We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, convenient, friendly, easy parking”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, convenient, friendly, easy parking”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a concert in Glasgow, this hotel is convenient for the subway at Kelvinbridge, clean, tidy, good breakfast, friendly staff, inexpensive. All in all a good find. It's not five star but if the above describes your requirements and you don't need pampering this place is as good as any we've found. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    132
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
68
81
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Albion Hotel this July for 5 nights. Being 6 persons, we chose a quadruple room and a double room, both with en suite facilities. The quadruple room, which was very clean (including the bathrooms), spacious and had a lovely view, was located on the top floor of the hotel. The only downside to this was the fact that we had to carry our luggage up the stairs and then back down for check out since there is no lift. The receptionist was very kind and asked us whether we need help with out luggages though. The other double room was just round the corner from the hotel reception, and we have no complains whatsoever about this. The window of this room had the view of the small back garden of this hotel, which looked lovely. The rooms were equipped with a mini fridge and we were given biscuits, tea, coffee and milk every morning since there is a kettle available too.

The Albion Hotel is surrounded by a good number of vintage clothes shops, cafe's, restaurants and pubs (Great Western Road), and it is located within walking distance (around 15 minutes) from the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road. There are also LIDL and Iceland supermarkets just 3 minutes away from the hotel. The subway (Kelvinbridge) is just across the road, and this takes you to the city centre (and other places) in around 8 minutes. However, if you don't mind walking, the city centre can be reached on foot too - it will take you around 45 minutes.

The receptionist was so nice and helpful, and he always gave us clear and precise instructions whenever we asked about any attraction or place we wanted to visit. He even gave us a map with markings to help us. And if you want, there is also a shelf with various attraction brochures just to the left of the reception.

We would definitely stay here again! The Albion Hotel is definitely a great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaliseG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Was here for a few days during the week in June. It's very close to the West End (Byres Road, etc), Subway is close by and town isn't a ridiculously long walk. Staff are pretty good but we didn't really need them for all that much so hard to judge. We were given a room on the top floor which was incredibly hot and sloped wildly thanks to the roof - it meant only half the room was any use. Still, for the money you're unlikely to find a better place to stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very hot in the summer - but you don't really get to choose, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandeweerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times and am happy to do so again. I'd describe it as a decent 3star hotel. Clean and comfortable. Plentiful breakfast and staff generally friendly and helpful. Great location for getting into Glasgow city centre as the metro station is just across the street. The botanic gardens and university are just a few minutes walk away as are many nice bars and restaurants in Glasgow's trendy West End.
However, there is no car park so you have to park in the street. Parking from 6pm-8am is free but remember to buy a daytime parking pass from the reception desk!! It is only £2/£4 for a half/full day parking pass but failure to get one will result in a parking fine!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Albion Hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy all that Glasgow's West End offers. The rooms are very comfortable and airy and the staff on reception are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is just of a Great Western Road in a quiet crescent so very peaceful and calm. It offers great value for money and we have already booked a return visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhayes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I spent three nights at the Albion Hotel. The location was less than ideal for someone without a car; it's a long walk to the city centre, but there is a subway station just across the street. The neighbourhood is fine, and there is a park by the river nearby. However, there was very loud dance music playing nearby throughout my final night there...not conducive to sleep. The greeting when I arrived was certainly not as friendly as I had become used to after two weeks in Scotland; the gentleman who greeted me proved to be a little terse throughout my stay, but the last gentleman I spoke with, just prior to my departure, seemed quite nice and was helpful. My single, en suite room (#13) was comfortable and reasonably spacious. It was not as nice as the rooms I had enjoyed in Scotland B&Bs but was clean and adequate. Breakfast was not included in my room rate and I opted not to pay £8 extra for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank France2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
The Albion Hotel is situated in the West end of the city and is approximately 1 mile from the city centre, walking into town takes about 15-20mins. Alternatively as mentioned there is an Underground station 2 mins walk from the hotel. It is unfortunate that you booked on a Room Only basis instead of Bed & Breakfast as our breakfasts are well known in the west end fro being both freshly cooked and plentiful. The music you heard possibly came from the pub across the road which normally closes at 11pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was surprised to read a negative review of this hotel. I had a very nice five-day stay here. I found the staff was polite and helpful -- the one gentleman did seem a bit rushed at breakfast, but nothing terrible -- and the room I had was lovely and large for the price and location. There's an excellent chippy down the block, and the subway station, which I used several times a day is all of 2 minutes a way. I was on foot for my trip, and appreciated this hotel's proximity to grocery stores, the University, Kelvingrove Museum, the Botanic Gardens and more. I'd happily stay here again. By the way, I was on the second floor, and heard not a noise the entire stay. And the hot breakfast was lovely. Plus, the man at the desk kindly carried my extremely heavy suitcase up the stairs for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreed151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
291 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
324 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
64 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing