We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintaining its excellent standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Maintaining its excellent standards”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel that I stay in every time I come to Glasgow. The rooms are good sized, clean and comfortable . The location is great as it's just off Sauchiehall street but in a quiet location so you get a good nights sleep. Staff are really friendly .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor for the third time already and of course we are particularly pleased to see that you continue to enjoy your stays with us.
As always, it was our pleasure to look after you and hope to welcome you soon again at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    670
    362
    80
    34
See reviews for
303
571
99
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Inexpensive for such a well-located upmnarket hotel. Good facilities including accommodation and meeting rooms. Reasonably-priced food. No parking - a central Glasgow problem - but helpful staff and WiFi facilities available. OK bar but limited seating. Kitchen closes at 9.30 with no flexibility.

Room Tip: Leave your car at home and travel by train
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingMike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
We look forward to welcome you back in our property for your next visit to Glasgow.
My Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I like the Novotel Glasgow for its central location and modern facilities. Also, it is often possible to get a more favourable rate (circa £79 per night) when other central hotels are charging over £99.00 for broadly similar accommodation and amenities. The hotel has a good restaurant in 'Elements'. I used their Room Service option while there and it was well presented, hot and fair value for money. Also, on this visit I needed some information about bookings for Glasgow and Edinburgh for mid-May, and Valerie on Reception was particularly helpful in searching what their brand might have to offer.

Room Tip: Ask at Reception on check-in for info on the quieter floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience here on Tripadvisor following your stay at our property.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre, liking our excellent location, our rich food offer and I am particularly satisfied to read that our staff once again made all the difference by being so helpful by helping you with useful information about Glasgow and Edinburgh.
We really look forward to welcoming you back for any of your future visits to Glasgow.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on a leisure trip to the city. Myself, wife and 9 year old daughter. The reception staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. Perfect check in and assistance in getting a parking space in their small car park. Breakfast was excellent and the dining room staff pleasant and efficient. Great location for the center of Glasgow. We would stay here again without hesitation. We were given a room on the rear of the building as per our request as we had read of possible noise from the street. No issues other than some girl with a loud voice partying before and after her night out. Not enough to disturb us though.

Room Tip: It is a city center hotel with people there to enjoy a night out. If you want peace, cose a room hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such nice comments here on Tripadvisor following your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as well as getting a top rating of five stars.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our excellent, central location as well as our rich breakfast offer. It is a really great satisfaction to see once again, that our staff made all the difference by being so helpful and friendly.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit in our property will be as pleasant as this one.
Yours sincerely,
Christophe Pfeilstucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

For the reasonable price there were some good facilities such as a nice bathroom, tea and coffee etc. However the room was uncomfortably hot on the first night which made it hard to sleep. There was no way to adjust the temperature and although the staff helpfully provided us with a fan for the rest of the stay it did seem unusual to require one in Scotland in April..

The room could hardly be described as cosy either with a cold light and slightly sparse bed with hard mattress. But for the price these things didn't bother us too much.

The Novotel is in a good location easy walk to the city centre and the West End and right next to the School of Art. Good range of nearby bars, restaurants and cafés.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
We really appreciate your comments about our location as well as the hotel in general and we will look into the temperature issue and make sure it will remain a one off situation.
We would be really pleased to welcome you back in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Novotel in Pitt Street, the last time was Oct 13 in a superior double (this was an upgrade we were given for free - I think the hotel was quiet at the time as we went mid-week), this time was in a standard room for 3 of us to share (as you can see from my pic there would have been ample room for 4!). Both times the staff have been friendly & helpful, the rooms very clean. I think the rooms have recently been given a wee facelift. The beds are comfy, rooms are warm, and I like the fact that the toilet is separate from the bathroom area (so if you are sharing a room you don't have to wait until whoever is finished in the shower/bath lol!) The hotel is very well located a street back from Sauchiehall Street, so quiet enough to be restful but within very short walking distance of shopping/bars/restaurants. There was no safe or fridge in my room this time (there was the last time) but I didn't need either so I had not thought to ask - might be worth checking if you are looking to stay more than one night. There is a carpark under the hotel, but there are limited spaces so don't count on it - this costs £8 (we were able to use this last time) however, if spaces are unavailable, there is a discount available with the NCP car park nearby (5 mins walk) which is £12 for up to 24 hours (this is what we were told, however it only cost me £10.50!). Obviously as Glasgow is a very busy city it is better not to bother taking a car if you can - taxis are plentiful, loads of bus services take you wherever you want to go and there is subway and train transport, and most of the good stuff is within walking distance anyway! i digress - Novotel thanks again for an excellent stay, hopefully I'll remember to use your restaurant/bar when I return! (Oh and for those of you with Tastecard you can use it in the restaurant!) Didn't use the Sauna/steam room personally but heard from other guests it was great.

Room Tip: Remember to ask if you need a safe/fridge - I think these are the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us such an excellent feedback as well as this superb 5 stars rating following your stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, liking our convenient location as well as our rooms and I hope as you said yourself, that during your next stay you will give our restaurant and bar a try.
It has been a pleasure having you staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back for all your next stays in Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,418 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing