We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,helpful staff and great location”
Review of Abode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abode Glasgow
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly,helpful staff and great location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a commonwealth games package. 4 adults and 2 kids. Staff could not do enough to help us. They were friendly, helpful and had some great local knowledge which helped with our trip. The hotel was in an ideal location, reasonably priced and convenient parking for a city centre.
Hotel had a unique look and feel and was comfortable to stay in.
A great trip and returning to this hotel after a long day at the games was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    334
    226
    99
    54
See reviews for
59
510
65
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for two nights for the Commonwealth Games, having booked a games package and been allocated The Art House. Positives: Great staff - all very friendly and helpful, ideally situated in the city centre and thus able to access games venues easily, as well as shops etc, great breakfast, lovely building. Negatives: slightly dated rooms, one, or two basic housekeeping issues, but dealt with by staff without fuss. Our room was adequate for a two night stay, because it was quite small and overlooked the kitchen, but we wouldn't like to have stayed for a week in that room. In fairness they offered us a change when we mentioned the minor housekeeping issues, but we were happy to stay put for such a short stay. Thank you to the staff. Really enjoyed Glasgow and the games.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the 24th July 2014, we were having a night out in Glasgow to celebrate our wedding anniversary so booked a superior double- all I can say is I would hate to see their most basic room if that was supposed to be a superior one! We stayed in rm 315 which was cramped, basic with rather tired decor and fittings. The bed was like a marshmallow which sank down as soon as you lay on it, so very uncomfortable.

The day we stayed was extremely hot, the AC system in our room wasn't working properly so we phoned reception to ask if someone could come up to fix it. When a man appeared, he said it was working fine, but that it was set to 19 degrees and could not go any lower. When we pointed out that the room was roasting and clearly warmer than 19, he said " just be glad you're not down in reception like me, it's boiling down there " then added " We're just not used to this weather in Glasgow". Despite us keeping the Ac on all night, the room was so hot we could not sleep.

This hotel has some nice features but the decor in General is a bit tired looking and it is not at all like a 4 star hotel, more like a 2 or 3 star at the most. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Couldn't fault the staff or the interior of the building on my visit and with a big car park just across the street (with discount), this has all the attributes to be a great boutique hotel at first sight. Unfortunately, the rooms (or mine, at least) were tired with furniture looking to have outstayed it's welcome and decor looking in need of a refresh. Perhaps unforgivably, given the ABode link, the restaurant no longer functions in the evening. Breakfast was fine, so they've not completely closed the kitchen but this hotel now fails to meet the romantic couples venue and the businessman's hotel venue target, so it's difficult to see what clientele they wish to attract.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morphaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Here for 3 weeks over the games - 1st week gone. Knowing that my room was not booked on a deal and given the length of my stay slightly disappointed that I wasn't upgraded like the rest of the reviewers seem to have been but hey it is Commonwealth Games time. The hotel is nice in a spectacular building. Bed extremely comfortable and bed linen extremely good quality. Little bit of attention needed to housekeeping but anything I have asked for - has been given immediately and with a smile. I find the staff all lovely but just wish that the restaurant staff would take into account that there are foreigners and they just need to slow down a bit when asking for their breakfast order or explaining what's on offer! What disappoints me though is the food. I am at a loss when in Scotland and there is an abundance of fresh red fruit which is the cheapest you'll get it for at any time in the year, that every morning since I've arrived I have faced a gradually decreasing bowl of pineapple and melon! This is a wonderful time to showcase the hotel and Scottish produce - what a shame that we are being served the same bland fruit everyday. I have eaten in the restaurant twice in the evening - the food is frankly not good. With one meal I know that my seasonal selection of mixed veg came out of a frozen bag! Eggs served in the morning - well least said soonest mended. But, please don't be put off coming here (unless it's for a gastronomic extravaganza). This is a great place to stay in an unbeatable location.

Room Tip: No minibars or fridge to keep things cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewangillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Abode for just one night while in town for a conference. The location was excellent (not too far to walk from the airport shuttle bus stops), and the building is very impressive (lovely original features). The staff were very friendly and helpful.

My room was on the third floor - at the front of the building, and as the weather was hot, I did need to open the window for some air, which did mean quite a bit of street noise. However, fortunately I eventually got the air con to work, which mean peace and quiet and a cool room - great news! The room was, in my opinion, a bit tired, but it sufficed.

The restaurant is very much geared towards breakfast service - and the breakfast is good - but should be for the price! However I wouldn't recommend that you eat an evening meal here - perhaps just a quick drink before heading out - as the food is disappointing.

Overall, a good nights sleep though - and I would come back to the Abode (Arthouse) if in Glasgow again.

Room Tip: Top floor room to avoid the noise - and probably at the back of the hotel where you won't get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballogie, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here on business and was impressed. I got upgraded to a junior suite which was very spacious. Bed great. Breakfast was excellent and very generous. Would definitely stay here again. Its an old historic building and they have kept many original features

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,245 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Glasgow

Property: Abode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
Abode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing