We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here on business. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was large, clean & warm which was nice as it was pretty chilly in November !
There is also a fitness centre, with a good sized pool and also sauna & steam room, so a good place to undwind after a long day.
I didnt eat in the hotel as had other business functions to attend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

I had the misfortune to dine at the Marriott in December over lunch. I parked in the car park and checked with reception who said I could pay on exit. after lunch and after 10 munites trying to work our the machine (i am normaly very computer litterate but either the machine was broken or very difficult to use) I gave up and drove off not paying the £1.50 charge but was in a hurry to my next meeting. two weeks latter i received a £100 fine after paying £45 for lunch. I complained by email and was told by the manager that as they had very few complaints and did not administer the car park no refund on my parking fine was available

I take this as a typical of exceptional poor customer service. in no other service sector would a company who has given out the wrong information or has systems that don't work allow a customer to be out of pocket. it's not the money but the principle and I recomend never using Marriott again. I know I will not

Stayed: December 2012
4  Thank Temptation10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Excellent service from friendly & helpful staff. The pool facilities are good and we had a lovely breakfast. Very good value for a family room. The room was a little smaller than we are used to in the USA but it didn't really matter. Hotel within easy walking distance of city centre & plenty of taxis if you don't want to walk.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzlethegrizzle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

As you first approach the Marriott it the outside could do with a paint job something that would make it fit in with the surrounding buildings. There are parking spaces for people that are staying in the hotel that are easily accessible. The lobby is very nice but the chairs are a bit dull and could be replaced. The rooms are very spacious and include a bath and shower, flat screen tv a desk and a king size bed, they are very clean rooms and the beds are amazingly comfy. The swimming pool is very warm and the changing rooms are very clean but it is a minutes walk to the pool from the changing rooms. The staff are very friendly and I would recommend staying there if you are planning to do a lot of shopping.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Nice hotel, very nice staff, but dated and tired looking. Good Bar food menu and great service. You get one hours free wi-fi in the lobby but after that you have to pay, £6 per hour it think. In this day and age charging for Wi-Fi is a thing of the past given that most of the people who were staying there during the week I stayed were business people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Room was cheap and clean for a 2 night stay in Glasgow. I would not pay anymore than the £145 (approximate total, 2ppl, 2nt, b&b) total that we paid. Reception friendly and helpful, breakfast good choice and between 7-12 so plenty of time to get there if you are hungover!!! Lounge comfortable and bar nice but boring. Corridors a little dated and shabby as was the overall exterior of the hotel. The pool area was nice to have use of but was a bit dull and dirty in appearance. All in all, you can't really argue as it is cheap and cheerful. Would stay again going over to Glasgow for a match or on business.

Room Tip: Good for the price as it is cheap if you look around, just chance your arm and ask for an upgrade bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for two nights with our daughter and it was great!yes the pool is a short 30 secs walk from the changing room but who cares it was good fun!the staff were fab esp the guy on the little desk at the restaurant on nye and again new years day morning,he is a credit to the hotel,thankyou and we will be coming again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,368 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,344 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £70 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing