest beds ever in a hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked in here after checking out of another hotel and managed to get The Arthouse within 15 minutes of trying.

Great choice. We were welcomed by the lovely Dylan and his colleague Miss Pollock (sorry don't know her first name) who couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome. They are both a credit to the hotel. Also, more than happy to advise us on the local restaurants and make the necessary reservations on our behalf.

The room was on the third floor and it was just lovely. The building itself is retro, great character and smack bang in the middle of everything - there is a multi storey car park directly opposite the hotel, so no problems with parking either.

We will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeeGeesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked at the last minute.
Hotel front desk was friendly and informative - directing us to a fabulous whisky bar and from there to a Thai restaurant. We had a boozy but wonderful night out.
The hotel's atmosphere is quirky and as the name suggests a bit arty. The room as comfortable with a decent bathroom.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which was fine but I could hear a truck from the bedroom window durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Staff were rude, bathroom was dirty. I would not recommend this hotel. Check in was slow and I was disappointed in the room, not worth the money at all. I have stayed in many hotels I glasgow and I can say the attitude of the staff especially our housekeeper was Terrible. However the food in the restaurant was ok, but way overpriced. The only good thing that I can think of was that the lift was quite a nice feature






Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Glasgow

Property: Abode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
Abode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing