We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okaayy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Okaayy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

When I arrived in the room, there was a funny damp smell and a rag left on the floor.

However, the bed was so so so comfy, large room, it was in a quiet part of town, but just 5 - 8 mins walk to the main train station.

Good shower pressure.

There's a supermarket if you leave the hotel and turn left, and a small shop in reception for soft drinks etc

I only stayed for one night but the comfy bed would mean I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    777
    326
    94
    53
See reviews for
281
650
74
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently for a weekend break in Glasgow with husband and family. Rooms are of a high Marriott standard (we had a deluxe room with King bed). Very comfy bed, had a good nights sleep. Stayed on the 11th floor, no external noise. Breakfast was very nice, buffet style with plenty of choice. We also ate lunch there one day and that was very nice also. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Good location, only about 5/10mins walk to bars and shopping area. Hotel has a pool, spa and gym which is great to relax. Check-in/out was efficient. Drinks in the hotel are a little expensive but I unfortunately I have come to expect this from a hotel. No there isn't a mini bar in the room but if you want a drink, you can just order room service or just get one from the bar and take it back to your room. Only other negative is that you have to pay for parking (£6 daily), which I think should be free for hotel guests. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Spent 2 weekend nights at the Marriott. Quick receiption and my gold level Marriott membership got me a room on the 12th floor. I found the king bed room spacious with a large work table. Double glazed windows meant the room was very quiet. Th wireless Internet connection is 15 GBP for 24 hours, a real hotel profit center. A local call was 1.5 GBP. No discount for Gold Level members. Had trouble using my AMEX Card for charging the Internet Service and was contacted by AMEX to make sure the charge was valid. The King Bed and pillows are very hard to this American back, but maybe that is a Scottish Thing. On a rainy Saturday night I decided to Watch the Semi Final of the World Cup. The restaurant manager filled in as a room service waiter and delivered my Marriott Burger and fries. Food was hot and acceptable quality (11 GBP) including service.
The concierge desk provided bellman service. A nice hotel that needs to spend the profit from the internet service to bring the place back to Marriott standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I went there last month with some clients. Here are all the things that bothered me about this hotel:
- 300 rooms and only 5 smoker ones (of course these were not available)
- the windows could not open - only 3 cm - i couldn't believe it!!!
- there was no minibar in the room
- in my bathroom, when turned on the water at the sink , i could flood all my things near the battery.
- someone came everyday to clean the room but the sheets on the bed still had little spots.
- in the room was'n any source of light beside some lamps with a diffuse light.
- the connect to the internet in the room you had to pay 6 GBP/ hour. in the reception or in the business area was the same price.
I sincerely would not go again. At the reception the room was around 300 GBP.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaLabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I was greeted on a dull wet evening by a very friendly and warm welcome at the Marriott’s reception desk. The check-in was efficient and the hotel’s facilities were explained to me.
My room, on the 11th floor had a good view of the M8 … and then out to the hills beyond. It was a fairly standard Marriott room but with a very small desk - to use my laptop and have a few papers and a coffee cup meant that I had to put the phone and Internet box on the floor – this seemed very strange for what is a business hotel and I would have thought many guests would want to use the desk to work.
The bed was really comfortable – as is the case in the vast majority of Marriott hotels.
The Executive Lounge is kept well stocked with snacks and hot and cold drinks and again there was a friendly welcome from the Lounge Manager.
The Leisure Centre has a lovely swimming pool but as other people have commented on this site, you have to go down several flights of stairs to reach it. This is a really odd arrangement and I would have thought this could have been joined in a more simple way to the hotel.
I used room service on one evening and the food was good and promptly delivered with a smile.
All in all this was a great hotel and one to which I will return when next in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights on 24/25 June. Excellent speedy check-in. Reception staff 1st class
rooms very comfy and clean. King Size Bed was wonderful.
Buffet breakfast on the friday was average. You either strike it lucky or not with buffet breakfasts.

Saturday's breakfast was very good.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We booked to stay at the Marriot on a trip to Glasgow to celebrate my best friends birthday. We were a group of 6 staying 1 night (Saturday into Sunday). Check in was 2pm, we were allocated 2 rooms with king size beds and 1 room with 2 double beds. The rooms were lovely, with large flat screen tv's and the beds were so comfortable (bliss!!!). We used the swimming pool which was lovely and warm, there is also a sauna and steam room at the lesuire club. We had a great night out in Glasgow and had sore heads in the morning, we had booked lunch for 1.45pm and check out was 12pm so we would have been hanging around for an hour, we phoned reception and asked if it was possible to stay in our rooms for an extra hour and this wasn't a problem (no charge either). We will be using this hotel from now on when we have a night out in Glasgow. Rooms worked out at £42 per person which we thought was very reasonable. The only bad point about this hotel is that it is so difficult to fing the entrance. We took I wrong turn an ended up doing a detour of Glasgow for an hour!!! Signposts would be helpful???

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing