We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay here with extremely helpful staff! Beds great, room soundproof to traffic, great restaurants in walking distance and clean bathrooms. Executive floor a plus. Food good and lots of gratis beverages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is perfectly functional as a Marriott hotel.

It is ideally placed for drop off and pick up on the bus from the airport. However, it is quite a walk from the town centre (10 minutes along a main road).

The leisure centre is not properly integrated into the hotel and so you have to walk outside and then back in again! It is perfectly ok and the gym is particularly good.

There are two food areas: one for bar snacks, the other a restaurant. Both serve great food and drinks at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Weekend stay in Glasgow for a wedding. I didn't expect the roads to be so clear so we arrived before 12 (check in is at 14:00). Plenty of car parking space for a daily charge of £8. The staff were very helpful and we were allowed to check in as soon as we arrived.
The room is spacious, the bed is very comfy, and everything is spotless: the lift, the corridor, and the room.
Nice Starbucks in the lounge (showing the football - it was the final Sunday of the premiership). The food at the restaurant was very good as well.
All in all very nice stay for a reasonable price.
Note: the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the central station and another 10 from George's square.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy2016man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've stayed at a few Marriott's in the UK and North America so I was expecting a standard of service that just was not met at this hotel.

I was there for a training session: the room was dreadful the lifts go to the 12th floor and this room was on the 13th. There were flood marks on the ceiling, a leak had actually spilled down onto one of the tables, the chairs looked scruffy and dirty and the staff were nonchalant.

The room I was staying in was tatty and frayed and had a faint odour of old about it.

The food in the restaurant was average at best. Not at all impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feeback..

We do make all our conferences aware that there is only a staircase to the 13th floor, there I am sorry if you were not made aware of this by the company.

I have passed all your details for our maintenance team to investigate.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was attending a conference about a 20-minute walk down the road over the Easter weekend, but the Marriott was an oasis of coolness (especially as you could open the windows in this hotel). It was also a great escape from the terrible Eastercon conference.

As always, the Marriott breakfast was excellent with made-to-order veggie sausages and they were very accommodating with my Soya milk order.

The concierge lounge in the evening was very nice, although it would be great if they could have the free wine & beer on a Friday & Saturday night as well. However, you could grab a soft drink, biscuit or hot beverage over the entire weekend.

My room was very, very small, but the bed and pillows were divine. Shower strength was excellent with the usual variety of Marriott shampoos, etc. Wifi worked well and as an elite, it was free for me. Wifi is free for everyone in the lobby.

Only a 5-minute walk to the airport shuttle bus. And about 15 – 20 minute walk to Glasgow’s shopping and pubs. There is also a Tesco Metro about 6-minutes from the hotel.

Everyone who worked in the hotel was super friendly and both check-in and check-out were a dream.

I think this is about the third or fourth time I have stayed at this property. While not as modern as some US Marriott’s, it will always be my first choice when I’m in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for four nights in May 2014. These were at no charge as we had built up free nights from using Marriotts a lot in USA recently. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were given our room as soon as we arrived (about 1pm). The room was fine, clean, not luxurious but very comfortable and the bed extremely so. Breakfasts were excellent and the dining staff couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent location: no noise from the motorway but it is close enough to make a quick exit on to the M8 and up to Loch Lomond. 15 minutes walk to good restaurants on Sauchiehall Street. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here whilst at a conference at the SSEC and I found the staff really helpful and my room was all that I needed - good size, very comfortable bed, the en-suite was good with plenty of shampoos etc and the complimentary tea/coffee facilities were much the same as in any other hotel. I agree with other contributors about the difficult windows but the aircon in my room worked well. The buffet-style meals were fine if not outstanding, especially in the evening when the menu could have been more varied and table service would have been preferable. However, I enjoyed the Scottish breakfasts - ever had porridge with the optional extra of whisky? One thing which impressed me was that a colleague had been given a double-booked room and had to be relocated... on hearing this the Concierge gave her an (expensive) bottle of wine. One thing which did NOT impress me though was the £15 per day charge for wi-fi access in the rooms... an absolute rip-off. Needless to say I did not use it. In conclusion, I enjoyed my stay and if I didn't live just 40 miles away would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SQFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,525 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £69 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing