We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short City break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent two nights in hotel with upgrade for membership, standard of hotel very consistant of the Marriott group - clean, organised, comfortable, polite and very helpful staff. Had a pleasant stay and certainly would return if visiting Glasgow in the future.
Executive lounge not too busy and well serviced by the Marriott team.

Room Tip: We were on level 11 facing the rear of the building, no noise or disturbance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 388SUSH388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,969)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's easy to become blasé regarding Marriott Hotels. Big, corporate, even bland. But they provide a good product at a sensible price. Stayed overnight midweek and though the hotel was busy, the excellent staff gave us a quiet room on floor 2. I could se the motorway......but I couldn't hear it. Good night's sleep in a soft, big bed.

Clean room, nice bathroom with reasonable toiletries too!

What' not to like?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Glasgow Marriott for a 2 day course with work - when I first checked in the hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite and to my amazement I had been booked into a huge room with two double beds! My favourite thing about this hotel is the beds - they were unbelievably soft and comfortable - I had an excellent night's sleep!

I used the swimming pool which was small but adequate - heated well and there is also a sauna and steam room for hotel guest's use. The food we were served (both for breakfast and lunch) was very tasty - at breakfast there are both hot foods (with a scottish twist - think Haggis and whisky flavoured porridge!) and the usual continental breakfast on offer at most hotels!

The only complaint I would have was that on arrival I ordered room service from the menu in my room - I had three calls back - one to confirm my order, one to ask how I would be paying and then another to tell me that the food I had ordered was actually not available! I didn't order a replacement but I found that to be a little frustrating. Aside from that though I would highly recommend staying at the hotel - a comfortable night's sleep and the staff (both the front desk and, in particular, there was a really friendly man in charge of checking the rooms off at breakfast) were great!

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel room that does not face out over the motorway - some of my colleagues stayed in room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggirlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

nice hotel and offers all the amenities you would require. The hotel is clean and the staff look after you well.

My only reason for downgrading this hotel is that the beds and pillows are not the same ones used in most other marriotts, come on this is why we all stay with you! The pillows are cheap and same goes for the linen used.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dwilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I have passed your comments regarding the pillows and linen to our Executive Team and I am delighted to read that you we were very well looked after by our associates and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you for your very valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were overnighting in the lovely city of Glasgow and booked in to the Glasgow Marriot. There was a constant drumming coming from the boiler room, we had gotten in after 11.00pm having flown up from London, so we were tired and just wanted to go to sleep. In the morning an engineer came to investigate my complaint of the night before, he listened to the noise (which sounded much louder in the quiet of the night), but he was able to hear it clearly and stated that it was coming from the boiler room and was to be expected in a 30 year old hotel. I explained the ability to dampen out this sort of drumming with rubber mounts, he shrugged and said he would pass the message on and wished us a good stay.
Breakfast was buffet affair which for a 4 star hotel was a bit Happy Eater and only £15 ahead. (they were good enough to wave this due to the problems with the room).

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am disappointed by the response you received from our maintenance team and I have passed your comment to our Maintenance Manager to address.

I am pleased to read that our front office team addressed your issue on departure I would like to thank you for your very valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was through in Glasgow for a gig and to see friends. As a wheelchair user I am unable to stay with friends in flats, so I always have to get a hotel room. My friend was going to stay overnight with me and thank god she did. I arrived in the early evening and went into my "disabled double room", the room was pretty compact and the bed was only a 3/4 mattress. The shower facilities and toilet all looked good but it was so neat in the room. The room was taking up valuable space with huge heavy furniture. I couldn't move around the room and had to stay seated at the foot of the bed or move over to the door if wanting to move the wheelchair.

Thankfully when my friend arrived we moved room where there was a bed more fitting a hotel room. Only problem was that there was only a bath instead of a walk in shower, there was wall bars so it is doable but not the easiest. Once again the ginormous pieces of bedroom furniture. The most stupid thing was a TV on a huge unit in both rooms. Surely they could free up loads of floor space if they mounted the TV on the wall. Anyway a restful night was had in the bed and the air conditioning was definitely needed on a hot weekend.

We went down to breakfast the following morning which was very nice. The fresh fruit and the fried breakfast were lovely. All the staff were really nice and helpful.

Before we left I had to go to the toilet in the lobby. The toilet was in the ladies toilet, something I could never do alone. You have to open the ladies toilet door meanwhile opening the disabled toilet door, both very heavy doors. It took three of us to get into the toilet, not the easiest.

I would say the staff make this hotel and it is in need of a major refurbishment. Especially focussing on disabled facilities making it easier not harder to travel.

Room Tip: Make sure your getting a proper sized bed
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment in the next 18 months. We are addressing our accessible rooms to ensure that they are more spacious and there will be more than 1 room that will have a walk in shower.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely breakfast and that the hotel staff very helpful.

Once again, thank you for your very valued feedback as we are constantly looking to deliver and improve our customer service and product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had not stayed here in 10 years and I wont hurry back for the next ten!!
We booked this for convenience to attend concerts at the new Hydro and due to the fact we could not get the Hilton.
The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment and looks worn out in most areas. The bar and restaurant areas look dirty due to the fact that everything is worn and scruffy. We didn't even bother using the gym the changing facilities are awful.
Our room had a mini bar which was boarded up and an over bath shower suitable for a 4ft person perhaps but not two 6ft adults!
And the £8 per night charge for parking for hotel guests is galling to say the least when they offer free parking to diners attending concerts!
My recommendation would be avoid this hotel and head to the Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment in the next 18 months and we are continually addressing all areas of the hotel. I am sorry that you found the bath/showers too small but these are designed as a standard fitting.

Whilst I appreciate there was a promotion on in the restaurant when you stayed with us, our car parking is one of the most competitive in the city.

Once again thank you for your very valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,336 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,102 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing