We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuinely warm Glasgow welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Enjoyed a lovely 5 days in Glasgow helped by the friendly and professional welcome from smiling and cheerful staff. Although I was up on the 7th floor (good views across the rooftops though) I had a nice and clean modern room with an enourmous and comfortable bed, and a proper bathroom with a good shower. Having booked well in advance the price for my stay was excellent value.

Room Tip: Very impressive service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshdeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Lovely stay and excellent service. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff very helpful and friendly, I even thought I lost my room key on one occasion. Kevin, who worked in the restaurant, told me to wait and went and got a replacement for me - how nice! I will look no further than there for another stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed at this Premier Inn three times during this year and each time the standard of cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff has impressed me. It is situated within a three minute walking distance to the city centre (come out, turn right, keep going, under the iron bridge, your'e there!). It has its own restaurant and a Costa is next door and accessed from the reception area.
This Premier Inn does not have its own parking but they have a heavily discounted deal with the multi-story just two minutes away over Argyle Street which is clean, safe and secure (it is locked and patrolled overnight).

We have been visiting family when we have stayed here but I would heartily recommend it for a weekend trip; within walking distance is the Modern Art Gallery (outside the gallery there is always a traffic cone on the head of a magnificent mounted dignitary - as soon as it is removed, some wag replaces it - there are even postcards of the statue complete with cone!), beautiful designer shops and eateries (including Jamie Oliver's which was lovely) and a host of magnificent buildings along the river Clyde. A short taxi ride (we never got charged more than £5 odd by the local cabs) will get you to the Kelvingrove museum set in lovely grounds and also the transport museum over the road and there's so much more on offer.

Eating out is very reasonable in Glasgow and two of our favourites were Mother India (across from the museum) and Velvet Elvis (on Dumbarton Road just down from the museum, a bit of a walk, but the shops are interesting, like a high street used to be i.e. a mish-mash of chandlers, bakers etc).

Finally, what made the trip so special is the genuine friendliness of the Glaswegians - forget all this Scots/English divide, we met with nothing but warmth and helpfulness, felt safe in the city even at night and I really would recommend it.

Note: There is a first-rate bus service right outside the airport that goes direct to the city centre - it was about 3 pounds - you don't need to take a white cab at £21!!

Room Tip: The hotel can be noisy as it is on a main road so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Nice big comfortable bed, spacious and clean rooms. Delicious breakfast as much as you can eat. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ele47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

At £29 for the room I wasn't sure what to expect but this hotel exceeded on all counts. The room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. The restaurant was attractively decorated with good quality food. Service was friendly. Location was a short walk from city centre with discounted car parking close by. A great budget hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as we were in Glasgow for a concert, We normally stay at a hotel in West Nile Street as it is in Theatreland but on this occasion decided to take advantage of a special promotion this hotel chain was offering. Boy were we glad we did so! The location is excellent as it is only a few minutes walk from Central station to the hotel & the check-in process was very pleasantly and efficently handled by Andy, who welcomed us to the hotel and indeed to Glasgow, asking us if we were there for a special event. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a good range of tv channels available. Also, the bed was so unbelievably comfortable and we both agreed we had a great sleep and awoke feeling totally refreshed. We were only there for a couple of nights but the hotel was so well located and the staff so friendly we would have been more than happy to stay for much longer, had it been possible. We will most definitely be returning to this hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

very central for shopping area, train station and restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takethatfanedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#42 of 93 in Glasgow
996 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel

Address: 377 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This city centre Premier Inn is very close to Glasgow Central Station, popular shopping areas, restaurants and bars. M8 motorway and public transport links are close by. This site does not have onsite car parking but has a deal on with the local QPark - guests can receive a voucher from reception which will discount the cost of 24hrs to £7. Premier Inn Glasgow Argyle Street is ideal for all travellers and is convenient for exploring Glasgow. It has a fresh, modern feel, restaurant and bar and a Costa coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle St) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Argyle St
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing