We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel at a competitive price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel at a competitive price”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We really enjoyed our time at the hotel. The facilities were good, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and it is very convenient for the shops. The price was far lower than the Hilton next door as well as many of the competing 4* hotels. My only complaint would be to improve the heating in the lobby or address the draft...and provide lorne sausage at breakfast (unfortunately a surprising shortcoming at many Scottish hotels, guest houses, B&Bs).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKOK1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    811
    351
    104
    64
See reviews for
301
686
76
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Myself and a few friends went to Glasgow to watch a gig (two rooms - four of us in total). I had been told that these hotels were pretty shabby and for the price we paid, just over £200 in total, if I'm honest I didn't expect much. How wrong I was, OK it wasn't richely luxurious, but it was over and above my expectations.

The welcoming staff at reception so nice, with genuine smiles, relaxed manner and uncredibly helpful. The room was more than ideal for our needs, the pool and sauna, although it wasn't elegant marble wall to wall, again it was quiet, served our purpose and the other folk around the pool area were all chatty.

Breakfast was included and we were treated to a mammoth selection of traditional Scottish fry up and a selection of continental options. A stone later we left, never ate the rest of the day.

On the whole the hotel staff, room and services were perfect for us. We have already planned another trip back when we go to see some shows at the Celtic Connections.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from elevators for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Where do we start? I don't know where some of Ethernet other reviewers are used to staying, but the Glasgow marriott was dreadful.
Check in- receptionist asks what sort of room do you want? A large quiet one I ask for, she gives me one overlooking the lifts & so small that I couldn't walk round the room without bumping into things.
Minibar? Screwed shut ! Decor? Dated and grubby.
I did raise it with reception to general indifference.
Every morning I woke at 5 as the room was so cold, the AC was too loud to have on whilst you sleep and seemed to have a whole new approach to climate control - none!
Breakfast was fine, you could even have whisky on your porridge if that's your bag. We were on a course and so were stuck there for lunch and dinner- the food at both was no-where near what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, it was no surprise that the restaurants was empty. It was so bad we managed to get approval from our company to go out for dinner despite them having paid for full board already.
The bar - managed the old trick of charging for drinks ordered but not poured and one colleague found a £24 misc charge on her bill. On the final day, lunch was so unappetising that I just gave up and went to the airport - it's gotta be bad if an airport weatherspoons is a more attractive option!
Checking out was probably the best experience of the 4 days there. All in all, I would never stay there again, and I am a Marriott gold member.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline,scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed overnight recently and enjoyed the comfort and facilities offered.
We have used several Marriott hotels in several countries and this establishment compares well with others we have used.
We would happily use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Once again Marriott excels itself, spotless room, spacious polite staff, food excellent hot and quick, cheap parking for a city center, this is why marriots is pulling away from Hilton where standards are slipping

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First visit to this hotel and very impressed with swift check-in, cleanliness of room and size of the bed. Only stayed one night but comfortable sized room and comfy bed. In the morning we used the pool and steam room before enjoying a breakfast where the choice was excellent.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have stayed here with three friends on a couple of occasions this year. We have requested and been given adjoining rooms so we were able to have the door between them open - very sociable!

Check-in is smooth, we've been able to leave our bags early and head off for shopping.

The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and breakfast is excellent with lots of choice.

The pool was somewhat disappointing, but other than that this is a great hotel for a weekend break for shopping, concerts, exhibitions etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,290 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,071 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing