We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in an amazing City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing hotel in an amazing City”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Amazing City and amazing hotel at Glasgow - We stayed at Glasgow for 1 day, after Edinburgh and had a grt time here - Friendly and helpful staff and a much bigger room with then expected and a great bath tub made the stay comfortable. Walkable distance to many locations on our itinerary

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shreybawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    798
    340
    102
    63
See reviews for
294
676
76
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Glasgow is amazing and if you are visiting for a day or two, ensure that your hotel is good as you would want to cover most in a single day
Stayed at Glasgow for a day, after Edinburgh and had a nice and comfortable stay here
We got a very good deal here also
Hotel is very very close to the Glasgow city centre and is also near the Central Station and and provides on-site car parking and wireless internet (if you request the reception for a code, they will give free also)
swimming pool was closed

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked a weekend in Glasgow and got a great DBB deal at he Marriott. Friendly reception staff and a lovely large room with 2 double beds. Complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits and the usual toiletries all made for a comfortable stay. Good choice at breakfast and the dinner menu was excellent could not fault it. Staff in restaurant provided the necessary information on choice of wines so full marks to well informed and attentive staff. A most enjoyable stay and one we will be repeating in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuttersister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It's a chain hotel, its big, there are lots of guests, lots of functions, it can get things wrong, but on this occasion it ticked all the boxes, well except one but even a worldwide hotel chain can't control the weather - can it? This isn't a review of our first visit to the Glasgow Marriott, if it was it wouldn't be a particularly glowing one. On that occasion there were a number of problems, but that is in the past, and after this most recent stay, the distant past. On this stay we could find little to fault with the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room on the tenth floor, it was clean, tidy and to me looked as if it had been redecorated in the last couple of years. The staff were very pleasant, attentive and helpful; a major change from my first experience at this hotel. Breakfast was good, the hot buffet served the standards (sausage, bacon, egg, ect) and there was even a "Scottish" twist with porridge and whisky available. The minor criticisms I can make are: limited selection of beers in the bar; even although there is a large car park it's difficult to find a space; and the recommended height for a guest having a shower is under 6 foot tall, otherwise you're in sore head/neck territory. Finally, we stayed at this hotel for a pre-Christmas shopping break - it's not a particularly close hotel to the main shopping area, but is a reasonably easy walk in good weather - not so good in the rain and head on wind!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I'm going to have a moan at Tripadvisor now and this will be a recurring one because it's starting to annoy me. Having a scale of 1-5 stars which jumps from average to very good feels like too much of a blunt instrument to me. Can we please graduate to marks out of 10?

Anyway, to the hotel, which is certainly better than average. The Marriott is good and deserves its official 4-star rating. It's reasonably central, like 10 minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station. It's near the river and, although it is very close to the motorway that snakes through the middle of the city, the traffic noise is not a problem. All rooms are effectively quadruple glazed, with 2 sets of double glazing which can be opened for ventilation. We had a deluxe room which was quite spacious and had a queen-sized and very comfortable bed. Interestingly enough, we had to change rooms soon after we arrived but I didn't see this as a detractor. We weren't happy with the room we had (internal noises from somewhere), phoned down to reception and, within 5 minutes were met by the concierge and rehoused. Very good service.

Breakfast is buffet-style and was very well-appointed as a full Scottish affair, including potato cakes and haggis, but there was a slight issue. We stayed at the weekend and the hotel is quite busy. In fact they have notices on the ground floor saying that breakfast is served from 7-12 and gets busy between 9-11. Clearly they are encouraging people to breakfast outside of peak hours. Both days we had a short wait to be seen to a table, which wasn't too much of a problem, but we did notice that quite a few tables took time to be cleared. I think one more extra staff or better organisation could have sorted that out.

Another reason that this hotel didn't quite hit top marks was that the water pressure wasn't that brilliant, a bath took ages to fill, and I think that's the sort of thing they should be trying to address. The decor was fine in the place but generally I think the hotel is maybe showing its age.

Reception staff were all excellent and the room was spotlessly clean.

I would recommend people to use the Marriott as overall we enjoyed our stay.

I would also recommend the Piccolo Mondo restaurant which is less than 5 minutes walk away up Argyle Street - make a reservation and eat there when you stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you are happy with the room you are allocated and if you're not, let them know and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here for a short conference. I must say the Marriott bed and pillows are some of the comfiest for great hights sleep. Good breakfast and staff throughout were very helpful. I used the health club ( not pool) and was impressed with the range of equipment.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stay here on a regular basis for business and I can honestly say that it is a good place to be. The staff are great and service is second to none. Rooms are comfortable and the beds the best around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoeWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,251 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
2,043 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing