We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place to stay.....BEWARE!!!”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible place to stay.....BEWARE!!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a funeral which was at 1pm explained this to staff when requesting if i could book in at 11:30 was told i could but would have to upgrade at the cost of £10. Was also made to pay up front for breakfast and we both were clearly told by DONALD that breakfast was between 7:30am - 10:30am. After having a sad day at funeral we set alarm for 9.30am for breakfast went into the dining room at 9:40am which was empty when we enquired about getting served we were told breakfast was over? Donald refused to give us a refund and said to get breakfast elsewhere. He was arrogant to us despite knowing why we were there. To add to all of this the beds were terrible! The shower was dirty! Tea cups were stuck to the tray. Rooms although out dated were generally clean. My advice save your money and stay somewhere else but if you do decide to stay keep your money for breakfast in your pocket and go across the road to the Bay Tree Cafe were the foods great and your served by someone who.s face doesnt turn the milk sour!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villafan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Having read your review and spoken to Donald your only real complaint is that you did not get any breakfast. Unfortunately this was down to yourselves and no one else.
Donald has been with the company for 5 years and in that time he has been Employee of the Month at least 14 times, he has received numerous compliments from guest's from all over the world, especially about his customer service, you would be hard pressed to find a more polite,courteous and hard working young man, arrogant he has never been.
Guest's are informed of the breakfast time at check in, and I see no reason why after all this time he would suddenly decide to tell a guest that it finished an hour later than it does. Not only to our Managers inform guest's of the breakfast time at check in there is a plaque next to reception desk with the times on it, another one on the dining room door and it is also in the information sheet in the room, so all in all that makes 4 ways of finding out when breakfast is served, and of course you could always ask the Manager again at any time during reception hours, so that makes 5.
Being the polite and concientious chap that he is Donald did offer you cereal and toast and tea/coffee, even though breakfast was finished, from what we can make out you more or less threw the offer back in his face. This being the same chap who graciously waived the £10 charge for an early check because he was sympathetic to the fact you were coming for a funeral, the charge is there to cover the cost of getting a cleaner in early to make sure the room is ready, and he took it upon himself to waive it in your case.
The breakfast cook and waiting staff delayed clearing away and starting the clear up even though all other guest's had been served by 9.30 and in fact were all away by 9.15am, so all the other guest's managed to make it in time as did the cook, waiting staff and Donald himself, you were the only 2 in the building who got the time wrong.
The remarks about the room are petty, and an attempt to pad out the review. Room 1 is one of our most popular rooms and is frequently requested by regular guest's. It is also a large bright triple room, to which you were upgraded at no extra cost, also the early check in charge was waived, so all in all we feel the rate you paid of £72.00 for 2 people bed and breakfast was very good value for money and bearing in mind that you had occupancy of the room 2 hours earlier than normal check in, so one night the room would be occupied for 23 hrs and in fact you had it for 25hrs, and even though you checked in 2hrs early we did not expect you to check out 2hrs early.
All our staff are courteous and polite to guest's, however we do expect the same in return and on this occasion Donald was sadly disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    117
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
76
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I shared a top floor twin room with a friend, and found it very clean and quiet except for unavoidable noise from other guests walking in the hallway and stairs. The room was very clean and had a nice skylight-- there was a shade that could be rolled down over it which was very helpful. Although we didn't need it, I was glad to see a mini-fridge in the room. There is a computer in the foyer available to guests, which we appreciated.

Room Tip: The twin room on the top floor, back side of the building is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaf236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

good rooms, friendly service (no breakfast incl. though). No problem with the bed.
The area of this hotel is very nice and most importantly is right nearby a tube station, which makes trip to the city center easy.
I did not expect much but was overall satisfied

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here the other night for my birthday after looking at Tripadvisor reviews. On arrival it appeared quite a nice place and the member of staff on reception was friendly and helpful. Went out for a meal nearby as it is very near to many restaurant and bars in the west end. On return we went to bed in what I can only describe as very uncomfortable, which was also small (we are both very tall and this must have been the smallest double). The springs seemed to be severely lacking, giving no support and as a result our backs were quite sore in the morning. Added to this was the fact that we were in Room 1 which is right beside the front door and we heard the front door going when other guests came in and left, woke me up every time.

Breakfast was quite good and there seemed to be a reasonable choice of options, I enjoyed the cooked breakfast.

When, on check out, I mentioned my concerns to the member of staff as to the price I had paid for a poor nights sleep I was told that they would investigate and that they had not had complaints of a similar nature, which I find hard to believe as the bed was rubbish. However a lot of people don't complain they simply never go back.I was disappointed in the response I got. I would have appreciated a partial refund as the bed was not up to scratch and I had a bad nights sleep. However I was simply given an apology. They got their money and I will not return as £80 for a bad nights sleep is not something I am happy with.

A shame as I was expecting more going by reviews on here.

Room Tip: Don't take room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We are sorry you feel your stay at the Albion Hotel was not as you had expected. Regarding the bed, you say it must have been a very small double, it is in fact a standard full size Double bed, Rm1 is on of our most popular rooms and regular guests request it fairly often. This is the first time we have had a complaint regarding the bed, all our beds are of the same hotel standard, neither soft nor firm, as a hotel we do have to strike the middle ground, perhaps you are used to a firm mattress, unfortunately when you stay in hotels it would be impossible to have a mattress exactly the same as the one you are used to.
With regard to the front door, the Albion is a very quiet hotel, the majority of our guests comply with our requests to respect other guests and to be quiet when coming and going, however again when you are in a hotel there is always going to be some level of noise, no matter what room /floor etc you are in/on, no one can be completely silent when coming and going no matter the time of day or night.
The rate you paid £80 was for a double room, you were actually upgraded to a triple room, the rate was more than fair for that room. You did not actually ask for a refund, you remarked that for what you had paid you had expected a better nights sleep, that is not asking for a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clwyd
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, good value small Hotel just minutes from the centre / look no further. One minutes stroll from the trendy west end and its tube station of Kelvin Bridge it over looks the tree small river valley close to the University and parkland. Breakfast are individually cooked and of 'Scots' size with several resultant s nearby. Rooms are v good and modern with parking in the street. No lift and fairly steep stairs or a/c should not but you off

Croeso da yma efo brecwast bendigedig bob bore. Ystafelloedd mawr a glan ond heb llift. Staff cwrtais Iawn . Metro Glasgow agos iawn. 5 muned ir Canolfan/Orsaf/Siopa

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The photos of the rooms on the web sites for this hotel look absolutely nothing like the room where I stayed. It was tiny with the single bed taking up much of the space. It was also badly in need of a paint job and not all that clean. The light above the bathroom mirror was woefully insufficient for a man let alone a woman who would dare try to put on make-up.

Trying to sleep here was a nightmare. Everything on the ground floor and adjacent rooms could be heard easily through the walls and door. With the stair landing just outside my door, the stomping of feet rattled the room every time someone passed. Loud voices in the room next door bellowed through the walls and kept me up at 3 AM. The front desk telephone and doorbell woke me up every morning as they sounded as if they were in my room.

The heat only comes on at night. Thankfully when I informed them how cold my room was they brought up a portable radiator. At night, the room radiators were hard to control and caused the air to be incredibly dry. I woke up to a bloody nose due to the lack of humidity.

Security is a big concern here. The front desk is only staffed during the day and the front door only has a standard locking doorknob with a sign reminding guests to close the door behind them.

On the plus side the location is decent. It is right near a subway stop and not far from West End restaurants and shops. Don't be misled that it is anywhere near the city center, but it's only three subway stops away.

This is not a three star hotel. I've stayed at many similar hotels (with larger and quieter rooms) rated at one or two stars.

Room Tip: Avoid the room just above the hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natantdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We are sorry that your stay at the Albion Hotel was not as you had envisaged. Firstly, the photographs are of some of the rooms in the hotel, we do not have pictures of all the rooms, they are a representative example only. The light above the sink is a shaving light and is an extra light source to the ceiling lights, all our bathrooms are well lit and more than adequate for the application of make up etc. Any hotel has stairs and corridors and you may hear some noise from other guest's as they make their way around the hotel, however if there were noisy guest's in the room next to you you could have asked the Duty Manager to speak to them. We have nev er had a problem with security, reception is manned from 7.30am until 10pm, and although the staff are then off duty they are on the premises. We do not claim to be in the city centre, we are approximately a mile or so from there but as you pointed out only 3 stops on the underground.
We are glad that the staff responded quickly to your complaint about the cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel was a great find. We spent the weekend in Glasgow visiting family while traveling Scotland. Staff made us feel right at home and welcomed us with open arms. Made us feel very home sick for scotland.
Hotel was very clean, staff great and location perfect for the west end. We requested a ground floor room which was a bit noisy but that could our only negative point of what was a perfect weekend.
Beer was also very cheap in the bar.

Room Tip: Maybe request a higher back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
261 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
310 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
59 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing