We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on business I normally stay in private rented apartments as you can please yourself and have privacy, but a colleague suggested I stay at the Marriott Glasgow.. I must stay what a disappointment it was ill stick with my private tented apartments. Miserable staff, rooms large and clean but have no amenities like water etc and the car parking charge is silly. Will never be back sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. Note rooms have terrible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    792
    333
    99
    60
See reviews for
286
667
76
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Very close to everything . Had a lovely large room. Had to pay extra for breakfast. The breakfast was very nice, the hotel was very busy. The toaster at breakfast had two settings pale or burnt. Overall I would stay there again. You do have to pay in the car park if you have a car with you, approx 8 pounds.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stunning hotel and our room was beautiful but unfortunately the room was freezing! So much so it kept us awake!

Service was excellent and food was lovely would recommend to friends as long as heating is turned on!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had tickets for the Andrea Bocelli concert at The Hydro and wanted a hotel within easy reach. Travelling from Edinburgh, the hotel was very easy to reach from the M8 - just turn off when you see the sign for the SECC. It then takes less than a minute to reach the hotel and stick the car into the car park.
Reception was quite busy as the hotel was hosting a large conference but thankfully plenty staff were on duty to help with getting the visitors registered. Our room was at the end of a corridor and we were delighted to find the room in excellent condition - very clean and two large comfortable beds.
Had a nice meal and drink in Chats Bar before heading off to The Hydro. We had asked for directions at reception and they gave us a useful map and very simple instructions on reaching The Hydro on foot (only 15 minutes away).
The brilliance of the concert was matched by the most solid, peaceful sleep I have had in a city centre hotel. The sound-proofing was brilliant - not a sound from outside or from any other rooms, bed was very comfortable. Totally relaxing.
Due to the conference, the hotel posted signs that breakfast was expected to be especially busy between 9am-11am and suggested an earlier or later breakfast might be advisable. We decided to wander down about 10:15am, ready to go back to our room if it looked like mayhem. No risk of that - the American restaurant manager was doing a great job of keeping the queue moving. Despite the pressure, he greeted all customers with enthusiasm and politeness - he reminded me of the excellent customer service we have seen in some Times Square hotels in New York. What a great advert he is for Marriott. We were shown to our table and immediately offered tea/coffee by an efficient waitress. The breakfast choice was extensive and tasty. We felt totally refreshed and ready for the day ahead by the time we had finished.
Checkout was fast and efficient and a great visit was rounded off as we were leaving the front door with our overnight cases. A young lad in a golf buggy-style cart asked if we were going round to the car park. When we said "yes" he invited us to jump aboard with our bags and then took us round and dropped us off right beside our car.
It was great to see Andrea Bocelli perform so well at The Hydro and we will remember the evening for a long time. The whole weekend, however, was completed by the enthusiasm, courtesy and professionalism of all the staff we encountered at the hotel, including the polite cleaners. Top marks though have to go to the breakfast restaurant manager who seemed to be enjoying every minute of his job despite the very busy weekend the hotel had. A delight to be served by him.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Kingston Bridge but it was still wonderfully quiet. Can't speak for the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainMM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this hotel for my mums birthday and would never go back. Firstly the Marriott carpet at the entrance was filthy so poor first impression. I then went for lunch at the bar and whilst the cocktails were good the cold sandwich I ordered took an hour to make. The leisure facilities are very dated, dirty and the walls on the way in have fungus growing out them. I thought going out the car park entrance of the leisure club would have distracted my mum from seeing anything else however that was worse as the hotel bins were overflowing and visible for all guests to see. On a positive note the room was decent but only if you kept the blinds shut as the windows were filthy. After being mortified that I brought my mum here for her birthday I complained and the managers first response was to find us another hotel. The only hotel he could come up with was £50 more per night which I wasn't prepared to pay only to sleep in as we were going in town for dinner. He did offer champagne and 25% off my bill but to be honest it still left me furious that this was supposed to be a treat for my mum and supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The only positive thing I will say is the girls at distinction beauty were lovely and did a great job with our massages however this is a separate business to the Marriott. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham Junction
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is an entirely adequate business hotel. It's a bland but reliable Marriott. The staff are courteous, the rooms are comfortable without being swish, everything works, it's clean and tidy, and the breakfast is good. The hotel's a short walk from Central station and the west end. I'd come here again on business, but not with my family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a stay here & we had a fab time. The hotel is next to an underground station which is handy.
We arrived at 1pm & both the rooms booked were ready so we could check in.
We had 2 lovely rooms on the 9th floor cosy and spaceous. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but we had drinks which were a average priced. Breakfast is a buffet style which was really yummy. Good choice & friendly staff. We will be back next time we are in Glasgow ;)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,209 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 95 in Glasgow
2,017 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing