We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

City Aparthotel Glasgow
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Aparthotel Glasgow
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Just returned from a weekend in the City Aparthotel and will never return. Very disappointed with the service, the room and especially the breakfast. Upon arrival we were immediately told we had to pay for our room in advance which had we seen before hand would not have stayed in. It was tiny. A double bed squeezed into a single room. Impossible for two people to walk around at the same time. No additional pillows or blankets and our room overlooked an alley allowing people from the overlooking offices to see in.
Next came the bathroom - wonky taps, freezing water and couldn't swing a cat in it.
The hotel advertised a continental breakfast! We were directed to a basement room with a table of food. Pathetic! A few gone of crossiants, pasteries and rotten bananas. We had to make coffee in paper cups. No cereal or orange juice.
Overall we had a horrible experience in this hotel. The reception staff were rude and not very helpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and believe you can get alot nicer hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank walker456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2008

Lovely staff , clean hotel , felt really comfortable even though the room was a little small but that really didnt matter, there are bigger rooms in the hotel look of the drawer... a minute walk from sauchiehall street perfect reasonably priced... free tea and coffee making facilities in room and also in residents lounge available all day and free complimentary drinks one arival in room ...definetley will be staying there next time in Glasgow wouldnt think of looking for anywhere else ..

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank katm1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Checked in on sat 17th nov, to be told had overbooked the hotel by 26 rooms ( they have a 53 capacity ), we had booked 2 rooms and we were told would have to share or go to another hotel in Paisley they had sourced rooms from due to their incompetence. we had specifically chosen the hotel for it's location as we were going to a concert that night in Glasgow, and with no prior warning and lump or it leave it attitude we accepted the change. We left the hotel to get something to eat, came back 4 hours later to get changed and discovered another guest's bag in the room which we thought was each others..we again complained about this, the manager was very apologetic and gave us a lift to the concert venue in the hotels limo..However the final nail in coffin was the noise that came from outside ( I know it's central and Saturday night in Glasgow , but have they heard of double glazing, ..??!! ), coupled with a 4am wake up call with the night duty manger followed by another guest, ( who after letter of a apology was ascertained to be owner of bag left )..the hotel's decor is very modern and chic but you can tell has been done in hurry as hot tap in our room was wonky and hot water running through the cold , which we found out was due to an old boiler system..??!! And the awful breakfast offered - on booking on internet we were told was scottish breakfast, but found out all was on offer was horrible processed continental one, which if had been made and offered in right manner would have appeased our anger and disappointment slightly..apparently was our internet booking site's fault for mis-information, however, the signs directing you to the " Breakfast Room " from reception raised hopes of comforting and delectable fare...on arrival of said room were we met with dark and dingy basement space( that would not have looked out of place in any small office) , that had four or five office like tables and chairs squashed togethe with a larger table housing an office coffe machine and pre-packaged pastries...If this hotel's marketing and concept is aimed at the demographic that would use the likes of the Somerset Apartments ( now Fraser Suites ) in Albion Street , Merchant City ( which I have stayed at and are far superior ), then they really need to start from scratch, not only by recruiting and retaining experienced and well trained staff, but by an overhaul of hotel's layout, presentation etc.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blondebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Stayed in this hotel Nov 07 to aid a christmas shopping trip to Glasgow.

Hotel is nice, very good location, just round the corner from Kings Theatre and maybe 200metres from Sauchiehall Street.

You dont have to walk far for a wide selction of bars and restaurants - the hotel had discount vouchers for bar Budda maybe 250 metres away that got you a 15% discount, so dinner with a cpl of drinks was only £22.

The room itself was nice, maybe not the biggest ever but not cramped - Plasma telly and complimentary mini bar with red and white wine, whisky and gin in decanters, as well as water and tonic water were a welcome touch.

The express breakfast which is included in the room rate was more than adequuate, coffee, croissants, pastries and muffins on a self service basis.

Staff were very friendly and couldnt be faulted.

As for the rate, we paid £60.56 for thru bookinhotels.com (sourced thru Kelkoo). I asked when checking out what the rate is if phoned direct, and was told it varies between £79 and £109 per night so our rate was a bit of a bargain.

I would deffo go back again

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Great location (2 mins from sauchiehall street!) Great room, great staff. Room was a bit on the small side but we were only sleeping there! out and about most of the time! Free mini bar was limited but the wine went down a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiteke85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We requested a quiet room on resevation. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to an apartment 3minutes walk from the hotel which we accepted - big mistake! The apartment itself was fine, clean , spacious and simply furnished. However the noise from the many bars and clubs nearby penetrates right through the building ( granted it was a Saturday night) . The racket went on until well after 4am after which we were disturbed by noise from drunken revellers returning to the flats. In the morning the main entrance door was smashed and beer bottles decorated the lift. It is possible that rooms in the main hotel are ok as they are on a quieter street and the building is of substantial stone and looked to have been well upgraded - we certainly regret the free upgrade and wish we had stayed in a room here as booked instead

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cumbriansKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

This hotel looks great on the webpage and the set-up looked idea. Yes there wasn't a restaurant but it had a central location and boasted deluxe interior design with high speed internet, flat screen TVs, alarm clocks and DVD players.

In reality the internet connection was either slow or broken until the night before we left, there was no DVD player in the rooms, the mini bar was limited (although complementary for the first night) and the alarm clock was attached to the mains which meant that everytime you left the room taking out your card the alarm had to be manually reset. So all in all the TV was as described.

We had some problems with both check-in and check-out but the staff did try to fix these, although not in the most timely manner.

The bed was very comfy but tight on the size of the room. If two people were staying in the room together you'd have to get on very well together.

For the price and a central location this hotel is fine but it wasn't what I expected from this well-reputed chain.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Memphisrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Aparthotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Aparthotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland (Formerly Theatre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
City Aparthotel Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
City Aparthotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing