We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best so far”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed in a variety of Glasgow hotels in the past couple of years. This is the best so far. Great location close to subway plus plenty of bars and restaurants at hand. Parking was a challenge at 4.30 on a Saturday but free all weekend. We had room 3 on the first floor- no lift- overlooking rear of property and no view to speak of, but so quiet. The hotel was very warm and we opened the window but still no disturbance. Bathroom very small and would benefit from more space to store toiletries but otherwise adequate and plenty of hot water.
The welcome we received was great and breakfast served in a homely manner- no toast making machine here - just good old fashioned service.
Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room 3 on 1st floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we have noted your remarks about lack of shelf space in the bathroom, all our bathrooms have now been fitted with extra shelving where necessary. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Overall a lovely stay, large family room at the top of the hotel. Could do with an update shower as took some time to heat up. Staff we're attentive & keen to please. Lovely hearty breakfast to prepare you for the day. Would recommend for central location stay!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank peleTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I have beern going to the Albion Hotel for 20 years when we go down to do our Christmas Shopping. Easy parking (for a small charge) 200 yards from the Underground, clean, nice breakfasts and wonderfully helpful staff. Make no mistake this is not a big posh hotel, but for us, it is exactly what we want.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petenjan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is located just off Greatwestern road and right next to kelvinbridge subway which can take you straight into the city centre. A short walk will take you to Byres Road and the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is on a side street off the main road so no traffic noise at night. This is a lovely hotel which looks like two houses that have been converted into one. I booked a double room which was large and had three beds, there was a large bathroom with lovely big towels. There was also a small fridge and tea and coffee facilities. There was no iron/board in the room but the lady on the desk kindly gave us one to use. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so can not comment. I felt this hotel was a little expensive but considering where it's located this reflects the price not the standard of accommodation. I would book this hotel again

Room Tip: We were located on the top floor room which had three beds one double and two singles which is excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Clean, welcoming room (tea, coffee, pastries).
Very nice employees
Near city center and metro station, You have to park the car in the street, (paying parking). But the street is very quiet, shops and pubs in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We regularly stay at the Albion when passing through Glasgow. It's a clean, comfortable B&B where the welcome is always warm. The Albion's location is very central - walking distance to both town and the west end and close to the underground. Prices are competitive and rooms are quiet and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drisheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Albion Hotel between the 4th- 7th Sept for a conference at Glasgow University. The location was great, only a 10 min walk to the University, 2 mins to the subway and less then 10 mins in a taxi from Glasgow Central Station. It is located just off the Great Western Road which has a range of shops and restaurants. Due to a problem with the plumbing on arrival I was upgraded to an apartment which was spacious and kept very clean. The lady in reception was always happy to help (e.g with booking taxis). Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming for a short trip to Glasgow and looking for a nice hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
336 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
586 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
334 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
445 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £41 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing