We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #62 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Clean, comfortable lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

+ location is slightly removed from center but an EASY hop on the public transportation just across the road brings you downtown
+ clean and comfortable
+ tea and biscuits in room
+ optional breakfast available
+ shower pressure great
+ reliable housekeeping
+ friendly at reception
+ pub down the street (Pewter Pub) is a nice place to stop in for a drink
+ a variety of food options available in both directions on Great Western
+ parking was surprisingly easy

nothing fancy but certainly clean and comfy!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cah3269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    112
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
60
72
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Stayed there in April in room 4 on the 1st floor with my family. Very nice room and view over the river. Good bed and breakfast hotel. No lunch or diners served but would recommend trying the Landsdowne Pub situated at the back of the hotel.
Staff were very friendly and very accommodating even giving us a loan of their own mobile phone charger. Top marks.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We arrived at the Albion Hotel but unfortunately our bags had been lost in transit. The manageress Pam warmly told us to not to worry about it as she would chase them up and keep us informed. We went out for the day and on return we found our luggage safe and sound. The hotel its self was clean, comfy and centrally situated.
Will deffinately use the The Albion again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jintyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

While well situated, two central problems made our stay at the Albion Hotel less than what we had hoped for, given its incongruously glowing reviews on tripadvisor.

Our ground floor room had no true window. While our room had a square shaped hole filled with glass where a normal window should be, this hole instead opened into the hallway behind the kitchen. This prevented outsides breezes from clearing out the room's stuffy smell, but allowed staff to wake me earlier than desired with their breakfast preparations.

Also, there were ants in our bathroom, bedroom, and finally, as a result of the former two locations, our luggage. Fortunately, the ants came without surcharge.

We changed hotels our third night in Glasgow, a fact which says it all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parfitfan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I stayed in Room 16 on the 3rd of May, at the reasonable rate of £50.00.

A little further from Glasgow University than i had hoped for, but this is a super little hotel.
It is walking distance from Great Western Road, which is full of all kinds of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Try 'Coopers' bar if you are in town - i think it used to be a bank, as the inside is amazing!
It has a great selection of beers and really friendly punters.

This has been my second visit to Glasgow and once again the 'Glaswedgians' (i think that's what they're called) have not let me down; everyone i met at the Hotel and walking around was very friendly!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_koala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed here for two nights with my partner and would definitely recommend the Albion for tourists visiting Glasgow. The hotel is in an excellent location and walking distance to the underground which will take you to the city centre in a few minutes. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the full, scottish breakfast was delicious - a perfect way to start a hard day's sight seeing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and were more than happy to give us directions and recommend local restaurants, bars etc. If you're coming to Glasgow and need somewhere to stay you could do a lot worse than than the Albion.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed here with my partner to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in room 8 which had a great view over the river. I would definately recommend this as a good quality B & B although no room service or evening meal is available. Restraunts are close by though.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing