We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here after I arrived from the airport for a business trip. The staff was very accommodating as I arrived early and they found me a great room so I could get some sleep. Even though it is next to the motorway I did not hear the noise at all and the ride from the airport was short.
When I woke up I walked to find food and the staff again sent me in the right direction. The breakfast in the morning was very good.

While I agree the hotel needs some updating it works for a business traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,971)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The shining spot of the hotel really came down to the staff; otherwise, I would have ranked this a 2 star property. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to get my room ready even though I was checking in very early. I couldn't have asked for better service.

However, like others have mentioned when it comes to accommodations, this is your standard (on the lower side of standard) Marriott. The room was a nice size but everything was showing the wear and tear. The bed was ok but the linens were scratchy and uncomfortable. I was not impressed with the neighborhood, while it was only a 5 - 10 walk into center city, it was a bit sketchy in spots and I was walking alone making it very uncomfortable.

I had trouble getting hot water for a shower on most days and resorted to showering at night to be safe.

Overall, it was okay but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveWineWilTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I have passed you comments to our Executive Team to discuss and I am delighted to read that the front desk staff went out of their way to allocate your room for your early arrival and check in was exceptionally smooth.

Once again, thank you for your very valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is fairly standard city centre Marriott situated near to a motorway but very close to the city centre and virtually backing on to the Hilton (which is a 5 star compare to this at a 4 star although both ratings are on the generous side).

There is a small lobby and bar area and a large restaurant. The breakfast was good with a standard Scottish buffet breakfast but not much refinement.

The room was a decent size, a nice comfortable bed and the staff were helpful. I did however have some gripes:-

1. £15 for 24 hours of wifi is a complete rip-off;

2. It was unfortunate that 2 days in a row there were early morning fire alarms which suggests an issue that needs to be resolved;

3. No fridge or mini bar in the room. There clearly used to be but it had been removed and the spaced boarded over. With the admittedly unusually hot weather it was annoying not be able to keep drinks cool in the room.

4. A badly chipped bath showed that the property is in need of some updating.

Overall this is a perfectly OK place probably suited to tour groups.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Glasgow Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I have passed your comments to our Executive Commitee and I am delighted to read that you did have an enjoyable stay with us. Our hosts do strive to ensure that our guests do have a wonderful stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a twin room and it was large and came with 2 separate double beds. The bathroom was looking a little tired and it would have been nice to have had complementary water in the rooms (instead of paying £4.95 for a 750ml bottle). Staff were efficient and polite. Pool is a decent size but it's like a maze trying to get to it. It's in a good location, walking distance from Central Station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The rooms here are what you would expect from a Marriott Hotel. Very comfortable beds and all the little extras, made for a good stay. Great location with about a 5 minute walk to the station and into the heart of Glasgow city. Breakfast was buffet style with a good range of fruit, cheeses, pastries, hot foods etc. No complaints, only praise with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an anniversary break and found it a great hotel. Used all the facilities and had a good nights sleep. Quiet enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but only a couple of minutes in a taxi and you are right back in about the city.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank bolt-ya-rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in May with my family to use the bar/lounge for food and drinks whilst visiting Glasgow for the theatre.

I have used the hotel for both restaurant and overnight stays in the past. The hotel is getting a bit tired but I've always found the service good.

This time, however, I wish I'd never gone near it. We parked in the hotel car park for which there was a charge of around £2 for the time we stayed. The hotel contracts out parking charges to a parking firm called Parking Eye. Google them. You'll not find anything nice said about them!

On the evening in question, I went to the reception desk to ask if I could pay for parking. They pointed me to a machine in the lobby. It was out of order. I returned to the desk to try to pay. They said they couldn't take payment unless I was a resident. I asked what I should do since the machine was out of order. They shrugged their shoulders and said they couldn't help.

I've subsequently had a parking charge notice for £100! My explanation of the situation has been waved aside and I am now getting letters from a debt agency. They offer no mechanism for independent appeals.

Shame on you Marriott for using these profiteers.

I won't be back. I can't risk the harassment if there's a parking problem again.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank JMB5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,336 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,103 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,329 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £73 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing