We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't meet the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Where do we start? I don't know where some of Ethernet other reviewers are used to staying, but the Glasgow marriott was dreadful.
Check in- receptionist asks what sort of room do you want? A large quiet one I ask for, she gives me one overlooking the lifts & so small that I couldn't walk round the room without bumping into things.
Minibar? Screwed shut ! Decor? Dated and grubby.
I did raise it with reception to general indifference.
Every morning I woke at 5 as the room was so cold, the AC was too loud to have on whilst you sleep and seemed to have a whole new approach to climate control - none!
Breakfast was fine, you could even have whisky on your porridge if that's your bag. We were on a course and so were stuck there for lunch and dinner- the food at both was no-where near what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, it was no surprise that the restaurants was empty. It was so bad we managed to get approval from our company to go out for dinner despite them having paid for full board already.
The bar - managed the old trick of charging for drinks ordered but not poured and one colleague found a £24 misc charge on her bill. On the final day, lunch was so unappetising that I just gave up and went to the airport - it's gotta be bad if an airport weatherspoons is a more attractive option!
Checking out was probably the best experience of the 4 days there. All in all, I would never stay there again, and I am a Marriott gold member.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed overnight recently and enjoyed the comfort and facilities offered.
We have used several Marriott hotels in several countries and this establishment compares well with others we have used.
We would happily use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Once again Marriott excels itself, spotless room, spacious polite staff, food excellent hot and quick, cheap parking for a city center, this is why marriots is pulling away from Hilton where standards are slipping

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First visit to this hotel and very impressed with swift check-in, cleanliness of room and size of the bed. Only stayed one night but comfortable sized room and comfy bed. In the morning we used the pool and steam room before enjoying a breakfast where the choice was excellent.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have stayed here with three friends on a couple of occasions this year. We have requested and been given adjoining rooms so we were able to have the door between them open - very sociable!

Check-in is smooth, we've been able to leave our bags early and head off for shopping.

The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and breakfast is excellent with lots of choice.

The pool was somewhat disappointing, but other than that this is a great hotel for a weekend break for shopping, concerts, exhibitions etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Booked in for 2 nights but only stayed 1 night. The room was dated, the public area and bar was very basic and boring. When we asked to book a table for dinner was told the restaurant was closed for the whole weekend which we were not informed of when we booked. As we had a small child this mattered to us. Long queue in the morning for breakfast, the restaurant is far too small for the size of hotel. Expected so much better from a Marriott, For the 2nd night we checked into a well known hotel just next door which was superb and actually cheaper!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here for a weekend dance event. On arrival the reception and concierge staff were friendly and efficient. The bedroom was adequate, well appointed, comfortable and clean. The bed was particulary comfortable and so sleep was of good quality.

The restaurant food was excellent. I dined in the bar area on the Thursday and throughly enjoyed the more casual menu. The formal (event) dining menu was equally well thought out with vegetarian and diabetic choices available. All food served was fresh, well presented, served with courtesy and hot food was hot.

The fitness centre is excellent, again very friendly staff and good facillities, a very pleasant atmosphere and a reasonable sized pool. The Clyde suite is an excellent venue, large, well appointed, air conditionned and well maintained.

Location, the hotel is within a 10 minute (brisk) walk of the main shops, rail station and bars.

Overall, this hotel shone due to the exceptional nature of the staff...from chambermaids to event managers, everyone showed pride of service and true customer care, would reccommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: rooms facing the rear are quieter than those located facing the motorway (however decent accoustic g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,370 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,126 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £70 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing