We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Overnighter"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Overnighter"”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Six of us stayed for one night over Glasgow September weekend. On arrival we were upgraded to an executive suite as basic rooms were full which was great. Another couple in our party were also upgraded following a complaint of the smell of cigarette smoking in the room. We were on an ITISON deal which included a glass of prosecco each and a sharing platter (prawns, chicken etc) which was lovely.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and healthy options available.

A nightmare was the fire alarm going off at 4am. Everyone had to evacuate while the fire brigade checked the building….at least it was dry and not too cold. We later learned some idiot had been smoking in their room. So smoking seemed to be a bit of a theme but fortunately didn't completely spoil the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    651
    355
    77
    32
See reviews for
291
558
97
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was in the city but a little off the beaten track. We ate our dinner at the hotel and it was a very nice buffet. The food quality was excellent and the taste was very good. I was very impressed with the number of selections and all the variety.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderlust458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is one of those hotels that gives you an anodyne experience with few, if any, frills. The place is clean, relatively quiet and the staff are as friendly as you'd want. A wee walk away from the heart of the city (Glasgow, like San Francisco, is a hilly place) you will get exercise.

There really isn't that much to say about this hotel. Only the breakfast warrants an explore. The usual fruits/cereals abound but the cooked stuff is a throwback to the 'that'll do' attitude that used to pervade. Mass-cooked bacon, eggs, and other stuff (It's Scottish, so there's black puddin and haggis) is not for the faint hearted, or dieters.

Word of warning; this hotel is used heavily by American airlines cabin crew, so expect Americans everywhere and some rather noisy bedroom assignations here and there.

Room Tip: Get one away from the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

After driving from Inverness we decided to visit Glasgow and stay at the Novotel Glasgow Center, we made the reservation while driving (not at the same time, my wife place the phone call). We booked directly with hotel and got right directions to get there (park just in front, If remember correctly we bough a parking ticket to cover until 9:30 am next day) with a friendly lady on the other end. We arrived just in time to get things ordered have a quick shower ans start exploring the city. The room was very clean, seems new or remodeled recently, with all necessities. We have breakfast on the lobby restaurant the next day and everything went just well and smooth. Nice Hotel, Friendly and helpful staff and good price/quality relation, a hotel I would recommend. Thanks to the ladies on the reception desk for being so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter-Feed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
532 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Found this on Trip Advisor (of course!). Wanted a central location and this certainly is. A block from Sauchiehall and the Glasgow School of Art. Plenty of restos to choose from nearby, especially Antipasti which is just a block away. Friendly and helpful staff. Posted rate was 185 pounds, but we did much better by reserving and paying well in advance ... 109 AND that included a very good breakfast for both of us each day. Pay for internet in the room but there are two Macs free in the lobby. Rooms are not generous. Stayed here to start our 12 days in Scotland and then to finish it up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We found the staff helpful and professional. Our room was clean and comfy. We were able to navigate around town pretty easily from this location. The breakfast was good and had a wide variety. We didn't need flash at this point in our trip. Novotel fit our needs. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words based on your recent stay in Glasgow. I am pleased that you had a relaxed stay and do hope that you choose us upon your next visit to Glasgow.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Novotel for two nights and found the accommodation very practical and well designed. The shower and the bathroom were particularly excellent. We also had a very useful interconnecting door between our two rooms. We also had our dog with us which was made to feel welcome too although £10 per night stay charge was no so great!

Plus
Staff - helpful and friendly, room sizes, comfortable, breakfast good, great for families with adjoining room and location.

Minus
Can be noisy on the road side and warm if you shut the window due to this, speed of food delivery in restaurant. No swimming pool and limited car park.

We would go back!

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the front of the hotel for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and do hope that we see back in the hotel at some point soon.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,209 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing