We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Lovely Hotel, situated in a quiet street, set right in the trendy West End, really handy for Byres Road, and the surrounding area, and convenient for town, on the bus route and right across the road from the Subway, so for us, the lack of available parking was not a problem.
We had a self catering apartment, with 4 single beds, a sitting area and a small kitchen. Tastefully decorated and the beds were really comfortable, and it was all spotlessly clean.
Receptionist, also the Breakfast cook and waiter, was excellent, charming, attentive and funny.
breakfast was very tasty, and quick.
For a night out in the city, it was perfect, and we will return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Well located, freindly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Only complaint was the bed was very hard needs memory foam topper would help a lot and pillows were below standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncandace154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your review, we have now added mattress toppers to our beds and renewed our pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a family room-large, bright & well equipped-wonderful receptionist who was most helpful-icomplimentary Internet kiosk as well! Tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Albion Hotel in Glasgow's West End is a small, comfortable hotel. Rooms are large and functional, the staff is exceptionally attentive, and the location is excellent. As is true of many hotels in Scotland, breakfast is not included in the room rate but is served for an additional charge. Located on a quiet residential street, the Albion is within walking distance of the University of Glasgow, Kelvingrove Museum, and the Charles Rennie Mackintosh House in the Hunterian Art Gallery. If one is traveling by car, the nearest major street is the Great Northern Road. Public transportation is also easily accessible: buses run along the Great Northern Road and the Kelvingrove Underground stop is nearby. The hotel is also within walking distance of several ethnic restaurants along the Great Northern Road.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a friend during a major international conference held in Glasgow. It was a 10mn taxi ride to the venue (The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre - SECC) which cost us about £4.50 each way. Taxi to and from the airport cost between £19-£25.
There was a mistake on the booking (not the hotel's fault), related to the breakfast, and the manager bent over backwards to correct the error. Overall the staff was kind and helpful.
Our room was on the ground floor (room 1) which was spacious enough for two people (separate beds). We had read previous reviews about hearing people come and go, but it didn't bother us. The beds were quite comfortable. Two pillows (one firm, one soft) per bed.

One drawback is the heating seemed to be turned on during the day, but turned off at night. Shouldn't it be the other way around? We were a bit chilly at night so I would suggest asking the hotel about this in advance or bring warm PJs.

The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor. It's great for two people, but right next to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethCagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Because we were two adults and two children, we were given a room in the adjoining City Apartments. Room is perhaps not the best way to describe it, as it was truly an apartment with one large bedroom having two twin beds and a large lounge having an additional set of twin beds and a small (but complete) kitchen attached. It was very large, very nicely decorated, and clean. It is an old building, which means that you do hear other guests if they are noisy, but the neighbourhood is quiet so we weren't bothered by any street noise. Our room (312) did not have a tub (just a shower) which was a slight inconvenience with young children. We found this hotel to be an excellent value with helpful staff and in a convenient location. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

As a family of five we had breakfast on three mornings in this hotel as we were staying in the adjoining apartment owned by this hotel group. Duty receptionist Jackie was there at all times during our stay and provided excellent breakfasts each am served with a smile and plenty of friendly banter. The hotel had a P.C available in the hall which was free to use. Hotel is very handy to access the Glasgow transport system called the subway which is a convienent and cheap way to travel around the city. We would stay here again if the city apartments next door are fully booked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonegalHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
361 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
612 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
322 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#87 of 93 in Glasgow
462 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing