We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern remix of an great old building”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen , Scotland.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely modern remix of an great old building”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Great modern twist on a wonderful old building, awesome gated lift to all floors.
All staff are very friendly and helpful.
Great location for city center.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    343
    228
    101
    56
See reviews for
61
525
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We used a weekend special offer that gave us 4 star accommodation at 3 star prices.
Central location; walking distance to all central museums.
Grill bar restaurant busy early evenings with local office workers having drinks and meals
layout and access may not suit wheelchair users (half of rooms have steps to the lift)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireExile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

we returned on sunday from a weekend stay in the abode.It is a superb hotel,full of original features,architecture and character.It's a mix of classic and ultra modern..We experienced the autumn break offer of dinner,bed and breakfast,absolutely fabulous cuisine and surroundings and huge value for money.We wouldn't stay anywhere else now. fantastic all round.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biba-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Dirty curtains, uncomfortable bed, strange tasting food. Not particularly good for anything.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applejack28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Having been keen to try Abode in Glasgow with my husband and sample Michael Caines food, it was with extreme diappointment that 3 telephone calls to the hotel failed to secure a booking.

On each occasion I was advised to call back as the 'Christmas Co-ordinator' was not in and no-one seemed to be able to take a booking for only 2 persons either for a meal or an overnight. Reception staff aparently have no access to the booking system and rather than someone come back to me (standard customer care practice) I was advised on each occassion that I had to call back.

Clearly an establishment that is not interested in either bookings nor cusomers - time to take my business eslewhere I think.

I ahve had to rate this hotel as a 1 star in order to submit this review but clearly I would have rated it as having no stars as I haven't been given the opportunity to visit.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

this was a perfect hotel to land in with our jet lag and cuddle up and sleep. bed was super comfortable. everything is very convenient and clean and the staff are super helpful. it's an easy walk to the commercial/shopping/train/art museum. i would absolutely recommend the hotel. charming!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_MamaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston super mare
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

i have stayed here 3-4 times and this really is a great hotel! The building itself is stunning and the rooms are well equipped. The last time I stayed I had a card in my room from the manager welcoming me back and the reception team upgraded me to a suite and its these personal touches that set this hotel apart. I have never eaten in the restuarant but the room service is excellent and always fresh. For me there is no other option in Glasgow!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woney1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,127 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Property: ABode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing