We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some concerns!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but some concerns!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spent Fri/Sat night in the Marriot with family including a 12 and 9 year old. Friendly staff and large well kitted out room, 2 king sized beds, large flat screen etc, all clean and in good condition. Only ate in hotel at breakfast which was excellent, great choice of everything with fried fare all high quality. Did pity the poor souls who were queueing all the way around to the lift to get a table but this was a result of turning up at 10.45am for a breakfast that ends at 11am!
Nice bar/seating area with what seemed to be a good selection of snacks, if a little over priced (£5 for a bacon roll?). Location perfect for central Glasgow and parking at hotel £8/day is reasonable.
This takes me to my negatives. In-room media includes all your normal free view and then a chargeable film section. Leaving the speciality section aside, all the family films are charged at £7.50 which for Johnny English reborn was acceptable, as it's still in the cinema, but Back to the Future and all the other bargain bin DVDs on offer seemed a bit of a rip off. And speaking of taking advantage £15 for a days wifi, or I think £6 per hour, is completely over the top as many other quality family hotels provide this free.
Now for the swimming pool/leisure centre. Saying its part of the hotel is strictly true but being on the 5th floor this involved taking the lift down to the 1st floor then walking down another 2 flights just to climb up what I think was 4 flights. It certainly promotes fitness as the act of getting to the pool burnt off the fried breakfast.
There it is. I got a good deal £85/night for us all B&B and even managed to use some Tesco vouchers. I'd definitely use again as my gripes can be avoided and probably will.
As for Glasgow as a city I'm biased being born there (haven't lived there in 35 years) but it has a real buzz lacking in other Scottish cities and in the absence of the pretentiousness!

Room Tip: I'd say the higher the better and facing East over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    792
    333
    99
    60
See reviews for
286
667
76
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights. It was okay place with good spread of breakfast and food options in the restaurant. Room service was also good and the complementary gymnasium facility was amazing. The rooms are quite spacious but the old settings at times make them feel impersonal. I found Hilton which was just 5 minutes away to be a better option. Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Good hotel even though it is big and could feel impersonal it was perfectly friendly with good staff. Only slight gripe was the hum of air conditioning (not in our room) and not being able to open a window. Be careful not to get fined for using the car park - pay for parking at the hotel reception on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Up in Glasgow for the weekend, we got a great deal from Marriott and were delighted. The hotel is not located in the best place, down near the river and access bridges for the M8 motorway but you didn't hear traffic with the windows shut and we completely forget the surroundings when inside.
All the staff were chatty, helpful and attentive to our needs. Our room was well finished and spotlessly clean. If I have one gripe it is that you could slightly feel some bedsprings through the mattress but only down by my feet so not a problem.
We ate in the bar lounge area twice and the food was of good quality and quantity as well as being tasty. Breakfast for extensive and it was good to taste haggis again!
Definitely a hotel to return to in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navigatornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Excellent location and great facilities at this Marriot.

We stay at this hotel if staying over in Glasgow and it always meets our needs wonderfully. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable with a great bed and a good sized bathrooms. The restaurant and bars are of a good standard although drinks at the bar are a little expensive, service is very good though.

An excellent base for a shopping our theatre weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdonaldm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

A business trip funded by employer. Welcome reception, swift check in by polite reception staff and a lovely clean and comfortable room all made my night away from home much more acceptable. Food in the hotel was excellent and plentiful. The hotel hosted a full days meeting the next day for over 40 delegates and coped well with providing for everyone's needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1-Dizzy-Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Clean room, clean bed, clean bathroom. What more could you want?
Well, we had more! We arrived in Glasgow around noon and we were able to immediately check in. That night at the meeting we had to go to we received flowers, a huge set of them. The next day we were leaving for Inverness and had no idea how to transport the flowers. Elaine at the front desk was so helpful with talking to the florist, Leslie, who then helped us wrap up the flowers for our trip. This was above and beyond! Thank you Marriott!

Room Tip: The top floors allow you to see some of the city and if you are worried about outside noise you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,210 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 95 in Glasgow
2,018 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing