We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A regular hotel for me when I am working in Glasgow for a few days each month. Easy to access by road, although limited parking available underneath the hotel. Lots of parking available on street, but charges start from 08.00 in the morning.

Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms that are always clean and tidy. I do enjoy my stays.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor under the gym (SE corner) - you can hear the thump thump thump of the running machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your loyalty and for leaving us such a great comment as well as an excellent 5* rating.
I am very satisfied reading that you always enjoy your stays, liking our convenient location, our comfortable, clean rooms and of course our very friendly and always helpful staff.
It is always a pleasure having you staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back for all your next stays at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

On balance, my experience of Novotel was certainly a positive one.

The check in was very good, by extremely friendly staff who allowed an early check in as our room was ready.
We had lunch in the elements bar which was pretty pleasant and reasonably priced.

The breakfast was nice, although the cooked breakfast was a bit sporadic as the quality differed from day to day. Also some items ran out quite quickly although the restaurant was busy. The quality seemed to improve throughout my stay, so I put this down to a one off.

The room was nice an comfortable, although I do agree with previous comments that the toilet did smell of urine. I think a change of cleaning solution may help this as I thought the standard of cleanliness was generally good.

We did have a problem with the mp3 player on the TV, however this was reported to reception and sorted very promptly, so all good really.

I would stay here again, although I would not pay the full rate for the room. I have stayed in many London hotels for less than the stated rate of far greater quality. That aside, I would happily pay around £100 a night for the standard room and paying extra for breakfast.

All things considered, a pleasant experience and will book again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us this feedback following your stay at our hotel.
I am very pleased that you liked rooms, your lunch and breakfast as well as our always extremely friendly and helpful staff.
I am really happy that all things considered this was a pleasant experience for you and that you book us again.
It has been our pleasure to look after you and we will be pleased to welcome you back to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Really impressed by our stay at Novotel in Glasgow. With some previous stay's at other budget hotels in Glasgow turning out to be awful and had very poor bedding/mattresses and facilities Novotel was the complete opposite of this. Really comfy beds and soft quilts/pillows and sheets I had a brilliant nights sleep. Check in was swift and staff very pleasant. Rooms were of a nice standard with simple decor and furnishing but we weren't looking for more than this as we were heading out for the night. Rooms are also a very good size.

Hotel is perfect location for a night out if you are heading to sauchiehall street clubs or city centre venues etc but is on a lovely quiet street so no outside noise of people passing by or noise of cars at all. Very clean hotel and rooms, looks recently decorated and all amenities good. Liked the safe entry at night too as can only enter by swiping your room card outside in the late hours.

Overall enjoyed our stay, exactly what we were looking for- no frills or fanciness, just a really nice clean, quiet, modern hotel with great quality beds. Exactly what we got, so hit the mark!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Many thank for leaving this comment here on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am really delighted to read you have been impressed by our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our excellent location; conveniently close to the city centre or the shopping miles and that you liked our room with their very comfortable beds as well as our always friendly and efficient staff.
It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward having you stay with us again for your next visit to Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and big bedrooms with modern bathroom, however separate toilet smelled a bit of urine, wS obviously not cleaned properly judging by the smell and pubic hairs on the floor.

Room Tip: I gave cleanliness poor rating because of the toilet room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you a lot for leaving this feedback following your stay at our hotel.
I am very pleased that you liked our clean, big rooms as well as our always very friendly and helpful staff. I took good note on your comments about the toilet and look personally into this matter.
It has been our pleasure to look after you and we will be pleased to welcome your back to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed there for a week and it is not what I would call comfy hotel. Deco is modern and basic. Room clean and bed comfy. Car park not free.Staff was ok but food in the restaurant was not to my liking, a bit too much on funky side. Breakfast choice was good and you could even taste some haggis.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Monika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We would like to thank you for reviewing your experience following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and that the quality of service met your expectations.
We would really be pleased to welcome you back in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here recently on business, overall would recommend as is very quiet, with good nights sleep, comfortable rooms and attentive hosts. Hotel also benefits with parking onsite (at £8 per day) and free wifi. Also a couple of minutes into Sauchiehall Street with a further 5-10 minute walk into town with loads of dining out options nearby.

Breakfast was good, although cannot comment on other meals as I ate out as there were numerous choices nearby.

Overall would recommend this hotel for a stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor following your stay at our property.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre, recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked dinner, bed and breakfast using Accor points, so got a very good deal. We arrived before the 2 pm check in time but had no problem checking in slightly early. The hotel is reasonably close to the city centre, close enough for us to walk.

Our room was very spacious, with a double bed and fold down double bed/couch. I suspect we may have been upgraded though that wasn't mentioned. Plenty of drawers and coat hangers, though we didn't need them for a one night stay. The separate toilet was tiny and the WC very close to the door. The bathroom was much larger. Everything was clean and everything worked.

Free WiFi is provided, with a paid option of upgraded service. The free service was quite slow but adequate for light web browsing and emails.

The restaurant decor is rather stark and it feels as if it is an extension of the lobby, a feeling possibly exaggerated by my being placed at an opening (unglazed) looking into the lobby area. We were told that the set menu, with three choices, could be replaced by an £18.75 credit against the full menu, but we both chose the set menu. Between us we chose two thirds of the available starters and main courses, and we're well satisfied with all our choices. In contrast, the 'mature' cheddar cheese plate, which included two pieces of red and one of white bog standard cheddar, was a disappointment, partly made up for by the excellent small oatcakes and fresh fruit accompanying the cheese.

The breakfast was very good, with a full selection of cooked and continental food, and natural yoghurt which is not always provided in British hotels. The only disappointment was that, in Glasgow of all places, there were no rolls. The buffet was awkwardly placed close to tables and on the route to and from the entrance, making it awkward to navigate, with lots of 'excuse me' and 'after you' needed.

All in all, particularly at the price we paid using my vouchers, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IanfaeAiberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for leaving these comments following your stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
It is a real pleasure to read that you have like so many aspect of our hotel and I will look into the comments regarding our restaurant. Thank you very much for your appreciation towards our quality of service, our rooms, the cleanliness and our rich breakfast offer.
It has been our pleasure to look after you during your stay and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back for any future visits to Glasgow.
Kindest Regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,557 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing