We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good deal obtained for a Saturday night in Glasgow made even better by a 1200 breakfast finish and check-out. Room was ok and clean although we had a problem with the toilet flush and a strange knocking sound during the night - guess this reflects other reviews - its not a bad hotel - needs some TLC. If I had paid full wack prob would have been a bit miffed.
Staff were really nice and very friendly at breakfast which makes a change for a chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    782
    331
    96
    55
See reviews for
282
658
75
488
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed two nights
Not good value.
Sink and toilet cracked, paint peeling in bathroom.
Moved room, no shaving mirror, extra noisy air-con.

Old room prepared again for next 'visitors', suspect repairs not going to be made.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acorntree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Disappointed in this hotel. We had booked in for a two night stay. The room we were allocated had a cracked sink. There was paint peeling of the bathroom wall with the flakes of paint on the floor. The toilet bowl was badly cracked... It looked at first glance like a giant spider was lurking in there. None of this damage looked new so I am sure the hotel must have been aware of it. After complaining we were moved to the next room, which was better although a magnifying mirror in the bathroom had been broken off and not replaced. The air con / heater had a rattling fan.
On the morning of our departure, we saw the room with the cracked sink, toilet and peeling paint made up ready to be let out again. Not impressed by the Marriottt and would not recommend it.
Oh... And £6 for an hours wifi was a charge I was not prepared to pay to a hotel who thinks it's alright to give guests a room with a broken sink.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcnabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Great value for the weekend city break. Gorgeous clean modern room. King size bed with crisp clean linen and large spotless bathroom. Everything we needed was at hand and a short walk along the road to the City Centre. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peejayaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing is really wrong with this hotel, but nothing about it is really special or noteworthy either.

Location is just okay. About a ten minute walk to central station, which is probably the best feature of the location. Anything you might want to do locally is essentially a twenty minute walk and with the local climate working against you those twenty minutes feel like forty.

The rooms are average as well. Bed is comfortable but the overall decor is outdated. Everything is clean though.

Visited the spa this morning for a massage. The therapist did a very nice job but the spa area is very small and you could hear everything going on in the reception area from the treatment room which detracted from the ambiance.

Overall just an average place. Can't really recommend it but wouldn't say to avoid it either.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank heatherh595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my 10 yr old son stayed here for 4 days over x.mas.. We were seen to very quickly when we arrived and helped with our luggage. Our room was very spacious and the view was great(12th floor). The bed and pillows were amazing..also very clean. The hotel it's self was very nice, though just a little lacking in decorations(not many).. The pool was lovely and warm, especially at this time of year.. Don't know about the food, as we ate elsewhere.. As I'm from here so I knew were to eat at half the price. Great location. And only 3.60 for taxi back frm central station(5/7min walk).. The staff were very nice, especially the girls who worked over x. Mas.. And left us a little candle, selection box for us on x.mas day.. Only one down side and that was price of internet, far too expensive.. Though it wouldn't put me of about stayin here again when I 'come up the road'.. Great holiday and so much to do and see at this time of year..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown,PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed there over Christmas on Business.
Hotel is nice but what an inhospitable experience-not I must say normal for the Scots.
They closed the restaurant after 9:30am and only had borderline bar food available for Christmas day. Having access to the exec lounge was wonderful- OH NO sorry they shut it down.
Would not spend a penny of my own staying here-and as for the miserable staff- BAH HUMBUG to you all and your non caring attitude

Room Tip: Pick another HOTEL
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blx777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing