We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We'd booked and paid for this hotel 6 months prior to our trip, through Booking.com. We arrived late (9pm) as there were problems with our flight being delayed, and on arrival were greeted by a grumpy older counter assistant, who immediately fobbed us off to the junior assistant, seemingly not wanting to be bothered by us at the late hour. We had requested a room for 3 adults, with a walk in shower (disabled husband), and were told on arrival the room we had booked didn't have a walk in shower, and that the request from Booking.com hadn't been passed on. We were then reassigned another room, more suitable, but they had to hurriedly made up the sofa bed as the 3rd bed for our adult daughter. The room itself was ok, beds weren't too bad, but the wake up call at 5:30am with an alarm going off next door wasn't the best. Breakfast, I have to admit, was fantastic, full English/Scottish complete with black pudding and haggis. Very nice. Staff in this area were very helpful and attentive. Parking is terrible at this property, they do have a car park, but getting into it on a Saturday night is not really an option. Trying to find somewhere on the street, when you have luggage and a disabled passenger is not the best. Lots of one way streets in Glasgow, and lots of building work going on. I wouldn't stay here again, because of it's location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brayzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We would like to thank you for reviewing your experience following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
We will look into all your comments and we would be pleased to welcome you back in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here ( 2 couples) for one night on 2nd June 2014, The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean although there was an additional Sofa Bed in the open position in our room ?
We were extremely disappointed when after a long day traveling and returning from the concert we attended that we were refused a night cap at the bar !! This was at 11.45 pm .. I don't know if this is policy but I would have thought that being residents and as someone who visits Glasgow occasionally , The rules would be more flexible
Kind of took the shine off ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIEDYTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am very surprised about your comments as our bar is always open until quite later as the time you have returned to our hotel. Rest assured that this is being looked into and that this won’t happen again in the future.
We really look forward to seeing you again in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had trouble again booking the hotel via Accor, and ended up just arriving with no booking, even after sending an email direct to the hotel. However, with little fuss we were found a room, and upgraded as per our Platinum Status. Little fuss, just well done and professional.

Room was an updated version of Sheffield, and although no welcoming tray etc we didn't mind given how we had arrived.

Good bed, reasonably quiet room,but view was much better on the other side I think. Quite a lot of noise from the courtyard below.

Good breakfast - although we came down a little later, they cooked fresh food for us, and were very pleasant and chatty, but not too much.

Pleasant stay overall, and will go again I think.

Room Tip: High floor, not overlooking internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments following your stay at our property.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Glasgow Centre and we all really look forward to welcoming you back again soon for any of your visits to Glasgow.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was ordinary, they had made up the sofa bed as well as the double bed so there was hardly any space to move. We closed the sofa bed which helped. The dinner was very poor, not at all to be recommended, breakfast was fine, no complaints. But I would not recommend this for a prolonged stay. Location is convenient, but it was very pricey, even for a top city like Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretK372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
We really appreciate your comments about our food and we will look into this matter to make sure that your experience is one off situation.
We would be pleased to welcome you back in a near future for your next trip to Glasgow.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked the Novotel for an overnight stay, mainly for location. It's not scenic but it is convenient. Easy check in, they do have limited car parking at the hotel (£8) - limited in number and size of spaces.

Room was large, clean, comfortable and had everything that you need.

Due to location you can get noise from outside - traffic mainly. So maybe request a high floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again to the Novotel Glasgow Centre for any of your future stays.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night , the room was quiet clean and comfortable , staff very friendly on arrival , the breakfast was self serve but was hot and good quality , a great location for getting around , would stay here again on next visit .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVanessa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind words and for giving us this great 5 stars score.
This is very much appreciated and as I am already, our whole team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our property.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
Kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was the 3rd time I have stayed here but the first time with my family. We booked a family room and it was just as good and comfortable as before. A large double bed and an even bigger sofa bed that was already made up. A really clean bathroom with a fantastic shower and a nice range of toiletries with a separate toilet, which makes sense. The breakfast was wonderful - a massive range of choice from fresh fruits, cold meats and cheese, full cooked options, cakes and pastries, cereals - all you would expect and a lot more. The staff, from the front reception to the bar area and the restaurant, were all very friendly and welcoming. This is an excellent hotel to choose and is only a 10 minute walk away from the centre of Glasgow. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments following your stay at our property.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at Novotel Glasgow Centre giving us the maximum score of 5 stars and I look really forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to Glasgow.
Kind regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,557 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing