We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 October 2012

All round this is a good hotel in a pretty central location, it was clean and had a decent (free) leisure club with pool. However what sets it apart are the universally tremendous staff. We were looked after from start to finish. Reception were friendly and knowledgeable on the local area. Restaurant staff were a class apart and we really enjoyed our meal with great food in a relaxing atmosphere. Would reccomend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyinthepieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Everything ok, no complaints but nothing special. Rooms are so so. Bathroom small and narrow. Can't stand in the shower or stretch my arms in the bath.
For one business night ok but not one more. Can't open window.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stay here weekly on business and I have to say the customer experience gets better and better. Lazarus the Maitre d in the restaurant is very friendly and attentive. In the bar the staff are very efficient and polite always stopping to ask about your day. Carly is excellent at maintaining a swift service in the bar even when things are busy and she greats every customer personally. Credit to the staff at this Marriott for making your stay extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBadDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We are just back from a long weekend stay here. The reception staff were excellent - very professional yet so friendly. Our room was very much comparable to the Glasgow Hilton with really comfortable beds. It was clean and the complementary toiletries were of good quality.
The breakfast was lovely and quick service again made it an enjoyable experience.
The only reason this review didn't get an excellent was due to the fact that the leisure facilities are a bit if a hike away - and with a son who always wanted to be at the pool, I wish it had been closer.
It is near to town but a taxi fare is the best bet and quite cheap. Thanks Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here but had quite a few complaints which I will share.
1. Our room was noisy due to an airconditoning on the roof (we think)
2. We had great difficulty findng the place in our car. We could see it!! but drove around the big block 3 times before we could find our way in. It needs to be sign-posted better.
3. When we arrived there were many many empty room service trays lying outside the doors that had probably been there for quite some time given how many there were.
4. The room service room with all the towels etc had its door permanently open and it was messy and not a good look immediately when you leave the elevator for your room.
5. When we woke up in the morning around 9am each door on our floor had a newspaper hanger bag with no newspaper.
6. The area outside the hotel was not very nice and I felt a little nervous walking around out there.
6. Breakfast was very minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Clean Hotel, restaurant staff helpful, could not say the same for night duty staff... Stayed there 1 or 2 timess a yr for 8+yrs when visiting Scotland. Sometimes (depending on clientelle) can be noisy in corridors and some occupiers invite locals into there room to carry on drinking. Had connecting room once and one of the party wakened us up,they kept knocking on the internal door(probably had too much to drink).Rang reception and explained they were drinking (could hear the clink of bottles all night) but no one came to see or hear the noise, had a stop over for 2/3 nights they left the room at 6am. In the morning told them abiout being kept awake and was moved to a higher floor for rest of our stay. Suggested in the feedback sheet that they employ night staff like the sister hotel Marriott Marquis in Manhattan, was told they couldn't, but they gave us a free night's stay for the next visit at the hotel. I suppose it would cost too much money, but you would feel safer knowing that security were in the hotel, especially if someone had gone to their door to complain????

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have been staying at the Glasgow Marriott 8+ years and always have excellent service from check in to check out. Everyone goes the the extra mile to please and to serve you, and make sure that your stay is memorable and special. Reluctantly checked out on Sunday morning but we will be checking back in on 25th for another week end!!!! Thank you Glasgow your special

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
3,450 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,202 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,369 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £61 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing